Stuffed and Thankful

Our $10 Amazon Gift Card Winner:  Susan Muller

 

First, a big “Thank You” to Keri for stepping in for me last week. If my internet isn’t fixed right this time around, you might just be seeing me on the news and it won’t be for making the New York Best Sellers list either. LOL On to happier things. 🙂

Oh, my. Can you say stuffed? LOL It’s almost four days after Thanksgiving and I’m still walking around wishing I’d not eaten that last piece of apple pie, or maybe it was the banana bread, or the second trip back to the table for the sweet potato pie. I bet I don’t have to tell you I have somewhat of a sweet tooth. 🙂  I like the Thanksgiving hams and the turkey is okay if it’s covered in gravy, but the desserts… Yep, that’s my favorite part of the entire meal. This year, I made it a point to get my mother-in-law’s recipe for her sweet potato pie. Just have to share!

Sweet Potato Pie (My mouth is watering!)

3 cups mashed sweet potato
½ Stick butter
1 cup canned milk
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
½ tsp nutmeg, cinnamon, and vanilla

Combine above ingredients and put in pan.  Bake at 425 degrees for 25 minutes. Prepare topping below while waiting.

Topping:

¾ margarine melted
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup pecans
1 ½ cup crunched up corn flakes

After 25 minutes, add topping and cook another 15 minutes.

2011 has been one heck of a year for me. A fast one at that. Seems like we were just celebrating the New Year yesterday, right? But as I looked back this Thanksgiving, it was easy to see how much I have to be thankful for. Lots of great memories with family and friends this year and more than my fair share of life’s unpredictable speed bumps along the way. 

 Funny how quickly we can forget those special or trying moments as we rush around trying to get everything done in the short span of a day. I guess this is the real reason I enjoy Thanksgiving so much. It’s always been a time for me to slow down a bit, take in the scenery, eat a lot more than I ever should and reflect on my life and the goals I set out to accomplish back in January. Some I get to check off my list (YEAH!) and others I will carry forward or change up a bit for the upcoming year. This slowing down also helps me see how much I’ve grown and improved in all areas of my life.

 All in all, I can honestly say, “It’s all good.”

 Now it’s time to switch gears again and get busy decorating for Christmas. Love the lights in the yard, the flickering Christmas trees, the songs and the awesome feeling of kindness  and compassion the season seems to bring with it.

Hope everyone had a Wonderful Thanksgiving! Do you have a favorite dessert or dish you’d like to share? A special memory or tradition? Please share. I’ll even throw in a $10 Amazon gift card to one lucky commenter.  🙂

26 Responses

  1. The Pumpkin Pie was my weakness this year! Nothing fancy, just pumpkin like my grandmother used to make….:)

  2. That sweet potato pie sounds amazing, Melissa! It was just the four of us this year, so my husband made an apple tort, but apple pie has always been my favorite.

    I could never understand why the adults didn’t want to dig into dessert immediately after dinner and it used to drive me nuts to have to wait. Now I get it. 😉

    • I know exactly what you mean about the waiting, Gwen! LOL Now it’s a totally different story. Please, can we wait just a few more minutes…. LOL

      We had at least 30 people at my mother-in-law’s. Talk about chaotic! And you better get all you want the first time around, because there are no promises it’ll be there for seconds. 🙂

      Memories of my grandmother’s apple pie will be forever engraved in my brain. Best ever! I’ve tried her recipe and it never turns out the same. Why is that? LOL

  3. Thanks for the recipe, Melissa!
    I made Cream Cheese Pecan Cookies this year for the first time…they were a huge hit…Here is the recipe…

    INGREDIENTS
    • 4 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
    • 2 cups (4 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
    • 6 ounces cream cheese (not whipped), room temperature
    • 1 1/4 cups sugar
    • 2 tablespoons vanilla extract
    • 3 cups pecans

    METHOD

    1 Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Coarsely chop 1 1/2 cups of the pecans and spread them on a cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes or until the nuts are fragrant. Set aside to cool.

    2 Whisk together the flour and salt in a large bowl.

    3 Beat together the butter and cream cheese in an electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add the sugar and vanilla and beat for another minute. Reduce the mixer speed to low and beat in the flour and salt until just combined. Do not overmix. Fold in the toasted pecans.

    4 Oven still on 350ºF. Finely chop the remaining 1 1/2 cups of pecans. Roll a walnut size piece of dough, then flatten on the cookie sheet. Space 1-inch apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper or silicone mats (I didn’t do this and mine came out fine right on the cookie sheet).

