• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Please Welcome Adrienne Giordano!

Hey all! Please welcome long time friend, Adrienne Giodano to the blog!

*******

Tomorrow is September 16th. Yep. Sure is. And for the last eight years I have dreaded that day. If my father were still alive he’d be celebrating his birthday tomorrow and it, unfortunately, reminds me of all the things I no longer have with him. I don’t have my phone calls to him. I don’t have him as a backseat driver telling me I missed three pot holes and, since I’d hit all the other ones, I’d better go back and get the ones I missed. I don’t have the nutty stories that he told over and over, but somehow got funnier each time. Worse than losing those things though is the fact that my son will grow up without his grandfather. So, for me, September 16th hasn’t been a happy day in a long while.

That all changed on September 16th, 2010 at 3:06 in the afternoon. On what would have been my father’s 80th birthday, Angela James from Carina Press called to tell me Carina wanted to acquire my romantic suspense Man Law. After years of chasing a publishing contract, I received what we writers know as THE CALL. That call led to the sale of the three other books in the series.

For me, there was a certain magic that came with receiving THE CALL. At the time, I’d hit a bad patch where the journey to getting published felt too hard, too emotionally draining. I’d even considered giving up.

Quitting.

Just walking away from all the ups and downs of this crazy, exhilarating business. The problem? Well, I’ve been taught to be strong and never give up a fight. However many times I tried to walk away from writing, the lure of a story always brought me back.

Plus, if I had to spend the rest of my life wondering what would have happened if I hadn’t quit, I’d have found a tall building and thrown myself out a window. The window didn’t seem like a great option.

Fast forward one year and I can tell you it’s been a wild year. In the past six months I’ve gone through nine rounds of edits (three rounds for each book) that equaled a grand total of 1,055,116 words. Yes, I counted them.

I’m weird that way. Throw in all the marketing that needs to be done and it turned into quite a busy year. Looking back, I wish I’d carved out the time to record every lesson I’ve learned. There were so many.

There is one thing I know for sure though. What is that one thing? It’s pretty big, so get ready. Here it is: I now have September 16th back. I have done it, people. I have wrestled September 16th out of grief’s filthy, paralyzing grip and reclaimed it as a happy day.
Somehow, on September 16, 2010, my father sent me a gift on his birthday. Not only did he send me a publishing contract, he gave me the ability to enjoy his birthday again. And that is not only freeing, but something I will always be grateful for.

So, to my father I say, thank you, happy birthday and what am I getting this year?

Readers, do you have a day you hate and would like to reclaim as a happy one? Leave a comment for a chance to win Man Law, the first release in the Private Protectors series.

*******

Adrienne Giordano writes romantic suspense and women’s fiction.  She is a Jersey girl at heart, but now lives in the Midwest with her work-a-holic husband, sports obsessed son and Buddy the Wheaten Terrorist (Terrier). She is a co-founder of Romance University blog. A Just Deception, book two in the Private Protectors series is available from Carina Press. Risking Trust, book three in the series will be available on November 7, 2011. For more information please visit www.AdrienneGiordano.com. Adrienne can be found on Twitter and Facebook.

Adrienne’s books available at:

Carina Press  /  Amazon  /  Barnes and Noble

To read the ENLR review of Man Law, click here. 

To read the ENLR review of A Just Deception, click here

 

To read more about this author, visit her website

While you’re here, don’t forget to sign up for ENLR’s quarterly newsletter filled with news and gossip about the ENLR ladies! Click here

 

 

 

 

16 Responses

  1. My tough day is any time something happens that I would normally have shared with my mom. She died in 2007, and it’s slowly getting easier, but I miss her all the time.

    I’m glad you were able to reclaim September 16th, and in such a great way. Congrats on your books!

  2. Hi, Gwen. I’ve decided grief doesn’t go away. I think the loss of a parent gets easier over time, but there are always moments when not having them catches up. And sometimes it’s just over silly stuff.

    That’s why getting that call on my dad’s birthday was such an amazing thing for me. I think, in some way, that was his message to me that everything is okay. It’s something I’ll always be grateful for.

    Thanks for popping in!

  3. I still have both my parents, so it’s hard for me to know what it will be like when I don’t have them to call and ask questions. I been through the deaths of all four of my grandparents, my great-grandparents, a niece and my husband’s father. But hubby says the death of a spouse (his first wife died from a brain bleed when he was 34) tops anything he’s ever experience. It took a few years before her death day stopped knocking him for a loop.

    Now about Adrienne’s books…OMG…SO GOOD. Adrienne has one of the best voices I have read in quite some time. In fact, I confess to a mild (mild? hell! major is more like it) jealousy when I read them. Get these books. Now, book #1 (Man Law) is definitely Vic’s story. In book 2 (A Just Deception) both main characters have a lot to learn and a lot of growth that needs to happen. However, I would move into Isabella’s house in a nanosecond!

    Thanks for coming by Adrienne! Hope you enjoyed your visit and come by to visit often.

