• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

November, the Month for Challenges and Champions

Halloween 2005

Happy Halloween! Lots of great energy zipping through the air today. Not sure it has anything to do with Halloween and spirits, at least not for me. My kids have outgrown the Trick’er Treating so maybe they will just hand out candy tonight to little ghost and goblins in our neighborhood. My favorite part was always the costumes. We’ve had our share of funny, scary and what are you again? I always love looking back at the pictures. My all-time favorite has to be the one I made for my son a years ago. Shark boy. He even had the grin down. Little did my son know that a couple years later Mommy would be enjoying watching Taylor Lautner up on the big screen as well. Yikes! Did I just say that outloud?  Let’s keep that a secret. 🙂

Halloween 2003

 November is always a busy month for us with birthdays, Anniversaries, Thanksgiving and hunting. Let’s not forget the hunting. Ugh. With National Novel Writing Month starting Nov. 1, I’m going to need a huge push those first few days. So tonight I’m going to be sitting in front of my computer trying my darndest to come up with an outline for a simple romance that I plan to write for NaNoWriMo. I must be more prepared this year. Oh, how my muse is already screaming. What, no murders? No psycho killers. No dangerous escapades? Gulp… No guns? LOL I think I’ll have my heroine be a competitive sharp shooter or something like that to keep the muse from totally shutting down on me.

Do you still Trick or Treat? Have a favorite costume or story to tell?

15 Responses

  1. Unfortunately, my husband and I are “too old” to Trick or Treat. However, he goes to our friend’s house, puts a sheet over his head, rings the doorbell and when they open the door, he yells “Trick or Treat” while holding out an empty wine glass!

  2. My youngest (13) is trick-or-treating this year, but he’s just wearing a nerd costume from items he already has. My favorite of his was Buzz Lightyear. He had pajamas that looked like Buzz’s body, we made him cardboard wings colored to match, and I painted on big brown eyebrows. He looked adorable.

    My oldest is giving out candy for us tonight while I try not to eat too much of it. 😉

    • Aww…sounds adorable, Gwen! My son is 12. I don’t know about you, but I’m finding it the hardest to watch him grow up. I guess it’s because he’s the baby. And somebody PlEaSe Hide that Candy bucket!! LOL

  3. We are all done with Halloween. Our trick-or-treating was last Thursday, and my kids (16 and 12) helped my husband pass out candy. Very low key. 🙂

    My favorite costume we ever did was a female version of Castiel, the angel on Supernatural. Number One wore a trench coat over a plaid shirt and tie, and we bought giant black wings. I don’t think anyone got it. LOL

    • Very original, Natalie. We have so many ghost and witches running around. It’s always fun to have to guess. 🙂

      And this will be my 5th year for NaNo. I’ve won 3. 2008 kicked by bootie though. LOL This year is going to be brutal. I can already feel it. But I’m itching to write something new! Sorry you have to miss out this year. I think I would feel a bit lost too.

  4. Oh, and I meant to say, good luck with NaNoWriMo! How have you done in the past? This is the first time in like 6 years I didn’t participate, and I’m feeling lost. LOL

  5. Shaping up to be a low-key Halloween around here this time. Falling on a Monday has put a crimp into the usual Neighborhood Blowout, but I’m sure tonight will drive the dogs insane…:)

  6. We don’t have trick or treaters at our house. Never had. I didn’t even buy candy this year. In the past, I usually had some hidden “just in case” but I ended up eating it and I SOOO don’t need the calories so this year I just didn’t buy any.

    I used to love dressing up and going house to house.

    November is my wedding anniversary month. Yours too?

    Good luck with NaNo. I’m conflicted about doing it this year.

    • Our years vary. Sometimes we have a ton of kids on Halloween, others we end up with way too much candy left over. Not good. LOL

      And yes, Cyndi! Our 21st anniversary is Nov. 24. Right in the big middle of Thanksgiving and hunting. Hubby will never let me live it down. LOL Hope you guys have a Very Special Day!

  7. Well, we are having a party here tonight (I’m making chili and mummy dogs) and the neighbors/family are coming over for dinner. Then we’ll load the kids on a trailer and start the fun! The house is decorated, the beer is chilling and I have more candy than I’ve ever bought. We finally live in a neighborhood, and this place does things right. Almost every house is decorated and we’ve already done the boo bag things for the past two weeks. Yesterday, I saw a family out decorating their golf cart.

    So, I’m a witch, Doug is a vampire, Oldest is Dipsy the Tellietubby and the youngest is a gladiator. The lab is a cheerleader and Ike will be donning his football doggy costume. We’re leaving the cat alone for obvioius reasons.

    So, yeah, we’re getting our Halloween on down here in Louisiana 🙂 Come on down!

    • Man, I wish I lived closer! This sounds like way too much fun, Liz!! Love the mummy dogs! LOL And what a great idea to load the kids on a trailer. I like that idea way better than trying to corral them and keep them out of the street. You guys have a BLAST!! 🙂

  8. We did all this last night and it was frickin’ exhausting! Son was a pirate. I talked dh into his football jersey and I put on my cheerleader uniform. we went as highschool sweethearts. 🙂

  9. Ah, the joys of Halloween! The best part, to me, is that I don’t have to help four children figure out costumes that are a) possible (“This year I want to be invisible, Mom!”) and b) affordable (“Mom, I saw the perfect costume down at this store when I was at the mall and it’s only $75!”)

    Biggest satisfaction — this year TWO of my grandchildren wore costumes I had made back when the children were too little to be strongly opinionated. All four of them were ghosts. I think it took 2 queen-size sheets. This year Lucy and Bear, the littlest one (he’s 3) were ghosts. Bear wanted to be a “scary ghost” so his face was covered with black make-up: striking with the white sheet!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