    6 Bake cookies for 15 minutes or until the edges are a lightly golden. Rotate the cookies halfway through to ensure even baking. Let cool on the sheets for a minute or two before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely. Repeat with remaining cookie dough.

  4. Whoa. You got me with that topping. Definitely have to give this a try.

  5. new special memory…that happened today! mom gave me dressing leftovers. last night I hacked into the frozen container,warmed me up some and gobbled it down. Today I opened the now thawed container and thought, “hm. that dressing doesn’t looked cooked.it’s all jell-o’y looking.” mom confirms, nope not cooked.

    And this explains why my stomach has been most pissed off with me today.

    So 2011….the year my mother gave me food poisioning. or samonella from raw eggs in the dressing. take your pick. *eats more yogurt*

  6. We always have a non traditional dessert and this year my cousin bought a box of Betty Crocker Molten Chocolate Lava Cake. It was very delicious.

  7. My sweet potatoes are very close to yours, just a couple of spices and some corn flakes difference!

    Number One is VERY into our traditions. Change one little thing, and she goes from Anti-Teenager to Typical Teenager in 0.4 seconds. LOL

  8. You got me giggling, Natalie! Funny how the tiniest of things can transform a teenager right before your eyes. My oldest is very against change as well. Wonder if it’s a common trait with first born. LOL

  9. I feel like I’ve gained five pounds just READING this thing…:) Holy cow, it all sounds delicious!

    After this Thanksgiving, I’ve come to appreciate Jay Leno’s joke: “You know you’ve gone too far when you have to let your bathrobe out.”

    Let’s just say, I am *NOT* amused by it anymore….

  10. We had Christmas with my daughter’s family, complete with tree and stockings, on October 30th, then had Halloween the next day. I was eating leftover turkey while answering the door. Now I’ve had Thanksgiving for my son and his family, his mother-in-law and her new boyfriend, and his son’s girlfriend.

    Not sure I can face Christmas number two. I’m so confused I don’t know what day it is, much less which holiday. But that’s not unusual for me. LOL

  11. I make this recipe for New Year’s Day….for good luck.

    Southern Black-Eyed Peas

    Ingredients:

    1 1-pound pkg dried black-eyed peas
    2 quarts water
    1 onion, chopped
    ¼ green pepper, chopped
    1 rib celery, chopped
    Ham bone, piece of salt pork or several slices of bacon
    Salt and pepper to taste

    Directions:

    Wash the peas; soak overnight or at least 5-6 hours.

    Pour off soaking water; put peas into a large sauce pan with at least 2 quarts water. Add remaining ingredients. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

    Cook about 2 hours or until peas are tender and mash easily. Add water as needed while cooking.

    Serve with fresh cooked rice and cornbread.

  12. We didn’t have a ton of people but we still had plenty of food. I think we had 5 different pies (lemon icebox, custard, pecan, chocolate & pumpkin) with both ham and turkey.

    I always have to make my grandmother’s chocolate pie for all of our family get togethers.

    As far as eating dessert – I brought my piece of pecan pie home with me and didn’t eat it until much later Thanksgiving night.

  13. Yeah! We have a WINNER! (thanks to Random.org)

    **Susan Muller**

    Please contact me at mdohnoutka@yahoo.com and I’ll send your $10 Amazon gift card! 🙂

  14. Sharing my favorite dressing recipe. Not to be stuffed in the bird, but baked as a side dish. I hope you get a chance to try it.
    June/J.D.

    J.D.’s Cranberry-Orange Pecan Dressing

    2 bags Pepperidge Farm corn bread stuffing mix
    1-1/2 cups frozen cranberries
    1 cup coarsely chopped pecans
    1 cup chopped celery
    Zest of one orange
    2 cans Campbell’s low-fat chicken broth
    1 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
    1/2 tsp. nutmeg
    1/4 tsp cloves

    Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together the stuffing mix, frozen cranberries, pecans, chopped celery and orange zest. Sprinkle with nutmeg and cloves. Stir together the orange juice and chicken broth. Add the liquids to the stuffing mixture. Toss lightly. This should be moist but not soggy. I bake this in the oven for 45 minutes to 1 hour. It has a wonderful aroma and has an unexpected crunch. The orange and cranberry flavors cause a lot of comments…Not your grandmother’s stuffing.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

