Review: Archangel’s Blade, Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh is back in the shadows of a deadly, beautiful world where angels rule, vampires serve, and one female hunter must crawl out of the darkness to survive…

The severed head marked by a distinctive tattoo on its cheek should have been a Guild case, but dark instincts honed over hundreds of years of life compel the vampire Dmitri to take control. There is something twisted about this death, something that whispers of centuries long past…but Dmitri’s need to discover the truth is nothing to the vicious strength of his response to the hunter assigned to decipher the tattoo.

Savaged in a brutal attack that almost killed her, Honor is nowhere near ready to come face to face with the seductive vampire who is an archangel’s right hand, and who wears his cruelty as boldly as his lethal sensuality…the same vampire who has been her secret obsession since the day she was old enough to understand the inexplicable, violent emotions he aroused in her.

As desire turns into a dangerous compulsion that might destroy them both, it becomes clear the past will not stay buried. Something is hunting…and it will not stop until it brings a blood-soaked nightmare to life once more…

Review

I have been a fan of Nalini Singh for a few years now. I can’t recall who or what led me to her Psy/Changeling series, but I wish I could. I often imagine how I would worship them for eternity for putting me on the path to one of the greatest paranormal romance writers of our time. Perhaps a lifetime of chocolate? Wine? Books? All three? Well, that would be a start.

Why do I love Nalini Singh’s books? They captivate. Every word that your eyes take in pull you into a world of magic, passion, and adventure. The icing on the cake is that I have never seen such consistency, in not only characters, but in world building as I have seen in Singh’s series.

Archangel’s Blade is no exception.

This story simply sings! It’s an intensely emotional roller coaster, with dark and powerful characters that touch you as deeply as Singh breaks them, and that’s putting it mildly. No one breaks a character like Singh, and Dimitri and Honor get the full force of it. There’s no sap. There’s no sweet words. Rather it’s heart pounding, book gripping backstories and conflict that will send you the edge of your seat. Best of all, threaded throughout all the page turning action is a beautifully crafted love that will not cease, will not quit, will not surrender.

No romance reader should miss out on this read!

5/5   

P.S. The ending scene of chapter 28, have tissues. A lot of them. Dimitri will break your heart into a million pieces. It is the single most intense and wonderful scene of this book, and my favorite. BRAVO!

Come back tomorrow for more Nalini Singh! My fellow reviewer, Heather Brewer, is bouncing off the walls to share her interview. 

Happy Reading!

Nalini Singh | Psy/Changeling Series | Guild Hunter Series

*I received this book via an ebook store and my wallet.

4 Responses

  1. I agree Crystal, there are not many people that can write like Nalini does and capture the reader from the beginning. Her character development and story telling are like no other.

    • Her world completely captures me. When I’m finished reading I feel like I’ve been somewhere else, and I stay there for days after.

      J.R. Ward’s series does this pretty well for me, as does Lara Adrian’s. They come very close, but for me, just not quite as well as the psy/changeling or guild hunter worlds do.

  2. JR Ward would be my second choice for world building and I also love Lora Leigh’s Breed books. They started out as Ellora’s Cave books but as they expanded to mainstream publisher the books seemed to get better and better. Dawn’s Awakening and Mercury’s War are still my all time favorite Breed Books.

    • I need to check those out. I also really enjoy Virgina Kantra’s Children of the Sea. I feel like I’ve been on away on an island when reading her books. It always makes me long for the beach.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

