• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

A Ripple of Laughter

When I was in college, I knew two things about my future career: I would not work at a desk and I would not work summers. This definitely narrows the field when it comes to career choices, mostly to things involving education or other school-related jobs. Which is how, in a roundabout way, I ended up majoring in sports medicine and spending a dozen mostly delightful years watching high school kids play games, often badly. I got the same summer break as the teachers, with no papers to grade. Sa-weet.

I also worked evenings and weekends to the tune of sixty to eighty hours a week. And thus, with the urge to start a family, began my slide into office drudgery. Plus moving into the back of beyond where you take what you can for work. It’s three hours to the nearest school district with a budget big enough to hire an athletic trainer. So, for the last three years,  I’ve found myself sitting at a desk eight hours a day and behind the wheel of my car another two for all but a few very precious vacation days of the summer.

And that is how July has turned into my favorite worst month of the year. After all, July has all my favorite things: rodeos and fairs and hiking and boating all right there under my nose–and no time to do any of it to my satisfaction. Plus my kid seems to think I should glance his direction once in a while. Trying to cram it all in leaves me exhausted and cranky and flat out depressed by the end of the month. Then throw in my entire family descending on the ranch to do fun stuff together while my brother is home on leave and I have to be at work every day? We’re talking serious pout, here.

Other people get Seasonal Affective Disorder in January. Leave it to me to manage to have the SADs in the middle of summer.

Par for the course, by the last week of July this year I was a miserable wreck, stretched paper thin in every way except the fit of my clothes, due to lack of time to get out and exercise regularly. And that’s when Tawna Fenske’s Making Waves was released.

This is supposed to be a book review, but I’m not going to do a recap of the story. I’ll let you read the blurb down below. I prefer to say this: in my opinion, there is nothing more valuable to the world of literature than a book that can make me smile by the second page, on a day when the mere sight of my laundry hamper reduced me to tears. Laughter is my lifeline. An author who can toss it to me is forever my hero.

And honey, if Making Waves doesn’t make you laugh, you need to go get some xrays cuz your funny bone must be busted. Sure, there’s plenty of sexy stuff (though not on the high end of the graphic scale) and the suspense will grab you a few times. I liked that, too. But the ability to make me snicker, take a crappy day and make it better, lighten my load enough so I can get up and go be human instead of a Momster–that’s why I’ll be snatching up the next Tawna Fenske book the instant it hits the shelves.

ENALR readers, I am thrilled and proud to introduce Tawna Fenske. We were supposed to do an interview but, yeah, you guessed it, I didn’t have time to put together a decent set of questions. However, if you pop over to Tawna’s blog at Don’t Pet Me I’m Writing (and I highly recommend doing so regularly) she’ll be happy to answer any of yours. And be sure to leave a comment here at ENALR along with your email address, because one lucky person will get a copy of Making Waves for their very own.

Juli’s lost count of the number of jobs she’s held, but she definitely never applied to be a pirate. Or a stowaway on a pirate ship. But when fate lands her on boat captained by Alex—a man whose unscrupulous boss kicked him to the curb after 20 faithful years—Juli finds herself in the middle of a revenge-fueledCaribbeandiamond heist with a crew more suited to the boardroom than the poop deck. Alex didn’t plan to be a pirate, either. He just wants to recover his dignity, pension, and something resembling a normal life. But normal flies out the window when Juli enters the picture—a twist Alex wishes he didn’t find so exhilarating. The two soon discover that while normal is nice, weird can be wonderful.

Author bio:

A third-generation Oregonian who can peel and eat a banana with her toes, Tawna Fenske has traveled a winding career path from journalist to English teacher in Venezuelato marketing geek. She’s the author of the popular daily blog “Don’t Pet Me, I’m Writing” and a member of Romance Writers of America. Her debut novel, Making Waves, hit shelves August 2011 as the first in a trio of quirky romantic comedies from Sourcebooks, Inc.

Writer’s Digest magazine named Making Waves one of ten “notable debuts;” and RT Book Reviews gave it 4.5 stars, declaring “This delightfully witty debut will have readers laughing out loud.” Library Journal gave the book a starred review and wrote, “Great fun from an inventive new writer; highly recommended for all libraries,” while a recent review in Booklist magazine stated, “Fenske’s off-the-wall plotting is reminiscent of a tame Carl Hiaasen on Cupid juice.”

