• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Nerv-cited much?

It’s my birthday this week. Actually, it’s Thursday.

No, I didn’t tell you that to solicit presents, although I won’t turn them down. : ) In fact, as you get older, birthdays become slightly less than a big deal. But I was thinking about it and birthdays aren’t just about getting older, they’re about milestones. And boy, when I compare my life now to what it was like a year ago, I’ve reached quite a few milestones.

So I’m going to ask you to indulge an (older) woman as I ramble a bit. ; ) (This means lots of parentheses and ellipses, cuz that’s how I think.)

In the last year, I started dating and then married the man of my hopes. (You know the one that’s better than you could even dream? And no, he doesn’t read these so he has no idea I talk about him this way.) In the deal I got a wonderful son who completes our family (and brings the total children to 6)

This year I also changed the focus of my career from Lynne to Shawna (always weird to talk about yourself in the third person) and started editing professionally. And the one I still have a hard time believing, I have a book releasing Monday of next week. That’s 5 days away. Less than a week. Gulp.

It’s a bit ironic that the name of the book is Altered Destiny, which kinda sums up my year. I’d thought I’d be single forever. Was okay with it, really, and then wham! Mr. Perfect-for-me walks on the soccer field and changes everything. Although I was content writing erotic contemporary stories under Lynne Roberts, my heart has always been in fantasy and paranormal. I honestly wasn’t sure any of my fantasy books would ever be published, then I decide to submit to Carina and sure enough, less than 8 months later…

Thank God life throws you a few happy surprises now and then.

You’d think, after releasing 4 books, that this release-day thing would get easier. It doesn’t. Or at least it hasn’t for me.  This feels different—Maybe because I don’t have the luxury of a pen name. This is me. LOL Well, it’s my maiden name. But still… Maybe because it’s a full length novel? Maybe because it’s Carina Press. I mean Harlequin is a name I knew before I could read. Or maybe, just maybe, the excitement and nerves never go away. Maybe it will be this way before every release. And that’s not really such a bad thing.

My husband calls this feeling nerv-cited. It’s as good a term as I’d come up with so I’m borrowing it.

At any rate, I’m so nerv-cited I can’t concentrate on anything! Thank you so much for indulging me. Promise I’ll only do it once a year. ; )

So, what are some milestones or goals you’ve met, or still want to meet, this year?

15 Responses

  1. Congrats on the book release! I’m glad you explained the name change. I wondered about that. And YAY on Mr. Perfect just walking into your life unexpectedly. (Not that your husband is “perfect” just perfect for you!)

    Can you tell us more about the book you have coming out?

    When is the release date?

    • Hi Cynthia,

      The release date is Sept 19th! Altered Destiny is a fantasy with a heavy dose of romance. Selia is an independent barkeep struggling to survive on the crossroads near the Wastes. At night, behind her tavern, she rescues a man from thieves. That action throws her in the middle of a war, where she has to decide if love is more important than loyalty.

      LOL I’m never good at answering that question, but there you go.

  2. I love the term nerve-cited, Shawna. And I think I want to hear more about your own romance story!

    Congrats on the upcoming release! That must be the best feeling.

    This year has been pretty good. Finaling in the Golden Heart helped a lot. That wasn’t a goal so much as a nice dream, and so unexpected. Before the end of the year, I want to finish my current MS (by end of October), and win NaNo with a new WIP. An agent would be icing on the cake. 😉

    • Hi Gwen,

      He first used the term when we were planning our not-date. We’d decided not to date until we knew if we were compatible enough for the long haul. LOL So it was more a meeting of these are all my hang-ups, bad habits, ideals, faith, dreams, baggage, etc. Still interested?

      I love my romance story. I guess it would strange if I didn’t. ; )

      Congratulations on finaling in the Golden Heart! That’s quite an accomplishment! I’d like to finish my current ms by October too. Maybe we could spur each other on!

  3. Happy Birthday Week Shawna!!!!

    I can’t wait to read your book, I believe Crystal is reviewing it soon. I have a copy too (if I can get my TBR stack down and MBA class to cooperate).

    My goal/accomplishment is to graduate in December (no not walk, just graduate) with my MBA. I have about 12 weeks of class left after tonight. I am so ready to be out of school!!

    Congrats on your book release 9for some reason I was thinking it came out yesterday). Will be glad to help you promote it on Twitter!!

    • Wow, Heather,

      That’s quite a goal. Congratulations on coming so far already! It’s always the last few weeks, like those last 5lbs, that are the hardest. You’ll do it and it’ll be worth it!

      Thanks for your help on Twitter. I really am behind on this promo. Every effort is really, really appreciated!

  4. “Nerv-cited”. Yep, definitely a C & S kind of word ; ) I can’t wait for Altered Destiny! I just know it is going to be great! It is pretty crazy that you have a book titled “Altered Destiny” coming out this year with everything that has happened.

    Hmm, milestones and goals…

    Feeling very “eat pray love” right now i would say that my goal for this year would be to find myself. Or rather…to create myself. With my divorce being final in December. I think a little self-creation is needed. I am a “girl in search of a word” : )

  5. Congrats on the upcoming release! You should be nerv-cited…I always feel that way too. I have one coming out in October that I’m plenty nervous about, mostly because my heroine is unusual and it’s kind of a Hepburn/Tracy sort of romantic comedy (even though the cover looks dark and sexy – go figure)

    And happy early birthday!

    You know, I’ve been really good about meeting my goals as a writer and I think writing them down (I do it through GIAM) at the beginning of the year is important. It’s funny but when I go back and look at them, I’ve always done better than expected. Of course, now that I’m writing this, I’ll probably totally fail. But I’m happy with my year so far. I can’t remember what my goals were, but I know I’ve made a few of them. I think. Well, I got an agent and I always put that on there 🙂

    Fingers crossed for a spectacular debut with Carina!

  6. Happy Birthday, Happy Release Day, Happy Wedding Day! 😉

    Hmm, this year has been interesting. by the end of 2011, I’ll have had 5ebook releases. completely insane in that alone! I signed contracts for 6 more ebook/print books that will take me into 2013 (nutty!). It’s been such an amazing year so far. I really can’t imagine much more by the end of the year.

    • 5 ebooks? That’s non stop editing! When do you find time to write? Congratulations! Yup, I’m the turtle to your rabbit. ; ) There’s no way I’d find time to be that productive. I figure once the kids are older….or at least some of the kids are older. ; )

  7. Happy birthday, Shawna! How cool that your release is so close to your birthday. 🙂

    I love your personal altered destiny story (especially the soccer connection!) and your book sounds great. Looking forward to it!

    I’ve been on deadline this entire year, with contracts for 5 books. It was a jump I’d been working toward for a long time, and it’s been great, though stressful! LOL My big milestone is being eligible to enter the RITA this year and actually having a book worth entering. 🙂

    • HI Natalie,

      Yup the soccer field is kinda a romantic place for us. That’s where proposed too. Congratulations on your contracts. That’s impressive! Good luck on the Ritas! That’s exciting!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

