• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

What’s important

I don’t know about you, but I can hardly believe it’s already November. This kinda marks my most hectic time of the year. I have children with birthdays on Nov 18th, and Dec 14th, my niece and nephew have birthdays on the 21st and 28th of December, and of course there is Thanksgiving and Christmas, and all that entails.

It would be so easy to slip into stress mode. LOL truth be told, that path is well-worn! But this year I’m going to try something different. Slowing down. Some of my favorite parts of this time of year are getting lost under my to-do list.

We’ve been doing nature walks since the kids were born. We discuss the changes in trees, the weather, etc, and collect bits and pieces of fall to take home and decorate the house. We didn’t do that last year, or I think, the year before. This weekend, we’re going!

I love baking cookies with the kids. The kitchen gets all kind of messy and the cookies, well, let’s just say more frosting is licked from fingers than put on the sugar cookies. The last few years I’ve been doing most of it myself because let’s face it, it’s neater and more efficient. But are the holidays about neatness and efficiency? Not hardly!

So this year, I’m going back to basics. If you come over, be prepared for a house that is not ready for any covers of any magazines (Unless they have one called Clutter Is Us) It probably won’t even be ready for company. You might have to move a pile of school papers off the kitchen chair before sitting down, and watch the Legos on the floorβ€”I did tell them to pick those things up. But there will be cookies. I hope you don’t mind the fingerprints. I made them wash their hands, honest.

This year my goal is making those memories that last forever. I want to have fun with the kids.

So that means…

My cookies will not look like this.

They will look like this.

And that’s okay!

What are your favorite things about the holidays?

30 Responses

  1. We don’t frost the sugar cookies, we use SPRINKLES πŸ™‚ And yes I’m vacuuming them out of the carpet for months. Good stuff. I love baking with the wee beasties.

    Back to the basics for the holidays is awesome!

  2. I’ve done sprinkles…that’s a good idea. LOL Of course not only from the carpet, but there were piles of them on the cookies. ; ) Do you sprinkle before baking or right after when the cookie is warm?

  3. Usually before but sometimes the wee beasties like to add some when the cookies come out of the oven…you know, because that cookie didn’t have enough or something, LOL

  4. You know, I’ve dyed the cookie dough prior to cutting too. That was kinda fun. I may just try sprinkles, no frosting, this year. How old are your wee beasties?

  5. Confession..I have NEVER iced a cookie in my life! Eaten them…sure. But never iced them.

    Between Nov 17 and Dec 25, I have my wedding anniversary (11/17), my birthday (12/20), Christmas. So all my “personal holidays” are all lumped together in a short time period.

    Now you’ve got me craving a good iced cookie!

  6. Those look just like my cookies. They never turn out like Martha’s, do they?

    I actually love to decorate cookies, so we have a decorating party with my whole family. Usually we have funny ones because my brothers relish opportunities to make inappropriate cookies. I’m pretty sure they do themes. We’ve had plenty of red and green sprinkled penises i the past. Try explaining those to guests.

    Oh, well, at least it’s fun…and edible. ;O

    • LOL Liz, I had to weed through the pictures because my sister is also very creative with anatomically correct gingerbread men. I’ve had to caution her to keep them PG 13 for the kids. Our gingerbread house is usually the whole family opportunity.

  7. Love decorating and baking with the kids. When mine were little, we went way overboard with the baking. Always had plenty to share with the neighbors. πŸ™‚ Now, we try to make just enough to last us through the holidays. Our favorite has always been the snowball cookies with the powdered sugar. Oh what fun that is to clean up! LOL

  8. I think you have it right, Shawna. The memories are more important than dust-free furniture and pristine floors. At least that’s what I keep telling my husband. πŸ˜‰

  9. I am a failure as a mother. We never bake cookies together. The kids have never really been into it, and it was usually too much of a chore for me to pursue.

    Luckily, I have a mother-in-law who takes care of holiday cookies. πŸ™‚

    • Nope, no failure, Natalie.: ) If I didn’t love making cookies, I wouldn’t do it with them either, especially if they weren’t in to it. But they love to do it, and so do I, I’ve just been so consumed with “getting things done” that I haven’t been doing the important things. Like getting messy with the kids.

      • I’m definitely guilty of the “getting things done” in general, too. I just need to find the “messy” thing that we should be doing instead! (Though it’s not quite the same, as my kids are 16 and 12 and really boring. LOL)

    • We made treats a few times when the kids were little, but I’m so not the crafty mom. I let the grandparents and aunts do most of that stuff. πŸ˜‰

      And my son and I are both December babies too!

  10. awesome, Shawna. Son likes to bake and do cookies for about…2minutes. and then he’s bored. I can’t let him wrap with me yet because he tells people what they’re getting!

    He does take part in decorating the tree. he puts almost all the ornaments on. three are sometimes hanging from one poor branch. πŸ™‚

  11. OH I WANT THOSE COOKIES! I love making memories, but then you already know that. I also love games. I love, love, love games. Anything to get everyone laughing and LOUD. I love that kind of chaos.

  12. Damn you, Shawna. I have been craving cookies ALL DAY and now I much have some. πŸ™‚

Show us some love and leave a comment!

