• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Need A Christmas Gift Idea?

Let me be completely honest here.  When November 19th rolls around everything in my household stops.  Everything except for Thanksgiving and Christmas.  Okay, laundry and dirty dishes keep going, but I think that’s a given.  It seems that I haven’t read anything since mid-November, but I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had time to miss it.

How many of you are still buying Christmas gifts?

I am!  It is killing me to still be buying Christmas gifts this close to Christmas.  I am typically one of those really annoying people that have all of their Christmas presents bought, wrapped and under the tree the weekend after Thanksgiving.  Then, to make myself more annoying to everyone else, I would even have my Christmas cards sent by the first week of December.

This year, I was diagnosed with breast cancer in April (Happy Birthday to me!), and it seems like nothing has been the same.  Meaning, I am still buying gifts, my tree isn’t up, and my cards haven’t even been ordered.

I have been scrambling for ideas for gifts, and I don’t want you to be scrambling too.  Here are a few ideas for you to give your loved ones for Christmas.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

You might have noticed that this book has already been made into a movie, and the movie was a huge hit.  I typically, try to read books before I watch the movie based on them.  It was a great book, and a great movie!  Believe it or not, the book and the movie are so good that they can stand alone.  What I mean by that is that you can read the book, never see the movie and will be thrilled.  Or, you can see the movie, never read the book and still like the movie.  But, let’s face it, the book will have more in it.  I liked them both, and I highly recommend both of them!

 

Heaven is for Real by Colton Burpo

This book is a MUST READ!  We bought this book for our 95-year-old Grandmother, and she bought four more copies to loan out.  She loved this book so much she is now anxious to go to Heaven.

 

 

 

The Christian Atheist by Craig Groeschel

This is another MUST READ!

This is a great book for everyone!! Especially church-going friends and family.  I only say that because we are all just regular people, even preachers, pastors, and Bible-thumpers.  Gasp!  Did I really just type that?  Yep, I did.

I know that I try to be the best Christian that I can be, but I am not perfect and I fail and sin just like everyone else.  This book was a great reminder for me.  It is a fast read, but it really makes you sit back and look at the way you walk through life.  If you don’t get it for someone else, get it for yourself!  I promise you will get something out of it.

The Last Child by John Hart

This is the book that got my husband back into reading again.  It was fun for me to watch him carrying my nook around reading non-stop until he finished this book.  In my mind, that is the best thing I could say about this book.  It is a fast read that grabs your attention fast, and doesn’t loosen it’s grip until the very last page.

If you like trying to solve the mysteries as you read, this one might just surprise you!  I challenge you to figure this one out!

 

One more…

The Host by Stephenie Meyer

This book was recommended to me by a friend, and I try to read the books that my friends recommend.  I kept putting this one off because it just didn’t sound like my kind of book.  It sounded like a science-fiction book, and I am not usually a big sci-fi fan.  Let me just tell you, it is not a sci-fi book.  Or maybe I should say, it isn’t your typical sci-fi book.

By the second chapter I was hooked.

I will say it is more of a chick book, unless you know a guy that likes to read about relationships.  My husband said it sounded like a romance, but it really wasn’t.

The host is the human that is hosting basically an alien form in their body.  The main character, or host, happens to like her alien.  It is really a great book!

These are only a few of the books I liked this year.  Most of the others I have done more recent reviews on, but I wanted to bring these titles back up to kind of give ideas for some great Christmas gifts!

Books really are the best gifts!!

Another really good gift is an eReader.  A nook.  A kindle.  Or even an iPad.  At one time, I told a dear friend of mine that I would never own an eReader because I have to have the book in my hands.  That is still true for some books, but I now own an eReader (nook), and I love it!  I no longer have to carry 3 or 4 books with me when I go on trips.  I no longer have to spend twice as much for books in an airport bookstore, because I can download them on the go.  My husband is even hooked on it!

Lesson to learn – Never say Never! 🙂

Hope everyone has a wonderful Christmas!!

5 Responses

  1. I’m your opposite, Julie! I haven’t bought a single gift yet, we just got our tree yesterday and will decorate tonight, and this year I’m not doing cards. I just don’t have time! But it’s always done with a minimum of stress. I love the holidays, but I don’t want them to last a month, you know?

    Thanks for the recommendations! And I hope your battle with breast cancer has gone well and you’re healthy right now.

  2. This year I bought the following books for my kids:
    Naomi (15) – Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool
    Joshua (17) – The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay
    Jordan (19) – The Help
    Caleb (21) – The Power of One
    Ashley (Caleb’s fiancee, 20) – Keys to the Kingdom by Alison Armstrong and maybe also The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards
    I also have several good used books in very good condition that I may be giving them. I don’t remember what all I bought, but I know I have East of Eden (which would be good for Josh–Caleb already has it) and the works of Edgar Allen Poe (which Caleb or Jo or Josh would like).
    I love giving books!
    And I will tell you a secret. I opened a package that someone had delivered to our house that is supposed to be a gift for me and someone else was supposed to intercept. It’s something you mentioned, and I will really love it, but I feel very, very guilty about spoiling the surprise.

  3. BTW, I didn’t know I was opening my own present! I thought it was something I had ordered for someone else.

  4. Julie: I hope you’re on a road to full recovery! I’m like Natalie–do you guys get tired of hearing that?–haven’t started shopping yet, my holiday cards are always New Year’s cards, and we just finished decorating the travel tree this weekend.

    Thanks for the gift ideas!

  5. Those are some great recommendations. We just put up the tree last night and today I’m going to wrap the few presents we bought. Also planning to go shopping for husband today while he’s at work. I already feel so far behind. I’m like you, I like to have everything done so I can relax and bake cookies for the two weeks before Christmas. My husband and I decided to buy one large gift to each other this year instead of individual gifts. We got a Jack Lalaine (sp?) juicer. He nixed my idea of wrapping it and has used it every day since it landed on our doorstep. I bought cards this year, but…. who knows. LIke Gwen, they might end up New Year’s cards. ; )

Show us some love and leave a comment!

