• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Let’s Talk Naps.

Cause let me tell you, napping, I love it. I typically take
one every day around 1pm that lasts anywhere from forty-five minutes to almost
two hours. I love it. I also hate it for the time I waste, but I just can’t
help it!

My love of naps has always been there. My bed at my parent’s
house was angled just right so that on a sunny day, there was a big square of
sunshine smack in the middle of my bed through the afternoons. I remember
waiting to get home from school to crash in that warm spot.

After high school…hello 40work week became helllloooo raft
in a swimming pool!

Outside on a hammock? Check.

Leaned against a car door going down the road? Yep. (oh my
god, concrete bridges with the bump….bump…bump…
are the freaking BEST EVER)

My grandma used to comment on how easily I would nap when I was a kid. If they couldn’t find me, they only needed to look under blankets or coats on the floor. Yep, I can even nap on a floor. Hardwoods, crap trailer house carpet or my grandma’s thick stuff. Doesn’t matter.

Speaking of coats…winter time napping. Oh, yes, ma’am. Sign me
up anytime. Frost on the windows, heat blowing out the heaters, me with a
blanket. Nothing quite like it.

There’s only one place I can’t nap. That’s in a parking lot
while I’m waiting on something. That’s because I’m slightly paranoid about all
the crazy people in the world.

Rather it’s in the
husband’s lap during some sport game, crashed across the couch or in the bed, I
will always be a napper. What about you?

11 Responses

  1. Not a napper. In fact, I can’t even sleep late. TODAY is my sleep late day because hubbie gets kids up and takes them to early morning Bible study, but if I get woken up to ask about where their shoes are or if I signed their progress report or by the dog sneaking in and jumping on the bed, then I’m up. Let’s just say I never get to sleep late.

    And I never get to nap. If I intentionally lie down for a nap and manage to actually fall asleep, the phone inevitably rings. Every time. It’s almost like a joke.

    So go enjoy your naps…I would if I could.

    • I can’t sleep late either! sleeping until 8:30 surprises me. BUT–I can go to bed super early and sleep all night long.

      • I can do that, too. But I’ve always been an early riser. When I was a kid, I got up at 5:00-5:30 almost every morning and watched The Little Rascals and Three Stooges in the dark by myself.

  2. One of my favorite things to do in whole world is to curl up on the couch with my special blanket while listening to Sunday football on the television. It makes for the nap ever!

    That said, I’m not a big napper. I only have so many hours during the work day before the kiddos get home. I do not want to spend those sleeping. And those times when I’m sick, and my husband convinces me to lay down, I usually end up reading instead.

    Besides, I get some of my best writing ideas in the state right before I fall asleep so I have to jump up and write whatever down anyway.

    • Shawna, I hate knowing the time I’m wasting too, but I just can’t help it. Midday and my eyes start dropping. I’ve tried cokes, teas, coffee–non of it wakes me up. it’s easier to just give in to the nap than fight it!

  3. I have never let myself take naps. I always end up feeling guilty. The one exception is in the winter when it is cold and snowy. Then I let myself enjoy taking a nice nap…

  4. I love napping, too, but never have time for it anymore. 😦 I’m a night owl, so I’m routinely up past (sometimes way past) midnight, and I have to get up at 6:30 during the week. On weekends/days off I could sleep until 10, sometimes even noon, if I stayed up until 2 and had 5 hours every night during the week (and when we don’t have early soccer games!)

    I *do* nap in the car on long drives (over 15 minutes) and when I’m in the parking lot at the park or school waiting for the kids. I can doze off in seconds.

    Jim and I often reminisce about the naps we took together in college. Never been able to replicate that comfort. 🙂

  5. Snowy day naps. Rainy day naps. Today the wind is pounding and I feel like curling up under a blanket and loving it. Unfortunately this is not the day for it — there’s dinner to fix and a last errand to run and instead of being pleasant nap background the wind will be an obstacle to push through.

    But I do like naps. If only there were more time to take them!

  6. I can’t nap, not at all… If I do try to take a nap, I always wake up with a pounding headache and I stay groggy the rest of the day… Oh and I get kinda b!tchy too lol

  7. Oh, I LOVE naps too! LOL I’m up at 5:00 a.m. every morning getting the girls out the door for school. High school starts at 7:15 around here. Then my son has to be at middle school at 8:55. CRAZY! So, anytime I can catch even a few minutes to recharge my battery, I’m all over it. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

