• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Interviewing Carly Phillips

Yup. Call me lucky, cause I got to interview Carly Phillips in honor of her upcoming release, Serendipity, on September 6! I know, you’re jealous. You’ll just have to soothe the green monster by reading on to see what Carly had to say. Some of it’s silly, some of it’s serious. All of it’s interesting. Just another reminder of why Carly is on my keeper shelf…even if she IS a Patriots fan… 😉

Jeanette: If you were the main character of a romance, what genre would you want to be in? (Hey, since it’s romance, at least we know if you’re in a suspense plot, you’re gonna live!)

Carly: If I were the main character of a romance, I’d want it to be paranormal! I love this question! Shape shifter universe, I think.  I want an Alpha shape shifter.  Yep. That’s what I’d want!

Jeanette: Why Plot Monkeys? Why not Plot Camels, or Plot Armadillos?

Carly: LOL! The four of us were in Disney and we were plotting.  We’d gone to buy gifts for our daughters and we bought monkeys.  We started talking about blogs … and the idea came from there! Nothing overly deep about it!

Jeanette: I know you recently got a new puppy (Brady). Is your new addition easier or harder than adding in a new (human) baby? (I know mine is harder. I have a Goldendoodle, and he’s worse than my toddler!)

Carly: This is going to sound awful – puppies are easier because you can crate them and walk away.  That said, it’s HARD!!!!! I LOVE having a dog.  The puppy years? Not so much.  Just as awful? I think I was the same way with babies.  I was a better mom as they got older!

Jeanette: Not awful at all. I know how you feel…I long for the days when my toddler can have a conversation rather than grunts and pointing! I know you’re a Patriots fan. (Ahem. You named your new puppy Brady.) As a Colts fan myself (raised in Indiana)…do you think we’d survive a Pats/Colts game in the same room?

Carly: We’d survive.  As long as we kept my husband out of it, all would be well LOLOL!

Jeanette: I think we’d have to lock both men out of the room. My husband is a total trash talker during games. Okay, last question… What triggered you to write this particular series? Was it the plot(s) that came first, or the characters?

Carly: Since I always tend to write small upstate NY towns, the challenge in this series was bringing the town alive as well as the characters.  The characters came first, they always do.  For me it was in two parts – the idea of the estranged brothers with an extremely complicated history that isn’t black and white, especially when looked at from each different brother’s perspective; and then the first book, the bad boy turned good hero and the girl who got away – whose situations in life are now reversed (she grew up wealthy, he on the wrong side of the tracks – now he’s wealthy and she’s lost everything).  I really love these people.  They’ve surpassed being characters to me!

Thank you so much to Carly for coming on the blog to talk with me and share with us a little of herself. I, for one, can’t wait to read Serendipity when it comes out on September 6, 2011. Can you??

Oh, and a bonus for you!!! Carly’s going to pick out three commenters to win some Romance Trading Cards of Serendipity and Destiny!!

Carly Phillips is the New York Times Bestselling author of over 30 romance novels with contemporary characters and plotlines that today’s readers identify with and enjoy.  Carly is a stay at home mom of 2 daughters (now almost old enough to read her books!), one soft coated wheaten terrier and a brand new Havanese puppy.  She’s a Twitter and Internet junkie and is always around to interact with her readers.

More information on Carly can be found at her website: www.carlyphillips.com.

Around the web you can also find Carly at:

Twitter: www.twitter.com/carlyphillips

Facebook: www.facebook.com/carlyphillipsfanpage

Blog: www.plotmonkeys.com

24 Responses

  1. Thanks so much for coming to talk with me, Carly! I love your books, and can’t wait for this one to show up on my Kindle on the 6th! Also…your dogs are just too cute.

  2. Thanks! OK I can pick three lucky commenters as winners for SERENDIPITY and DESTINY signed Romance Trading Cards! Can you add that to bottom of post or is it too late? We can just use this notice here if so!

