• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Feeling Young Again

You think this post is about something miraculous, don’t you?

Like Juviderm or Botox.

Or maybe a little nip, tuck and lots of Red Bull and vodka.

Not really, though some of those things have crossed my mind. Things are sagging, people.

It’s more along the lines of reading Young Adult books which I’ve been doing lately. Is it because I want to write in that genre? Not specifically, though it does have appeal. But it’s more about the freshness of the writing…the way the voice of these authors speak to me.

Or maybe it’s because the characters don’t pay bills, wipe up spit up, deal with mother-in-laws or worry about the size of a forthcoming diamond…in other words, it’s pure escapism. So, that’s what I’ve been reading lately, starting with the Hunger Games trilogy. Oh, I tried to ignore it. Once something is uber populer, I lose interest. I can’t even believe I carry a Coach purse. Shudder. It was a lapse in judgment. And when everyone started throwing up fleur de lis all over their walls, I threw mine in a closet. Twilight? Pfff. As if. But somehow that first book of the Hunger Games ended up in my hand when I was rearranging the oldest child’s bookshelf, aka trying to find crap underneath more crap, and I made the mistake of reading the first few pages.

Whoosh!

Totally sucked in. So I read it. Then I read the second one. Okay, more like devoured them. I loved it. Couldn’t believe it either. Dystopian world? Um, so not me, but I totally bought into it, even loved Katniss and her tough, practicial, nearly uncaring demeanor.

So I was in Sam’s Club today wasting time with my Dad (because that’s his favorite place to go…he always needs toilet paper) and I see Becca Fizpatrick’s hush, hush. I’ve seen it around, heard people talk about it in some reverant hushed whisper of greatness (sorry, couldn’t resist) and I picked it up.

Whoosh!

Um, it went in my basket. Yep. Sitting right beside me, and I can’t figure out why. Fallen angels? Do I wear black eyeliner and lust after Johnny Depp or that pale dude from Twilight. Hell, no. But there it was sitting in the seat where a baby would normally sit, staring back at me with its arching dark angel falling against an angsty charcoal sky. And all I can figure out is that the voice, the very fresh, sarcastic tone grabbed me by the throat and forced me to shell out $6.48 which I had intended to go toward fruit rollups. Sorry, kids, Mom found a fallen angel and a first paragraph with a naked Ken and Barbie taped to the Sex Ed. white board.

So, what about you? Have you read Twilight? The Hunger Games? hush, hush? What other YA books have tickled your fancy and made you forego a Salted Caramel Mocha for a visit back to the halls of your youth?

13 Responses

  1. The only YA I’ve picked up have been books of friends…a zombie book by Stacey Jay, a vampire book by Melissa Francis. I’m sure there are some others I’ve read but I’m pulling those titles and authors out of my foggy morning brain.

    My problem with YA is letting go of the HEA of romance.

    Julie McCrae reviewed this series here in January

    http://everybodyneedsalittleromance.com/2011/01/23/review-by-julie-the-hunger-games-by-suzanne-collins/

    She loved them too.

    AND to our visitors today…
    Don’t forget to sign up for the ENLR newsletter. 🙂

  2. I guess that doesn’t bother me as much..um the HEA thing because I’m okay with a happy for right now sort of ending. I believe in HEA, but for a 17 year old I expect the likelihood to be low.

    I’m not usually a paranormal reader. Don’t like vampires that much because I’m ticklish. If they even got near my neck, I’d start laughing. And werewolves. The hairiness just puts me off. Nothing like raking your nails down a hairy back. . And zombie’s parts fall off, right? That could be a major mood killer during sexy times. BUT I’m kinda digging this whole fallen angel thing.

    I must have missed Julie’s reveiw, or maybe at that time I overlooked it because I wasn’t planning on reading it. But that sort of happened. Thanks for the link. 🙂

  3. My go-to recommendation for YA is always Sarah Dessen. She writes contemporaries–no vampires, shapeshifters, dystopian in sight. But she has a way of getting to the heart of complex relationships and a writing style that always sucks me in. My favorite of hers is JUST LISTEN. THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER is really good. As is LOCK AND KEY.

    Also Simone Elkeles writes really good contemporaries (Perfect Chemistry, Rules of Attraction) as well that are a little more edgy than Sarah Dessen.

