Romance Reunion Junkie by Darlene Gardner

Cynthia D’Alba here. I am thrilled to welcome Darlene Gardner to Everybody Needs A Little Romance. Darlene is a Harlequin Superromance Author, admittedly one of my favorite category lines. There’s more about Darlene at the bottom of the post as well as links to her website and purchase links for her latest book. Before I turn it over to our guest, don’t forget to sign up for the ENLR newsletter. So, take it away, Darlene…

I never judged a book by its cover when I first became a romance reader. The title didn’t matter much to me, either. I didn’t even care about the name of the author.

The single factor determining whether I bought a book was if the back-cover copy contained words like reunite, coming back and one-time love.

Yep. I was a reunion romance junkie. Still am. The affliction even extends to movies.

The first time I saw Casablanca, I was dying to know every detail of what happened between Ingrid Bergman and Humphrey Bogart in Paris.

A reunion movie doesn’t have to be classic for me to enjoy it, though. I rooted for Josh Lucas to win back estranged wife Reese Witherspoon in Sweet Home Alabama even though it meant she’d have to dump Patrick Dempsey. And so what if Olivia Newton-John was a good girl and John Travolta a bad boy in Grease? Those summer nights proved they were meant for each other.

I even liked Hope Floats, the movie where Sandra Bullock returns to Texas and Harry Connick, Jr. after finding out on a national TV talk show that her best friend and husband are having an affair. Critics roundly panned this movie. One called it “just horrible, horrible, horrible.”

Not to me. Something about getting another chance after loving and losing appeals to the romantic in me.  I looked over the plots of the 33 books I’ve written and discovered fully one third are reunion romances. That includes The Christmas Gift, my current release from Harlequin Superromance.

The Christmas Gift is about a woman who’s tricked by her motherinto coming home for the holidays for the first time in eight years. When her flights out of town are repeatedly cancelled because of record snowfall, she has to keep dealing with the man she left behind. Oh, yeah!

What is your favorite story theme? Another of mine, for example, is secrets. I’ll be giving away a book from my backlist to a random poster. If your thing is also reunion romance, feel free to recommend a movie I may have missed. 

Cynthia again…Great post, Darlene. Love Romance Reunions also. For those who many be unfamiliar with Darlene, she is the author of more than thirty books ranging from emotionally charged family dramas to romantic comedies. She’s currently writing for Harlequin Superromance and self publishing eBooks from her backlist.

Visit Darlene on the web at www.darlenegardner.com or Facebook or Twitter

To purchase THE CHRISTMAS GIFT, click on any of the links below

Amazon | Powell’s | Borders | Indiebound | B & N | Harlequin

 

11 Responses

  1. Hi, Darlene! Welcome to ENLR!

    I like reunion romances, though if I get a run of them I start thinking that’s way more than happens in real life. 🙂 But I can never get enough of best friend romances, which are a kind of variation on the reunion romance, and happens even less frequently, I think!

    Your book sounds great! I’ve enjoyed your books in the past, and will definitely have to get this one. 🙂

  2. Thanks to Cynthia for hosting me. And thanks for the welcome, Natalie. It hadn’t clicked when I wrote the blog that it would be running on Veterans Day. Now my brain’s buzzing with ideas for a romance reunion featuring a returning soldier! Hope everyone finds a way to honor our brave vets today.

  3. I love reunion romances. In fact, the next book on my personal production schedule will be a reunion.

    Having tried once and failed, couples who are reuniting have built in conflict, I think. They not only have to overcome who they are now, but who they were then, and have we changed and grown enough to make it work this time?

  4. As I noted in the post, I ADORE reunion stories. In fact, my debut book *cough* Texas Two Step *cough* is a reunion story. I like all that personal history trash that has to be dealt with before the couple can move on. Plus I like that the couple knows each other so well that when the HEA comes, I believe it will really happen. Sometimes I have trouble buying the “I love you” HEA endings when the couple has known each other for a week or less. But hey! that’s what fantasy is all about, right?

    The second thing is love in romance is Christmas-based stories. For Darlene is giving me a reunion story based at Christmas…OMG! WIN! Can’t wait to read this.

  5. Great point, Cynthia. A real challenge for a romance writer is to build what the reader will believe is a lasting romance between a man and woman who haven’t known each other long. It happens, sure. But not nearly as often as it does in romance novels!

    I love Christmas stories, too. The warm feeling surrounding the holiday lends itself perfectly to love.

  6. I love storylines about second chances and reunions. Usually if the reunion takes place after a couple of years. I like to see characters grow individually and appreciate one another all the more when the meet again. Judith McNaught is really good at telling a story around these themes.

  7. Looks like I’ll have to pick up a couple Judith McNaught books, Na. Hope everyone is out enjoying Veterans Day. I’m inside working on my WIP. And, no, this book doesn’t have a reunion romance in it. I need to mix it up a little.

  8. Welcome Darlene! I love love love reunion stories. this book sounds fun and a snowy winter book sounds fantastic!

  9. Thanks, Keri. The irony is I don’t like snow — except at Christmas!

  10. Little late to welcome you here, Darlene. I was out of town and it’s so hard to tap blog responses on my phone. I need room for my fingers!

    I have written two reunion stories. Correction – one reunion story. I’m in the middle of my second one. I find the emotion very rich in reunion stories and there’s a balance to writing them. Can’t spend too much time in the past, but can’t skim the important backstory. So though they seem easier, I don’t think they are 🙂

    Sound like another good Super 🙂

    Liz

  11. […] Romance Reunion Junkie by Darlene Gardner (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