  3. Loved the interview! Can’t wait for Serendipity on the 6th!! Adorable pups!

  4. I LOVE Carly Phillips’ books (and tweets)! She is one of a very few go-to authors for me when I want a guaranteed good read, so I’m trilled to see this new book release!

  5. HI Carly and Jeanette!

    Carly, your dogs are adorable. One good thing about puppies, as opposed to babies, they grow up faster! Toddler time is brief. ; )

    • OH from your mouth! I hope so. Right now puppiness is making me crazy. 😉 And big one just threw up from snagging food from kid’s room. Sigh. But I do love them to death!

  6. What a great interview. I can’t wait for this book to come out. I love the cover, it drew me the first time I saw it.

    Your puppies are so cute.

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing with us at ENLR. We are glad to have you here.

  7. I love your cover. Hot guy on cycle…yum!

    Being an Arkansas Razorback fan, our QB from last year (Ryan Mallett) ended up with the Patriots, so I’ll be keeping an eye on them this year!

    I don’t have children. I’ve always said the advantage to having dogs is the ability to put them in the yard and shut the door. From what I understand, Social Services tends to frown on doing that to your kids! 🙂

    I love the idea of being in a shape shifter paranormal romance. I want to be the shape shifter but I want to be like the character on that sci-fi series (whose name is escaping me this morning) who could shift into anything…a table, an animal, anything. So convenient, don’t you know

    Thanks for coming by ENLR. Come back anytime!.

  8. This was a great interview. I completely agree puppies are easier. Crate them and walk away. You don’t have to tote them to the store.

    Looking forward to the book!

  9. Welcometo the blog Carly!

    I have a dog. He’s about to turn 3 and still acts like he’s 1. I thought “puppy” was over by 2, but just this morning my son was fussing at the dog for chewing up one of his toys (me: don’t leave your toys on the floor!….oh my parenting skills). the crate and walk away is often the best part of my day 🙂

    congrats on the release!

  10. Yes to the crate, Carly. Our dog loves hers now, but, oh, those house-training months were painful (and sleepless). The new books sound fabulous. More to add to my towering TBR pile…

    Great interview, Jeanette. And as a Colts fan, I’m guessing you’d know who I’m talking about if I tell you I knew Marshall Faulk in college. 😉 I worked at the SDSU football office my sophomore year (his freshman year) before I transferred to Arizona. Super nice guy, and smart too.

    • I have a jealous. And it’s aimed at you, chica! It’s okay though. I take solace in the fact that Hubs looks like Peyton Manning’s younger, better looking brother. No, not Eli. Just…another. Made up. Brother. Wow, that one got away with me…but you know what I mean! haha

  11. Welcome, Carly. I love the oxymoron in you cover and title. I’d never put a hot biker on the cover of a book entitled Serendipity, but it works. I actually used Serendipity as the name as my restaurant/inn in my last book 🙂

    The book sounds great! Happy upcoming release day!

  12. Great interview 🙂 and dogs are definitely much easier than children 🙂

  13. first – go Pats! :mrgreen:

    second – congrats on your book!!

  14. My 17 month old peed on the floor tonight after I took her diaper off getting ready for bath time. That’s a baby and a puppy combined into one. I win! 🙂

  15. Hi, Carly! I didn’t know you were a Patriots fan! That makes up for your betrayal at karaoke in NY in June. 🙂 (We had solidarity in refusal to sing until she changed her mind and got up there. I have video, and I’m not afraid to use it… )

    I think this is my favorite of your covers! Looking forward to the release.

  16. I hope I’m not too late! Great interview & I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy!

  17. Thanks, everyone! Great posts here. I’m nursing a dog who keeps puking every 8 hours from indulging in chocolate yesterday (she’s OK and I’m in touch with the vet) and a 15 year old w/a lower back field hockey injury. Kids and dogs are work! LOL.

    Thanks Jeanette for having me! Letme know when you pick winners and have them send me addresses!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

