• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

To Be Read

Whether it’s a mental or an actual physical list, almost everyone who loves books has a TBR pile. (To be read)

Some books have been in my mental to be read list for years. I will read them; it’s just not a priority. Others I download almost immediately. This week, with news of EPIC winners and gearing up for the RITAs (which I hope to enter) I was wondering what moves a book up the TBR list to that I-must-have-it-now status.

Sometimes, for me, it’s simply a really good blurb. Other times it’s a witty interview with the author that makes me want to see the inside of his or her mind through their writing. A nice cover will do it, as will hearing so many good things from the book from readers (not the author) that I have to see what the buzz is about. Honestly, how much money is in the Paypal account influences my decision too.

Which brings me to my question. What moves a book to the top of your TBR list? What turns you off? Have you ever been excited about reading a book only to be disappointed and wonder what every one else was talking about?

11 Responses

  1. Shawna,

    what usually moves a book up my TBR list is if it’s an author I follow (Like Nalini, Lora Leigh or JR Ward) their books always get read, even if I have other stuff waiting – including school. Review requests also drive my TBR pile some but I try really hard not to let them and deadlines take the joy out of reading and make it seem like a “job”. i love to read and reviewing has given me the opportunity to read/review some great books.

    I like pretty covers but they don’t always move me. A good blurb goes a long way. There are books that I loved but other’s hated and vice versa. I think that’s always going to be the case and the wonderful thing about reading, there is always going to be something out there for everyone.

    • You know, that is what usually drives me too. However, I love Ilona Andrews. They are like my heroes! And I still haven’t read the latest Kate Daniels book. I do have an Amazon gift card though… and a Sony : /

  2. Oftentimes, it’s my mood. Some days I’m up for dark and dramatic, other times I direly need something fun. I’m shuffling between three books on my ereader right now for this very reason. Which one I chose on a given night just depends on how the world treated me that day.

    • Kari,

      I am the same way. I usually have 1 book on my phone, 1 on my kindle and one of the paperbacks beside the bed or with me too. It depends on my mood which one i actually pick up to read. (a lot of times right now it’s been the Corp Strat book LOL).

      I tend to like a lighter/fluffier book after I’ve read something dark or dramatic too.

    • I just can’t book hop. Or rather, when I do, it’s because the book hasn’t captured me. I have a Kathleen O’Neal Gear book that I’ve been reading for 3-5 months now. I put it down to read anything else that comes my way. I like the plot, the writing is okay, it’s just not grabbing me by the throat and telling me I need to read it more than I need sleep.

  3. I like reading several at once too, so for me, it’s also a what strikes my fancy sort of thing.

    I do have autobuy authors, but I’ve been in a slump lately with them. Right now I’m looking for something new and luscious to dive into.

    I also tend to buy off excerpt on my kindle. I poke around on the top lists and download the samples. Oftentimes, I’m so engaged that I go ahead and buy it. That’s a pretty wonderful tool.

    And, I’m admitting it here. I buy my friends even if I don’t read them. Many times I do get to the books, but I want them there to 1. support them and 2. to read them when I have more time.

    Unfortunately, I haven’t had much time to read lately. Been too busy writing my own stuff. But I just sent my last book in to my editor today, so I have a little time before I start my next book. Maybe I’ll get around to some of those TBR.

  4. I keep book lists on Evernote. One for fiction, one for nonfiction (usually research related or writing craft), and one with ideas for my boys. I use them when I’m at the used book store, browsing the library catalog, or looking for something new for my Nook.

    What I actually choose at any given moment is definitely mood-related. If I’ve just read several historicals, I’ll be in the mood for a good RS, and vice versa.

    I generally won’t start a book if I can’t finish it that day. Mainly because if it’s good, I won’t have the discipline to put it down. So sometimes I read slow books just so I can get other things done, but generally I have only one novel going at a time, and one or two craft books.

    I don’t read back cover blurbs very often. They spoil too much of the story for my taste. A good cover helps, as does “buzz” from friends, or a lot of good reviews. And, of course, I have a list of must-buy authors, including writer friends.

    Too many books, not enough time or money!

  5. Shawna, you always make me think! I read this earlier and the past few hours I’ve been thinking over and truth is, I don’t know.

    If I know the author, I’ll jump on the book faster.

    If I know the author the genre is a favorite, I’ll jump on the book faster.

    Other than that? pfft. Not. A. Clue. my moods play a lot into. am I wanting something like and fun? dark and sexy? gritty and underbelly? <<when mood plays a role, I look at covers and blurbs to make my choice.

    and this is the only time I don't like my kindle. so fracking hard to browse on that little screen!

  6. My TBR pile is such a disaster at the moment. I guess what moves to the top of the pile — or more accurately off the pile entirely and into my hands to be read — is, as for Keri, dependent on my mood when I find some time to sit down with a book (which, by the way, is the same for opening a new book on the Kindle). Is it light romance? heavy romance? nonfiction? or women’s fiction — a recent enthusiasm. When I only have five or ten minutes to read I generally pick something to re-read instead. That way suspense doesn’t draw me forward.

    Although I have to admit, although the suspense of never-read isn’t there, it’s sometimes an insuperable temptation to read through to a particularly good bit I remember.

  7. No real rhyme or reason for me, either. Sometimes it’s because a book I’ve been waiting for for a long time comes out (Trinity Faegan’s first, Darynda Jones as examples), sometimes it’s mood, sometimes I feel guilty for leaving things in my TBR pile (paperback)/file (Kindle) and I just pull the oldest one. šŸ™‚

    I buy as many of my friends as I can, though sometimes if it’s just something I don’t ever read (like historicals), I might not. I always have a reluctance to read because I’m afraid they won’t grab me, and I never want to dislike a friend’s book! šŸ˜¦

    I tend to go on buying binges. When my Kindle TBR drops below 10, I get a little frantic. I keep pre-release books in my wish lists, and already-out books in a “to buy” folder on my Kindle, and those are what I go by when I can’t stand it anymore and MUST BUY NEW BOOKS. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

