• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Welcome Guest Blogger – Lucianne Rivers and Contest

Thanks to Lucianne for stopping by and visiting with us.  I’m going to put her on the hot seat for a minute and ask her a couple of questions then I’ll turn it over to her.  Be sure and read to the bottom of this post for a contest to win all three of the Caldwell sister’s books in pdf format.

What type of books do you enjoy? Do you have a favorite author?

I love romantic suspense. Give me a law enforcement hero or heroine and
I’m hooked. Love Tami Hoag and Suzanne Brockmann.

What does romance mean to you?

Romance means making a woman feel as if she’s the only girl in the world

Thanks for humoring me, I’m going to turn it over to Lucianne now – enjoy!!

Remember, Remember the 5th of November…

Guy Fawkes Day is a-comin’. This little-known occasion, celebrated in Great Britain with the burning of bonfires, was used as a basis for the recent movie, “V for Vendetta,” and takes place on November 5. It commemorates the failed Gunpowder plot of 1605, in which Fawkes tried to blow up the English Parliament.

It’s also my parents’ wedding anniversary. They will have been married 35 years this November 5. And I by then, I will have been divorced almost 1 month. I look at my circle of six girlfriends, all close in age to me, and three of us have recently been through, or are going through, a divorce. We each have children.

And then there are my Irish Catholic parents who have handled my split admirably well. I can’t say I think they are “in love,” in fact, I know they aren’t. It’s more the “I’ve-made-my-bed-and-now-I’ll-lie-in-it” kind of marriage. And yet they are obviously doing something right since they will be commemorating thirty-five years together. But what about romantic love? After all, I write about it. I search for it. I believe it exists. And yet I have no evidence for this. I grew up without seeing it around me, struggled to recognize it in a series of non-starter relationships in my early twenties, thought I’d found it with my ex-husband and realized I hadn’t. Or rather, he hadn’t. And subsequently realized that…

I am baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddddddd at love.

There it is.

Maybe that’s why I write about it, because the real life version sucks.

It’s weird to be turning thirty, to have a child, a job, my own place to live, my own set of bills and circle of good friends, and yet to have no clue about what love really looks like, in reality. And yet, I search for it as if my life depends on it. I even tried the online dating thing for a while. Shudder.

Recently, I met someone “offline” and thought, maybe, here’s a good man who seems to like me too, perhaps this could work. Alas, turns out he was seeing his ex while he was seeing me. Another dud. Which leads me to ask…where are all the good men? And would I recognize one if he hit me in the face? So to speak.

Segue to my question for today. How do you spot a good man? I’m interested to read your responses. And I’ll be sure to contemplate them as the fifth rolls around and I think about my parents’ marriage and my failed attempts–not at blowing up Parliament–but at love.

Author bio: Lucianne writes romantic suspense for Entangled Publishing and Cobblestone Press. Born and raised in Ireland, she currently lives in New Mexico with her young daughter.

Formerly a stage and television actress, she now manages a non-profit and is NM State Champion in her weight class for Olympic style weightlifting. Long story.  Recently she has taken up Crossfit, Jiu Jitsu and boxing.

Now for a Blurb of Entice Me by Lucianne Rivers

Heartsick over the untimely death of her mother, Allison Caldwell is blindsided again by the secret revealed in her mom’s will. Her supposedly dead father is alive, and she and her two sisters must find him in order to settle the Caldwell estate.

Robert Rivera, private investigator and former Navy SEAL, alerts Allison to new intel identifying her father as a P.O.W. in Afghanistan. With her sisters out of the country pursuing leads, Allison insists on heading to the war-ravaged country to find him. Robert doesn’t want his naïve client to take the risk. He knows what danger lays in that godforsaken land…he’s lived through it. Barely.

But Allison is determined to go, and Robert can’t let her travel alone. Reluctantly appreciative, Allison quickly realizes how much she needs his guidance and protection, and how deeply she longs for his love. Robert struggles to understand her effect on his battle-weary heart.

The path to Allison’s father is blocked by terrorists, traps and treachery—all demons of Robert’s past. Can he survive a second round with the enemy and keep Allison out of harm’s way?

Title: Entice Me (Caldwell Sisters, #3)
Author: Lucianne Rivers
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Length: Novella
Launch Date: October 2011
ISBN: 978-1-937044-32-9

Buy links:

B & N

Amazon

Diesel

Don’t forget to pick up the first two books in the Caldwell Sisters series Currently available  Hold Me #1 and Thrill Me #2

You can contact Lucianne at:

Web: www.luciannerivers.com

Blog: www.viceandvalkyries.blogspot.com

**I have pdf copies of all three books in the Caldwell Sisters sisters up for grabs to one lucky commenter.  Just answer Lucianne’s question “How do you spot a good man?” and you will be entered into the drawing.  The contest will be open until Sunday night at midnight.  Winner will be announced on Monday.**

8 Responses

  1. I dont know the best way to answer that question. Sometimes I think it has everything to do with being in the right place at the right time with a good helping of sheer dumb luck. I met my husband at a bar, right after I decided I would be embrace my singleness. The rest is history. The crazy thing was, I frequented this bar regularly for the last 6 months and never saw him. My now husband worked there. I got lucky.
    Ask around, if you have friends/family who may have “someone they would like you to meet” you try it, if a guy has passed inspection by someone you trust, you would hope they are a good guy.
    Good luck!

  2. Good question! It can be hard to spot a good man. I’ve seen women make lots of mistakes like a church-going woman meeting a guy at a bar during a night out with the girls and then being surprised when they don’t share common life goals.

    However meeting the right guy can simply happen by being in the right place at the right time (that’s how I met my husband.)

    And what spells “good man” for me might be different that what that means for you!

  3. Thanks for sharing today Lucianne. Your series sounds great & I can’t wait to read it.

  4. By his demeanor. How he treats his loved ones, friends and people in general. I want a man who treats people the way he wants to be treated; friendly, open and compassionate. In this case action does speak louder than words.

  5. How he treats his friends and family and coworkers is the clearest way.

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  6. By how he treats people and animals. How long he has had if friends and a very big thing for me… How he treats the elderly!

    Emily T
    emilytardy@yahoo.com

  7. Sorry to be late to comment. I was out of town and hate trying to type long responses on my phone.

    I say the hardware store…for the most part guys willing to tackle projects, guys who know their way around tools, and guys who drive not so shiny trucks and aren’t afraid to get their un-wedding banded hands dirty are usually decent guys. Just hang out and look helpless, shoo away the guys who work there, and look for a guy in jeans, with flat abs and a nice smile.

    If he has a dog out in his truck, he gets bonus points. And if he opens the doors for little ol gray-headed ladies, then you better tackle him.

    LOL

    Just a thought….

    Liz

  8. I apologize, too. I’ve been at the soccer field all weekend long!

    I have a good guy. We just celebrated 19 years. Doesn’t mean we’ll make it to 35 (I don’t know if he can stand me that long), but we have a solid chance. My brother is a good guy, too, and so are my brothers-in-law. They’re out there! The problem is that they tend to get snapped up early. 😦

    Also, guys can be good at one point in their lives and later do things that make them bad guys. Some did bad things in their past but are good now. All we can do, I guess, is take the risk. The reward might be worth it.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

