Fast. Easy. Yummy. What’s not to love?

I love fall. Partly because I love to bake and it’s hot here in the summer. In the fall and winter, I can bake to my heart’s content and heating the house is a good thing!

This is one of my favorite recipes because I took a basic banana bread recipe and fiddled with it over the years until it I made it mine. My husband told me I should enter it in contests. My kids get as excited about banana bread as they do cookies and cake. Best part? It’s easy.

 

SHAWNA’S BANANA BREAD

 

4 OVER RIPE BANANAS
4 TABLE SPOONS SOFTENED BUTTER
1 CUP SUGAR
1 EGG
1 1/2 CUP FLOUR
1 TEASPOON SALT
1TEASPOON BAKING SODA

 

POUR INTO LOAF PAN BAKE AT 325′ UNTIL DONE. ABOUT AN HOUR.

 

Another thing I like about this recipe is it’s versatile. Although it’s good alone, sometimes, for a special treat, I sprinkle chocolate chips on the top before baking. I’ve even baked this in an 8 X 8 pan, sprinkled instant oatmeal and/or chocolate chips over the top and served it as snack cake. Kids ate it up!

My favorite way to make this is to sprinkle a pouch of instant oatmeal over the top before baking. The best, in my opinion, is maple and brown sugar but experiment—don’t use the apples and cinnamon though, the apples don’t cook in the oven. Chewy.

If you want to get fancy, pour half of the batter in the loaf pan, sprinkle your chosen topping and then add the rest of the mixture, bake as directed.

Enjoy

10 Responses

  1. Okay, I’m not big into baking, but I could make that. My grandma used to make banana bread for a treat. So delicious. Might have to try it, though bananas rarely have a chance to get overripe around here. Will have to squirrel a few away.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. YAY on posting this TODAY!! I have two over-ripe bananas on my counter. I’m making this. I think I’ll try the 8×8/snack version. I don’t think I have chocolate chips for the top. I’ll have to look around for a “different” topping.

    BUT now that I look at the recipe, I’m out of eggs. SO I have to vote today, so I’ll pick up eggs AND chocolate chips. 🙂

  3. I don’t like banana’s but I will eat Banana nut bread :). One of my daughter’s (and well the rest of the family) favorite treats is homemade chocolate pie.

    It’s my grandma’s recipe and it was my grandy’s favorite. I always have to make it for holiday get togethers and it doesn’t last long. I usually make 2, one to keep at home and one to take with us.

    • I forgot to add that my husband loves walnuts in this recipe. I think I use about 1/3 cup or so. : ) Want to share your pie recipe with us? Sounds good. I love recipes passed down through generations.

  4. yummy! I love fruit bread recipes like this! you can easily change out the fruit for whatever you have!

  5. Banana bread is our favorite too! I’ll be trying this recipe real soon! Thanks!! 🙂 Now how do you get banana’s to ripen faster!! LOL

  6. This sounds so delish! And so perfect for fall. Now how fast can I get those bananas to ripen?

  7. Yum! I love bananas, but hate anything banana flavored…except this! The recipe looks great. I’ll have to try it!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

