Out With the Old and In With the New

I’m not sure how to feel about all the movie remakes lately. It seems like every time I turn around, they are remaking one of the great movies from my days as a teenager. Now don’t laugh. It hasn’t been that long ago. LOL So far, I haven’t found a single remake that does the original movie justice. Why can’t they stick to the original script? Heck, they do it with books too. Is it because of some copyright law or something? I would really like to know.

How many of us dream of having our books made into a movie someday? Come on, I know I’m not alone on this one. ๐Ÿ™‚ But with all this changing and rearranging that goes on, it’s kind of scary. How much say does the author have anyway? Would we even recognize our story when they were done with it?

For example, my daughter went to see Footloose this weekend with a friend. She’s never seen the original movie, but we did see the play together at her local high school. It was really well done too. I was happily surprised. But it followed the movie to a tee. After hearing her take on this newest movieย version, I’m not sure I want to see it now. She really liked it. But they’ve rewritten several scenes and for the life of me I can’t figure out why. I know they wanted to update the movie so it would appeal to this new generation, but from the review I got from my daughter it’s almost an entirely new movie in parts. Grrrr….

Anyone seen it yet?ย Do I satisfy my curiosity and see for myself. Or just hang onto all those wonderful memories I have from long ago?

19 Responses

  1. I haven’t found any remake of an 80s movie to be up to snuff yet. I really don’t even want to see the new Footloose. Heck, I didn’t think the old version was all that good – just had good music.

    I think there are some that could be remade better with the right cast. Like Ghostbusters. That one would be cute to bring back with the right cast. Maybe something like the ghostbusters’ kids then they could have cameos with Bill Murray and Dan Ackyroid. With more modern effects and a fun storyline, that one would be a good one.

    Okay, don’t know why I came up with that. Maybe I need more coffee. LOL.

    The only movie that I thought did justice was The Help. That movie was very well done.

  2. I saw The Three Musketeers this weekend. That was not only a remake of a beloved (by us) film, it’s based on a classic novel! Talk about pitfalls. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just as you described Footloose, there were some lines and scenes that were exactly as in the last movie, but then much of the storyline was wildly divergent. I bought the book when the first movie came out, but couldn’t get into it, so I have no idea how close either are to that. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway, filmmakers are having just as much difficulty as publishers with the economy, and going with the “safe” nostalgia. I admit, though, I tend to only like remakes a lot if I never saw the original. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it can work a lot better to do a sequel in a successful franchise instead of a remake. I LOVED Live Free or Die Hard, for example.

    But regardless of what they doโ€”sequel, remake, prequel, or completely new film, it has to be GOOD. No one tries to make a bad movie, but sometimes they just can’t help themselves. LOL

  3. In the previews Footloose looked like a word-for-word remake, so I guess I’m glad they tried to put their own spin on it. We rented the original for our kids a few years ago and I was surprised how lame it looked twenty-plus years later, even with Kevin Bacon in it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Still, the previews of the new one did not make me want to see it.

    I think Pirates of the Caribbean was a good way to take something most people were familiar with and parlay it into a hit. Didn’t work so well with some of Disney’s other rides-turned-movies though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    While I’ve paid to see some of the remakes (A-Team comes to mind), I’d prefer a new story to the remake of something unless it came long before my generation and can be updated well. I agree with Natalie. A (good) sequel might be better than a redo.

    • Ooh, the A-Team! Good one! I have vague memories of the TV show, mainly who the characters were and that I loved it. So I thought the movie update was awesome. Remaking TV to film might work better than a straight remake of an old film, too, because there’s a much richer pot to pull from.

    • Funny how time changes things. We thought Greese and Footloose were the coolest things back when I was in high school. Not sure I could sit through the entire thing now either. LOL

      Oh, I loved The A-Team! I thought it was nicely done and my kids even saw it twice. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Watch out with that title Missy, I’m old and I don’t wanna be out.

    I’d like to see old sitcoms re-made, like Andy Griffin and Leave it to Beaver. Although, maybe the “Wonder Years” had that intent.

    As for the big screen, I like action/thrill re-makes. With all the graphics these days, movies have the capability to look and feel real like “War Of The Worlds”, “The Blob” and “Captain America” – sorry, had to plug in a movie I liked “CA”.

    • Sorry, Terri! I’m right there with ya! LOL We haven’t seen CA yet. I thought my son would be into it, but he wasn’t interested. Shoot, now that I think about it, he didn’t want to see Spiderman or the Green Lantern either. hmmmm…..

  5. Didn’t see the first Footloose. Don’t want to see the new one.

    I’m going to kind of agree with Terri. I’d like to see old sitcoms not really remade, but use them as inspirations for new ones. I can’t really think of a primetime show on a major network that’s okay to watch with the kid.

  6. I cannot think of one remake that was better than the original. Will not be seeing Footloose. Of course the original wasn’t anything that holds sentimental memories for me.

    As far as old TV shows remade…I don’t think you could make The Andy Griffin show today. But if you watch it now, it’s still funny and it still has a good message. I find so much sexual content on TV, even on supposed comedies. So, I feel for you Keri…and the rest of you with kids

    • The only show that’s even close to something like Family Matters or Full House is “Good Luck, Charlie” on Disney. Even still, it’s not even there. the parents are of course complete idiots and have very little to do with the “lessons learned”

    • I agree, Cyndi. Most nights we are watching reruns of Raymond, George Lopez or Myth busters. Well, and then there is my daughter’s new favorite, “Billy the Exterminator.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I agree with all of you! This “remake” business has gotten silly… and some of the decisions are beyond understanding.

  8. I agree, Missy…and I bet our folks said the same thing in our generation!! LOL!!

  9. LOL Tess. Yep, I think I can still hear my mother’s voice. ๐Ÿ™‚ What’s scary is where they will go from here! Ack!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

