Something a Little Different.

Hi everyone! I hope your Tuesday before Thanksgiving is going well. : ) My house smells like graham cracker crust and pumpkin cheesecake so I’m happy.

Okay. I’m not a book reviewer by any stretch of the imagination, but like most writers, I love to read. And when I come across a really good book, I like to share. So I’m sharing with all of you!

To be honest, when I got a chance to review By the Pale Moonlight I was a little hesitant. While I do enjoy a good YA book, I don’t read them often. But nothing ventured, nothing gained, right? So I read the blurb and well, I ventured, and gained an absolutely enjoyable book!

By the Pale Moonlight draws you in from the first pages and doesn’t let go. The reader is immediately immersed in the world of a teenage girl, Mac. Mac is a typical teenager dealing with a boyfriend with overactive hands, cliques, school, parents and best friends. Only Mac’s best friend is Ty and things haven’t been going so smoothly lately. When Mac discovers a naked, and bleeding, Ty early one morning, her life turns upside-down.

Jennifer Hendren balances action, romance, mystery and suspense and wraps in firmly in a world we can understand and believe. The characters are well-developed and the plot is solid.

What I would have liked more in this book. I really wondered why Mac made some of the choices she did in regards to her friends. Why did she pick one group over the other when she really didn’t seem to fit in. I kept waiting on more backstory but never got it.

The thing I liked best about this book? The romance. With a light touch and just enough angst and butterflies, Hendren wove the romance within the story so well it appeared effortless.

The thing I liked least? The cliffhanger. If you’re looking for a happily ever after, you’re not going to get one. This book leaves you saying No! come on, there must be one more page! The good news? There is a next book and I’m definitely reading it.

So there it is. If you get a chance to read it, do so. You won’t regret it.

Now I’m looking for my next book to read. Do you have any suggestions? What is the last really good book you picked up?

11 Responses

  1. Interesting book…I actually like YA a good deal. Maybe because it’s a the beginning of life where the veil of innocence starts slipping, but everything is still so new and exciting. Just a pivotal, emotional time in life so it makes for good reading.

    I picked up Hush, Hush at Sam’s a few weeks back and found it gripping. Haven’t read the follow up, but I’ll probably find it when I have time.

    I’ve found more and more, I’ve stopped judging by genre and started looking for good writing no matter what the genre. I find a lot of fresh, exciting voices in YA.

    • Hi Liz,

      I find myself doing that more and more. Some reviewers have classified Altered Destiny as YA, and I guess it does have that flavor at times but the heroine is over 20 so…

      Time is a factor for me too but my husband has been telling me to rest more often and the weather is perfect for cuddling up with my Sony so buying books seems the next logical thing, no? : )

  2. I don’t read much YA but when I do, I love to find one that captures the feelings and views of a real teenager. This sounds great.

    I am reading Christina Dodd’s Revenge at Bella Terra. So far, it’s been good.

    On Friday, I’ll be reviewing the first book released by Montlake, The Other Guy’s Bride, by Connie Brockway. Not your usual historical romance.

    • Hi Cynthia.

      You’re right! YA needs authenticity and that’s not an easy feat! Another YA book I just read and loved is Myra McEntire’s Hourglass.

      I also wanted to say that this site has some awesome reviewers who post faithfully on Saturdays. Their reviews are much better than mine.

      • Oh, I’ll have to check that one out. I’ve been on a bit of a reading hiatus, but I’m plowing through them now. Always looking for good suggestions. ๐Ÿ™‚ I just picked up a few, including Raini Taylor’s DAUGHTER OF SMOKE AND BONE and Tahereh Mafi’s SHATTER ME. I’ve heard both are really excellent. Here’s hoping. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Monica McCarty’s The Viper. it’s part of her Highland Guard series and I love the balance of romance with historic events that she wraps up in a fiction novel. I’m just blown away by the research she must do.

  4. Thanks so much for the review, Shawna! So glad you enjoyed it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Liz,

    I totally agree. What I love about YA is that everything is just so immediate. There’s more drama packed into a week of a teenager’s life than I hope to ever have as an adult. (g) Great fodder for storytelling.

    Jen

  6. Cynthia,

    YES! I find a lot of YA characters tend to start sounding like thirty-somethings trapped in the lives of a 16 year-old. It’s a bit off-putting, and doesn’t make for the most authentic characters. It’s a fine line as adults–trying to capture the voice of someone half *cough* your age. Probably why I’m addicted to reality TV. LOL.

    Jen

  7. After a really intense work week (the reason I’m just commenting *now*โ€”sorry!), I spent most of yesterday reading Trinity Faegan’s The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax. A really excellent upper YA.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