So hurry out right now and buy Making Waves at Barnes and Noble , Amazon or even a WalMart near you!

14 Responses

  1. I adore Tawna Fenske both personally and as a writer. Her blog is one of the most entertaining and Making Waves was a high point of the summer for me, too. So glad the right book from the right writer met you at the right moment!

  2. Any book that has a person laughing out loud is a keeper book for sure!

    Great blog posting!

    Stephanie
    ladybug07999atyahoodotcom

  3. Awww, thanks so much for the kind words about MAKING WAVES. As some folks here may know, the year or so leading up to the release of MAKING WAVES was a pretty bumpy time for me when my marriage of 13 years fell to pieces. During the worst of it, I got a lot of pleasure from escaping into books. It’s so nice to know I might now play a role in offering the same to other people having lousy days, weeks, or months.

    Thanks again for the lovely review!

    Tawna

  4. Kari: I remember well the struggles between family and work and time for the things I wanted to do. I think the last straw was trying to help my son with Algebra homework over the phone while working late as usual. We were both practically in tears.

    Like you, reading has always been a respite for me from the drudgery of the real world. An escape. I’m glad you found a small slice of it.

    The book sounds fabulous. Can’t wait to read it!

  5. “In my opinion, there is nothing more valuable to the world of literature than a book that can make me smile by the second page, on a day when the mere sight of my laundry hamper reduced me to tears. Laughter is my lifeline. An author who can toss it to me is forever my hero.”

    So well said, and so completely true!

  6. I follow Twana on twitter and read her blog. She is quite funny!

    I haven’t had a chance to read Making Waves yet (damn line edits!) but I to get it on my TBR pile soon. I keep reading awesome things about it and when Smart Bitches gave it a high grade, well you know it has to be a good book. Well done, Tawna

    Great blog, Kari. You made me laugh…which you usually do.

  7. Can’t wait to check out the book and the author….always looking to add a new author to my favorites and one that makes me laugh sounds like a winner…which I hope I will be…look out Tawna Fenske…here I come.

  8. Thanks, Kari! I always l love books that make me laugh. 🙂 Looking forward to reading thin one.

  9. Love this post Kari!! and I can’t wait to grab a copy of Making Waves. I follow Tawna on twitter too and I know this is going to be a fantastically funny book!

  10. Another great post as usual Kari. I totally agree with you, books are my escape from reality. I love being able to lose myself in a good book. there’s nothing that replaces that feeling.

    Our house is hetic too. I work full time and have about 30min commute each way (not nearly as long as yours), then I am trying to finish my Masters up so I have to deal with school for myself, family and housework and make sure I still have time for Lilly (2 yr old granddaughter). Everyone once in awhile I have to take time for myself and will run a tub of hot water and light a candle, grab a glass of something to drink and a good book and just hide. It’s hard to take time for yourself, but sometimes you just have to or you are no good to others.

    The book sounds wonderful. Will definitely have to check it out. Crystal has been raving about it too 🙂

  11. I’m going to have to stop complaining about my workload. I haven’t yet cried at laundry (though cat puke in the living room brought me close).

    Always looking for a book that will make me laugh! Will give this one a try!

  12. Well I’ll be damned. Turns out I can reply to comments via email. *happy dance* Thanks, Keri, for the shove in the right direction.

  13. Kari – work and family push and pull me everyday so, sister, I so understand. Ideally, my life should be gravy, but throw in blogging, promo, sick kids, two school orientatioin meetings, accountants, payroll, what? the dog pooped on the floor?, grocery, laundry, footlball practices…..okay, you get it. Not so easy. Sigh. This back to school week has been so difficult. Fun stuff? reading? Been hard to find time because when I sit down, I fall asleep.

    That book sounds seriously adorable. I love humor…in fact, just had this conversation (on the practice field after parent orientation). No I don’t want to read anything Oprah suggests. No I don’t want to read anything with Civility in the title. No, I don’t want to read the classics. Give me sex, mayhem and laughter. I’m a snob that way.

    Congrats, Tawna. Glad to hear so many people are enjoying the book!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

