• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Next Always by Nora Roberts

The Next Always, The  Inn BoonsBoro Trilogy, Book 1

The historic hotel in BoonsBoro, Maryland, has endured war and peace, changing hands, even rumored hauntings. Now it’s getting a major facelift from the Montgomery brothers and their eccentric mother. As the architect of the family, Beckett’s social life consists mostly of talking shop over pizza and beer. But there’s another project he’s got his eye on: the girl he’s been waiting to kiss since he was fifteen…

When reading Nora, you can generally find me in a puddle on the floor. Not because her hero is making me swoon—even though they do indeed make me do so—it’s her writing period. To be more specific, it’s the way she describes a scene. In her newest release, The Next Always, her main character walks into a historic building that he, his two brothers, and their mother are bringing back to life, and here Nora sets the scene. By the time the first scene ended, I wanted to crawl into the book and live there. And as I continued to read on, the characters made me feel like I was in the book.

The Boonsboro characters live up to those of Nora’s Bridal Quartet series. There is a natural flow between all of them. Nothing is forced, or over done. It’s a real sense of family, friendship and community that left me with a smile on my face. The kind of smile one wears after being out with old friends you’ve known your whole life.

I took my time with this book, reading it over a course of several days. Every time I put the book down I walked away feeling recharged, and ready to tackle the day. It was a little like being in a garden. Everything smells lovely and feels light. The sun is bright, the colors are vibrant, and it’s all just dramatic enough to give my heart the jolt it so loves to experience. And as with most of Nora’s book there are plenty of moments for laughing out loud. This book did for me what every good book should, it really brightened my week.

If you enjoyed the Bridal Quartet you will very much enjoy this one. It’s a tad more suspenseful, and some may find the bad guy a bit predictable, but overall … it’s wonderful.

4 1/2    

 

*I received this book via and ebook store and my wallet.

2 Responses

  1. What a wonderful review, Crystal. You made me want to rush out and buy the whole series. My favorite Noras have been the earth, wind and fire of the Three Sister’s Island trilogy. But this sounds like something I would really enjoy.
    ~J.D.

  2. J.D., I love, love, love that series! Mia was my favorite. After reading, all I wanted was to go on a shopping spree for long dresses. I may have to reread FACE THE FIRE now.

    Glad you liked the review, I very much enjoyed this book. I’m excited for the next two books to come.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

