• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Cover Quotes – Hot Air or Hot Sales?

I’ve been thinking about cover quotes lately. I’m wondering if they have any impact on readers’ buying habit. I just don’t know. What I do know is that I’ve gotten three cover quotes for Texas Two Step.

Best Selling Author Delilah Devlin – Luscious, romantic and sensual, D’Alba’s debut gives readers everything they could want in a passionate contemporary romance.

NYT Best Selling Author Vicki Lewis Thompson – If you like your cowboys hot and your stories with a generous dose of heart, read Cyndi D’Alba.  I’m a fan!

Best Selling Author Sylvia Day – Sultry, smart, and deeply emotional, a story by Cynthia D’Alba is not to be missed

Since we’re all readers here, I thought I’d ask you… Do you read cover quotes? Have you ever read a cover quote that made you buy the book? Do you have any cover quotes for your books you want to share?

Coming 2.28.12 from Samhain Publishing

Now available for pre-ordering from Amazon or add to you Samhain Wish List

Don’t forget to sign up for the Everybody Needs A Little Romance Newsletter

14 Responses

  1. If I see a cover quote from an author that I love praising a book, I am more inclined to buy it… =D

  2. Gotta say, nope. They don’t influence my purchasing decisions at all; honestly, I don’t even really pay attention to them. (Actually, I feel the same way about awards listed on a cover, but I know; I’m weird).

    • Awards do influence my buying, especially the RITA (from RWA). I have found a couple of new authors from checking out the RITA winners. Plus one year I would have skipped Teresa Medeiros’s historical about a guy who was going blind because I didn’t like the book description. However, after it won the RITA, I picked it up. It was wonderful! The book blurb did not do the book justice.

      I’m more incline to be influence by an author quote than a reviewer’s quote. But that’s just me.

      Thanks for coming by and leaving me a message

  3. Yes and no. I definitely look to see WHO made the quote, assuming if it’s an author I like, we may have similar tastes in books.

  4. Great quotes, Cyndi! I’m like Emily. If I see a quote from an author I already like, that usually tells me the book is in the right subgenre, and I’ll probably enjoy it if I like the quote writer’s books.

    It’s more of an influence if I’m not familiar with the author, but I don’t put huge stock in it. I also use quotes in reverse to find other authors in a subgenre I like. So if I like your book, I might go read Vicki’s.

  5. I usually only notice the quote *after* I’ve bought the book. and I see them even less on ebooks because of the covers. that doesn’t mean I don’t want them or don’t support them, but they just don’t work for me…on the book cover. However, I’ve often seen an author on twitter talking about a book they’re reading to give a quote and THAT sparks my interest to look closer at the book.

  6. My usual caveat: I’m not a typical reader because I’m an author. 🙂 But I’d have given the same answer even before I started writing, though maybe for different reasons.

    I know what I like. A review or award might draw my attention to a book, as might someone talking about a book on Twitter or Facebook or casually in my hearing. But I only buy it because it’s a premise that interests me, never because someone else said I should.

  7. I’m probably similar to Keri and Natalie. I don’t usually use those as an indicator at all, especially now that I am an author. Mostly because I know the way things work. But I would never turn a cover quote down from a good author who likes my writing. But, honestly, never meant much to me when I was a reader…but it’s gotta be working for someone 🙂

    Those are some really nice quotes. Congrats on scoring them 🙂

    Jeez, I sound all wishy-washy in this response. Sorry.

  8. I do read them. If a well-known author is willing to put his/her name out there to recommend, I think I’m unconsciously swayed to buy. It gives some credence to an unknown author.

  9. Great quotes, Cyndi! 🙂 I guess I fall into the category with those who notice after I buy the book. It’s the back blurb and first few pages that determine if I buy or not. But heck, it certainly won’t hurt to add them if you’ve got them though.

  10. I’m with Emily. If I see a cover quote from an author I respect, I’m more likely to buy the book. I don’t think that author would damage his or her reputation by recommending a substandard book.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