  4. I love, love Twilight books, sad to say, lol. And Harry Potter. Have read those books several times, would read them yearly if I had time. Have heard of Hunger Games but the premise kinda makes me go ick. Have not heard of Hush.

    A new YA paranormal author is Sharon Sala, yes, the NYT suspense author. Currently her new YA book My Lunatic Life is Free on Kindle! (only for a day or two more I think)

  5. I have read Sarah Dessen. Probably about 2-3 of hers. And I have to admit, I liked her style and the “realness” of the problems. I have Perfect Chemistry around here somewhere. I think I loaned it to my SIL, but I haven’t read it yet. I’ll add that one to my list. Thanks, Cynthia.

    I never read the Twilight books, Diana. I don’t really know why. I’m stubborn, I guess. The more hype stuff gets, the more I don’t want to participate. Except for HP. I read those before the movies and dolls and amusement parks, etc, so I felt I already had a hold on the orginality of those books. Stupid. I know.

    Oh, and I felt the same way about Hunger Games, but I was wrong. Good books. Haven’t read book three yet, but I think you would like them. Just very gripping with that redemption/underdog motiff.

  6. I forgot about the Harry Potter books. I guess I forgot they were classified as YA because everybody of every age read those. I loved them too

  7. I’m a YA addict. LOVE ’em. Have you tried Uglies by Scott Westerfeld? Or Richelle Mead’s Vampire Academy books?

  8. I LOVE YA! (Good thing since I also write it.) I have read all of the above and many more, and I can say that the stories are just as complex and just as well-written as any adult novel I’ve read. Such fun and imaginative stories.

    Great post, Liz!

  9. I started to go into this comment after reading your post that I don’t read YA at all but then reading the comments I thought of a couple I have read. the Harry Potter series of course and loved it.

    There was another really good trilogy I picked up in the bargain books at BAM – Stephen Cole Wereling series (Wounded, Prey & Resurrection). I was surprised at home much I enjoyed them – no teenage angst.

    I have never read the Twilight series nor will I ever read them. Bella gets on my nerves in the worst way (sorry Twilight fans).

    Also Kelley Armstrong writes a good YA paranormal series that has teenagers with different types of abilities.

  10. I haven’t tried neither of those, Vivi, but I ‘ll put them on my list. I’ve seen them at the bookstore and maybe even picked them up, but so far, I’ve not gotten to them.

    Can’t wait to read yours, Darynda, and I love the title. Fits your sassy voice.

    I’m not really interested in Twilight, Heather, so I get you on that one, but I have to say I’ve been very impressed with the ones I’ve picked up lately. I also read a more literary one by my friend John Corey Whaley – it’s more of an English teacher book, but still very good. He’s getting all kinds of publicity for it and was nominated for a pretty big time award (as the first YA author nominated) but I forget what it was. His book is called When Things Come Back.

  11. I’m not a big YA reader, but I loved the HP series. And my boys keep trying to get me to read Hunger Games. It’s on my long TBR list. I’m totally with you on trends, Liz. The more popular something is, usually the more I stay away from it, fashion included.

    But seriously, you don’t lust after Johnny Depp?!! I’ve been a fan since 21 Jump Street. And I’m definitely not Goth. 😉

  12. My 16-year-old and I *both* lust after Johnny Depp. LOL We also share some tastes in YA books. I would have eschewed Hunger Games for the same reason you did at first, but she insisted I read them.

    I love the Soul Screamers series by Rachel Vincent, and enjoyed Angel Burn by LA Weatherly (started out awesome, left me wanting a little by the end, but still a fantastic book). I have Trinity Feagan’s The Mephisto Covenant and Tara Lynn Child’s Sweet Venom and several Entangled YA or New Adult books (Touch, Ward Against Death) in my Kindle or on my Wish List. I could go on!

    I like paranormal that’s not vampires or shifters, and I love that it’s more acceptable to have two potential love interests, or to change from one to another, than it is in romance. Sure, there’s less of an HEA, but the excitement of the uncertainty makes up for that, for me. 🙂

  13. With two teenage daughters in the house, we have tons of YA books around. I must say I’ve enjoyed the ones I’ve read. “Oh My Gods, by Tera Lynn Childs is my favorite so far. Oh, and C.C. Hunter’s “Born at Midnight” is another one. Still haven’t read Twilight or the Hunger games though. I even have a very rough draft written of my very own YA. Hoping to get to work on it soon. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