  4. Hi Cynthia. Thank you for the kind words about the books. Man Law is definitely Vic’s story. I originally wanted them both to have major change, but as I was writing I realized he could learn a lot from Gina. I decided to just go with it and see what happened. So far, of my characters, Vic was probably the toughest to break. He just refused to go down. I found a way to get to him though. 🙂

    As for Izzy’s house, I’d move into it with you! It’s really just a large cottage, but it’s where she is most comfortable. Her cottage is on the beach I grew up on. I’d spend my summers riding my bike to that beach and I love going back to it for a visit every year. I have a photo of Izzy’s view that I keep handy.

    Thanks for having me and I’ll come back anytime. You guys are the bomb!

  5. Hi Adrienne!
    Loved both of your books and cannot wait for the next one! My terrible day is May 1st. As the weather is turning beautiful I remember my mom who died on that day when I was 22 years old. And Thanksgiving has never been the same since my dad passed away a few days before it in 2008. I still think about them both every day and wish they could have been here to see my first book published!

    • Hi Wendy, thanks for coming by. I recently visited my mom and walked into the house to find the Man Law cover framed and sitting in her living room. It was such a crazy feeling. All I could think was “that’s me.” I guess, no matter how old I get, having my mom be proud is still important.

      I have to say though, if my dad were still alive he’d be totally offended that I knew all the swear words in Man Law! He used to get mad when men swore in front of women in public, so the idea of me using those words would make him crazy. Makes me laugh to think about it.

      Thanks for popping by!

  6. Welcome and thanks for sharing. yesterday would’ve been my grandparent’s anniversary. I lost my grandfather the year I got married. He was diagnosed with cancer at the first of the year, promised he would be there for my wedding in June then passed away labor day weekend. We lost my grandmother about 10 years later in the summer.

    It is hard, I still miss them both a lot but it does get a little better each year.

    • Hi there. I don’t think we ever stop missing our loved ones. I tend to think about all the funny things my father would say or do and it makes me smile.

      I guess when it comes right down to it we all grieve and that gives us an understanding of each other. Someone once told me grief is like being a member of a bad club and I think there’s a lot of truth to that.

      Luckily we have our books to turn to!

  7. Yes! I have to, but one isn’t so bad if you look at it from another POV.
    The first, Nov 17th 1997 my grandmother passed away, not only was it very hard, it is also the day of my aunt’s wedding anniversary… Not to mention they were already having marital problems. My Grandmother held our family together along with my wonderful Grandfather! So that was pretty bad.
    Then we have Feb 14th 1998, my Grandfather passed away, what makes it worse? He had alzheimer’s, so everyday, a few times a day when he’d ask “Where’s Betty?” his heart broke again. On Valentine’s Day he passed away, but what makes this not as bad as Grandmother passing is the fact that, He didn’t have to be broken hearted 3 or more times daily anymore, he went to be with her =)
    That’s what I like to think, now their children and grandchildren can be happy they are together again, all 23 or so children and way to many to count grandchildren, not to mention all the great grandchildren they now have.
    Thank you for sharing your story and allowing me to share mine.
    emilytardy@yahoo.com

    • Hi Emily. That’s so hard. What a shame for your grandfather. And you’re right, he did go to be with her.

      Thanks for sharing!

    • Emily – when my husband and I chose our wedding date, we picked Nov. 17. No reason. Just convenient to our schedule. We found out that day that 11/17/84 (the day we married) was also the 55th wedding anniversary for my grandparents. We had no idea. Grandma didn’t tell me until after the wedding.

      So for a number of years, I shared my wedding anniversary with my grandparents. That made 11/17 even more special for me.

    • Emily,

      I know exactly what you are talking about. My grandfather passed away first but he had the beginning stages of Alzheimer too. He passed away of Cancer and was active until he went into the hospital. He was always larger than life and I couldn’t imagine losing him daily.

      That’s the beauty of blogs like these where people can bond. I am like you I like to think my grandmother is up there giving my grandfather hell again and running everything.

  8. What a beautiful, bittersweet day. Literally brings tears to my eyes.

    I’ve lost many people in my life, but there is no one day I cling to. I know there will be one someday. Until that day, I will continue being happy as I can every day that I can. I can barely remember the day I got my own call…never thought about it, but I guess I don’t mark too many days as special. BUT, I’m very glad you reclaimed your day 🙂

    Congrats on the book 🙂

  9. Hi Liz. Yes, I reclaimed my day! Usually about now I’m starting to dread September 16. Now I think of it as the day my daddy sent me the gift of finding out I’d finally get published. It’s now a running joke in my family because my dad was just that agressive to pull something like that off!

    Thanks for saying hi.

  10. Adrienne I love this story so much. what a wonderful way to recapture a day! I’m blessed to still have all my parents, the grandparents who I grew up knowing and all those around me. One can only hope for something as you’ve gotten to help brighten that day.

  11. I somehow completely lost a day! Sorry to be here late!

    Happy birthday, Adrienne’s Dad!

    I’m so glad your first Call was on such an important day. It really shows the value of balance, doesn’t it?

    My mother died on my brother’s birthday. I think she did it on purpose. I’m not sure if it was to spite my brother, or to make sure we always remember it. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

