Are They Really Listening?

The best part of being a parent is seeing your kids grow into wonderful kind adults. Just when you think they aren’t listening to you or think what you have to say is so lame, they turn around and do something that makes you so proud you stop and think, “Who are you and what have you done with my child?” LOL

My son is the youngest of three. He’s got two teenage sisters in high school and I can only imagine how hard that must be for him. Poor thing can’t even go to the bathroom upstairs without running into some kind of undergarment he would really rather avoid at this age(thankfully), or a counter full of makeup, hair brushes, curling irons, etc. Sometimes l really feel bad for him. Then I think, you know what? He’s going to make some lucky girl out there a really great husband. He’ll be so in tune to all this girly stuff. Well, either that, or he’ll want no part of it at all and run like his pants are on fire. LOL

Sorry about the slight detour there. Back to the proud part. 🙂  My son participated in his first drama tournament on Saturday. He’s quite the little ham. Always has been. So I was not surprised that he finaled and was up for an award. But not only did he win second place for an individual performance, but first place for a group performance and he took home the spirit award for his school to boot. He walked away holding three trophies and grinning from ear to ear. Talk about surprised and excited. I wish I had a picture of his expression to share with you. It was priceless!

Could it be that he really doesn’t know what a great performer he is?  That all this time I’ve thought he was acting and goofing off just to get attention wasn’t really an act?  Nay… If this were true, we’d be getting a visit from the men in the white coats carrying a straight jacket in size 12 year old. LOL

I guess I don’t have to tell you that walking out of the school, I was beaming as well. Thought there was no way I could ever be prouder of my little man. And then it happened. There was a young girl standing outside waiting for her parents to pick her up. By her uniform, I could tell she was from another school and she held a trophy as well. One for a first place win.

My son saw her. Stopped and said, “You did an awesome job in there. I mean, you were really, really good. Congratulations.” You could tell by the look on her face this made her day. He then preceded to tell me that this was the girl who beat him in his individual division.  My mouth dropped.  My son was a good sport. After all those battles over the card games and Wii games he’s lost to his sisters, the good sportsmanship came out when it counted most. I had tears in my eyes. I know, go ahead and say it. It won’t be the first time someone told me I was way too sappy.

Thank goodness for times like these. Proof that if you say it enough, keep enforcing the positives no matter how loud they scream or complain or how many times you get the dreaded eye roll, your kids really will learn how to survive in the real world and be a good outstanding part of society. Of course, tomorrow will come and he’ll be back to fighting with his sisters because one of them ran over him and stole his car in Kirby Air Ride. But for now, I’m enjoying this moment for all it’s worth.

Have your kids surprised you by doing something you’d swear they’d never heard you say even though you’ve all but pounded it into their thick skulls a million times? 🙂  I have to say, I’m on pins and needles waiting for this special moment to happen again! LOL

16 Responses

  1. Congratulations to Matthew for his win! You can also now tell him he’s won the Classy Guy Award for 2011! (It’s new, and rarely awarded, so there you go….)

  2. Thanks, Will! I’ll tell him. 🙂 I thought he looked pretty darn handsome! And way too old! LOL

  3. Very impressive, Melissa. Exactly the kind of kid I want for my 12-year-old (when they’re much older, of course!). 🙂

  4. Congratulations to ‘your son’!!! But guess what, congratulations to Mom and Dad too. All the points you mention are a tribute to the great job y’all are doing.

    It’s exciting to see our kids grow and mature into little adults. Oh how encouraging it is to see them react and respond the way we hope them to. In my case, I hope they continue to impress but I’m ready to help when they don’t. 😦 It’s like driving a car, you gotta watch the other drivers that might dent your car.

    Happy Holidays Melissa!!! Thanks for the up lifting story.

    btw – great profile photo

    • Thanks, Terri! And you are so right. All we can do is steer them in the right direction and hope all the bad stuff bounces off. I know there will be those little pings and dents along the way, but hopefully our kids will be left much smarter and stronger.

      Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas and Joyous New Year! 🙂

  5. Love the new photo!

    What a great story about your son. Classy act on his part, especially at 12. From what I remember about 12y/o boys (and I have to go back a long way to that age!) most of them were awkward and stupid around girls. Sounds like the older sisters are doing a good socialization on him.

    • Thanks, Cyndi. 🙂 As I said, I was shocked. LOL And you’re memory of 12 year old boys is spot on. I do believe having the two older sisters has given my son an advantage of some sort. Just not sure if it’s a good thing at this point. LOL

  6. Congrats to your son! and very awesome attitude.

    hmm, mine is still young, but if some punk kid hits another kid at school, son will tell me the bully is a “baby for hitting” 😀 if he tells the kid that at school, no idea.

    • Thanks, Keri! Sounds like your little one is starting out on the right track early. It’s amazing to watch those precious little babies we loved and held tight at night grow into little people. LOL I have mixed emotions. Love it one minute and then wish I could turn back time the next.

  7. That’s awesome, Melissa! Congrats to both of you.

    I love when my boys surprise me. I feel like we’re always harping on responsibility and manners at home, so I’m amazed and gratified to hear that when they’re not at home those lessons come out.

    My husband loves to tell the story about picking up our youngest from a laser tag birthday party. The poor, harried employee in charge of the party room actually pulled my husband aside to compliment him on our son’s behavior. Apparently, he was polite and he listened, and I’m guessing the other kids weren’t so easy, since Taz made enough of an impression for the guy to mention it.

  8. I know how proud you are, Missy. Your son seems to be reflecting values you and your husband instilled in him. Matthew is such a handsome guy.
    I raised a youngest son and experienced many heart-warming moments when he said or did something amazingly wise or kind. As an adult, he packed up his truck and moved to New York to be with his love. During the first few years of their marriage, his bride called me periodically to thank me for raising him to be a good man. That made me especially proud.
    *hugs*
    ~J.D.

  9. Congrats to you and your son. What an awesome thing he did, that just shows that he had good guidance from ya’ll.

    It’s hard to think of stuff my daughter has done but at 23 I see her doing the same things i have said or taught her.

  10. How utterly fantastic for Matthew!!!! And what a gentleman!

    I remember some talks about our kids…over here for crit group…I knew he’d be a great kid! How could he not be…look at his mom!

  11. Wonderful post! I love hearing how he surprised you 🙂

    I can’t think off the top of my head something like that, but I will say my 12 year old surprises me with how resiliant he is. He’s got such a good attitude about himself, and it’s really helped him survive middle school up until this point. He’s got some kids that are not so nice to him that give him a rough go of it sometimes, but he seems to handle it well, with a mature outlook. I’m always proud to see him handle himself with class.

  12. Congratulations to you and your son! Yes, I agree that this is the upside of all the hassle of parenting — when you finally realize that they got the message. (At least part of the time!)

    Love those moments!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

