Target of Betrayal – My New Release!

A little shameless promotion today for me. 🙂

Finally after months and months of edits and more edits, my newest release, Target of Betrayal is alive! I mean it is available now as an e-book on both Amazon and Barnes & Noble. LOL I’m working through a few tiny issues and hope to have the print copy available by the end of the month. 

To say I’m excited, exhausted and relieved is an understatement. This is the second book in the trilogy dealing with human trafficking.

Thanks for all the support and encouragement through these trying months! I appreciate you all so much!

Short Blurb

Kathleen Landon thought her life would finally get back to normal after the bizarre death of her husband. But a “chance” meeting with an old boyfriend throws her and her family on a dangerous and emotional journey full of secrets and betrayal. Her husband’s death wasn’t an accident, but an attempt to cover up a horrendous crime spree being operated by a traitor inside the FBI.

Now she and her children are running from a cold-blooded killer. Can she trust the U.S. Marshal sworn to protect them. Or is he using her as bait to capture her husband’s killer?

 

From the Inside Flap

Kathleen froze. Her entire front yard crawled with policemen like some kind of murder investigation scene. Void of nothing but the yellow tape and dead body. Oh, hell. At least she hoped the last part was true.

“Ma’am, can we come in?” She stared Marshal Thomas down as the nausea in her stomach gained strength.

“I-I remember you. But, what are you doing here? At my house?” She cringed at her pathetic response and cleared her throat. “You never identified yourself as a U.S. Marshal.” As her gaze dropped nervously from his stone cold brown eyes to his stern mouth, a jolt of electricity sparked through her veins. His lips were anything but cold. Generously sculpted, even stretched into a thin foreboding line, they’d never pass as cold. With a quick breath, she darted her attention back to his eyes.

“If you’ll let us in, we’ll explain.”

“This can’t possibly be standard procedure for a prowler,” she said, avoiding his request and waving a hand toward the commotion in her yard.

“No, ma’am. I’m afraid not.” With what could only be interpreted as a grunt, he reached into the breast pocket of his jacket and removed a black leather billfold, flipping it open to reveal his ID.

 Kathleen’s eyes adhered to the object in his hand like sticky tack on the wall. There in vivid color was a picture of the breathtaking man now standing in her doorway, along with a badge confirming his identity. She couldn’t inhale. Reality sank in for the first time in hours. Things were about to get worse. She felt the sting as if someone slapped her across the face.

Amazon  

Wishing all those NaNo’ers out there lots of luck!!! I’ve crashed and burned already. LOL So you guys get out there and Write, Write, Write!

 
9 Responses

  1. Awesome, Melissa. I love the premise. And, yeah, NaNo isn’t looking so good this year, but I’m still determined to make a good run from here on out. Even if I don’t make it I’ll have a lot more than I started with.

    Congrats on book 2!

  2. HooRay!

  3. SO HAPPY FOR YOU, MELISSA!!!

  4. Thanks, everyone! And Gwen, I like your take on NaNo!! Here’s to a good run from here on out! 😉

  5. Wow! Sounds good! Congrats on the release…always exciting to add another book over there <-

    Enjoy the day 🙂

  6. Congrats Melissa!! Love the book description and cover.

    and NaNo? nope. Not for me. It’s a sure set-up for failure.

  7. BIG CONGRATS Melissa!!!

    no nano for me either. I write ballstothewalls year round and use november as a clean up before the holidays!

    (wordpress is NOT letting me on the dashboard, but I’ll get your cover up when it does!)

  8. Congratulations on the release!

    For all of you lamenting not succeeding in your NaNo run…what matters is really that you tried! So congratulations on whatever you managed to get done. 🙂

  9. Congrats on your release. The cover is nice.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

