• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Interview with New York Times Author Nalini Singh

Crystal and I both love New York Times Bestselling author Nalini Singh’s books – both the Psy-Changeling and Guild Hunters series.  We were excited when she agreed to answer some questions for Everybody Needs a Little Romance.

I am in awe of Nalini’s writing; there aren’t many people that can tell a story like she can.  Kiss of Snow  received a 5 Flaming Heart review at ENLR, only 1 of 2 that I have given out.  Crystal had the honor of reviewing Nalin’s newest book, Archangel’s Blade which was released on 9/6/11.

Nalini’s previous book, Kiss of Snow debuted on the NYT Bestseller list and was her first Hardback release. She currently lives in New Zealand. She can be found on Twitter (@nalinisingh) and her Facebook fan page,  You can also visit her website at http://www.nalinisingh.com/ for more information.

Now, onto the Interview with Nalini – I hope you enjoy.

Briefly describe how you got into writing. 

I’ve always written, from when I was very young. Having fallen in love with romances in my teens, I completed and submitted my first full-length romance manuscript to a publisher the summer after I finished high school.

Though it was rejected, I continued to write and submit, developing my skills as a writer with each new book – writing is my passion, and something I can’t imagine not doing. Being able to do it full time is a dream come true.

Do you have a routine when you are writing?   Do you have a set time you write, certain number of days a week, word count, etc?

I write pretty much every day, and I have daily goals that change depending on where I am in the writing process. For example, while writing the first draft, I usually try to write a certain number of words per day. During edits, that changes to the number of pages I want to edit each day.

When Kiss of Snow came out you did an extended tour in the United States, what was the hardest part of doing the tour?  What was the best part?

The best part was getting to meet so many of my readers face to face – the energy in the room during the events was just brilliant.

The toughest part was the travel, as usually I only had one night in each city, but I did get to see parts of the country I hadn’t previously visited, so it balanced out.

I’ve heard a lot of author’s mention play lists they listen to while writing, do you listen to music while you are working or do you have to have the quiet?

I occasionally listen to music while I’m writing the first draft – whatever music strikes my fancy at the time. However, I like silence when I edit.

I’m a Twitter junkie and I’m bad about reading Twitter posts when I am supposed to be working.   Do the social networking sites tempt you away from work when you are writing?  Do you allow yourself time on them or do you have to stay away from them completely while working?

I enjoy social networking, but yes, it can be distracting. I turn off the Internet when I’m working, and only check messages at certain times of the day. This works really well for me, as then the social networking breaks don’t interfere with my writing time.

How has social media affected your career as a writer?

It’s had a hugely positive effect. I’m so grateful to everyone who has helped spread the word about my books. Since I’m based in New Zealand, and most of my readership is abroad, the Internet in general has allowed me a simple, cost-effective way to engage with my readers.

Five items you have at your fingertips when you are writing
– laptop
– story bible(s)
– previous books in the series
– notepad and pen
– whiteboard and markers
Five fun facts about Nalini Singh, The Person
– I speak Japanese
– I’ve walked along the Great Wall of China
My favorite color is blue, though recently, I’ve found I have a lot of deep pink/raspberry in my wardrobe
– I can’t resist buying Toblerone when I go through an airport
– I have an eclectic collection of decaf teas (of which a cup is usually by my side while writing (important addition to List A))

Now – will you tell us a little about your newest angel book, Archangel’s Blade, which released on 9/6/11

Archangel’s Blade features the vampire Dmitri. We’ve known him as the dark, dangerous and deadly right hand of the Archangel Raphael, but in this book, we get to see into Dmitri’s past and learn about the brutal forces that shaped him.

 

Honor, the heroine, is a Guild Hunter who has survived a nightmare, and is now rebuilding her life. The last man she ever expects to be attracted to is the vampire other vampires fear.

Their story is dark, intense, and deeply romantic, and I hope readers will fall in love with it. 

If anyone would like to read an excerpt, you can find two at: www.nalinisingh.com/blade.php

Amazon   l   Barnes & Noble   l   Books a Million   l   Sony   l

13 Responses

  1. I love seeing ARCHANGEL’S BLADE on here twice! And what a fun interview. I love it!

  2. Hi Nalini. Welcome to ENLR. So excited to have you here. Heather and Crystal wept with glee when they got your book to read for this interview and yesterday’s review.

    I wondered about distractions when writing. Do you have family or pets that are problem to your concentration?

  3. I met Nalini at the Lori Foster Reader/Writer convention. She was one of the biggest names there but yet so down to Earth and genuine. I was nervous about meeting her (authors are my celebrities) and she was just so darn nice. Talked to your face when discussing and genuinely grateful to her readers. I was in awe.
    I got a picture and posted on my FAN GIRL page on my blog.
    I love the Phy-Changeling series but I had not read the Guild Hunter series. I have bought every book just this past week and plan to read them one after another this week.
    I adore Nalini.

    The other thing I love about her is she always takes the time to @ reply on Twitter even if it is just a thank you 🙂
    Thanks for the post.
    MichelleKCanada

    • I know exactly what you mean, Michelle. I still get star-struck when an author I love RTs a tweet of mine, or replies back. Nalini Singh seems very connected to her readers. Susan Mallery is the same way. Social media is awesome in this aspect!

      Thanks for coming by!

    • I would be the same way. I plan to go to one of the conferences so I can meet some of these fabulous authors that I love to read.

      I have read both of the series but I still think the psy-changeling are my favorites.

      Nalini is the nicest person ever and I can’t believe it when she responds to one of my twitters or facebook posts. I almost got to go to one of her book signings but things didn’t work out.

  4. Hi, Nalini! Thanks for coming to ENALR!

    What was your inspiration for the Guild Hunters?

  5. Hello and Welcome, Nalini! So glad you’ve joined us today. I love Toblerone chocolate! We can find it in stores around here sometimes and boy does that make me a happy camper! LOL

  6. Thank everyone for stopping by and checking out the interview with Nalini. I talked with her about doing an interview when Kiss of Snow was released, she agreed to do the interview later this year for us. She stays booked up so we arranged for her to simply do a Q&A session for the blog. Plus she lives in New Zealand.

    Thanks and enjoy the interview.

  7. So fascinating to get a glimpse into your process. Thanks for visting us today 🙂

  8. Welcome to the blog! 5 things at your fingertips while you write and no candy or snacks??? I’m impressed 🙂

  9. Toblerone ARE hard to resist, with their adorable little triangular boxes! I absolutely loved Archangel’s Blade (4.5/5 hearts). Dmitri is such a strong, controlled personalty, and I can’t imagine it was a smooth ride to write, including finding a heroine who could stand by him without being overshadowed.

    It’s great to see an interview with Nalini with some fun personal questions. Great job guys!

    Fellow tea drinkers unite! *grin*

Show us some love and leave a comment!

