• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Pen Pickiness

Last week, Gwen posted about office supplies, and we had a nice group session for all us of addicts.

That make me think of my issues with pens, and I wondered if anyone shares my pickiness. Here are my general criteria for a good pen:

1. Not too fat.

2. Not too skinny.

3. No squishy holders or bulky holding sections, even if the pen itself isn’t fat.

4. Blue ink preferred, though I do use black too often because it’s more common.

Above all, though, the pen has to write smoothly. I mean glide. I HATE draggy pens. I’ll toss them aside, hand them over to someone else (sometimes sneakily), or even throw them away.

Over the years I’ve had a few nice pens that wrote well. There are two kinds I’m currently full-on in love with. One is called the Javelin Pen. (Feel free to click the link and order pens, if you’re in the market, so he doesn’t get mad that I used his picture.)

Note: I have no connection to Javelin and have not been enticed to say all this. I just love these pens. How much? So much that I tried to steal one and got caught.

A few of the banks around here use these promotionally, and I first came across them in restaurants. After reveling in the glide of my signature a few times, I finally grabbed one. We had a big group and they’d brought multiple pens to us. And it wasn’t like they’d paid for it, because it was promotional from Graystone Bank. So I didn’t feel guilty. Much.

But when I tried it again at Chili’s recently, the server came back to get the check and asked for the pen because it was the only one he had. So I guess I’d better go to Graystone or Huntingdon bank and pretend I want an account there so I can get some.

The other pens I love are Office Max-branded gel pens. Our retreat chair passed them out as part of the welcome packet last year. I went to buy some more, and was pretty bummed because the only way I could get blue ones was to buy a box of 10, with two blues, two reds, and six blacks. That was over a year ago, and my blues ran out first, of course. I won’t let myself buy more until all the blacks run out, too.

So how about all of you? Pen fanatics like me? What are your favorites? *gets ready to take notes*

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FYI, since I last posted, my newest book was released!

Goddesses Rising Book 1Under the Moon
Entangled Publishing | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

Their power gives them strength…and makes them targets.

Quinn Caldwell is the epitome of a modern goddess. Her power source is the moon, her abilities restricted only by physical resources and lunar phase. She runs a consulting business and her father’s bar, serves on the board of the ancient Society for Goddess Education and Defense, and yearns for Nick Jarrett, professional goddess protector and the soul mate she can never have.

But someone has developed the rare and difficult ability to drain a goddess of her powers, and Quinn is a target. With the world thinking Nick has gone rogue (whatever that means) and that Quinn is influenced by “family ties” she didn’t know she had, keeping themselves safe while working to find the enemy proves harder each day.

But not as hard as denying their hearts…

21 Responses

  1. Oh hell yeah. I HATE skippy pens, cheap pens, etc. Lately, I’ve fallen in love with the Sharpie Retractable Ultrafine pen (http://www.staples.com/Sharpie-Retractable-Ultra-Fine-Point-Permanent-Markers-Black-Dozen/product_710856?cid=PS:SBD:GS:E:N:PLA:71000000000227334:58000000007550079:710856)

    My other favorite pen is the one Delilah Devlin gives out (her promo pen.) I have idea what kind it is or where she gets them, but they write every time and write very smoothly.

    What I CAN’T use are pencils. I just don’t like to write with them. Even when I do a crossword puzzle I use ink.

    As far as color, I’m not a fan of green ink. Otherwise, I’m flexible. 🙂

  2. Guess I’ll be odd woman out. I don’t really think about it. My life is such that it’s even good if I can find a pen around this house. They’re like socks – missing.

    I do appreciate a good-writing pen, but I don’t intentionally set out to find them.

    • I didn’t care about them as much when my kids were younger, either. One of the luxuries of them getting older and needing me less! LOL

      I rarely set out to find them, either, it’s more a snatch-and-hoard when I find something good.

  3. Yep, smooth writing–when I bother to actually write by hand–is a must! I’m pretty fond of the BIC Ultra Round Stic (no I didn’t memorize the name, I had to look in my handy pen bucket full of mostly crap to get that). Nothing fancy and they glide nicely. Did I mention I’m also cheap? 😉

    And, Cyndi, I’m with you on pencils. As soon as I hit high school and the teachers let us work in pen, I never went back.

  4. BTW, congrats on your new release!!! Why is it not yet in the sidebar?? 🙂 Very exciting.

  5. Yes! Congratulations on your new release! 🙂 And I’m still searching for the perfect pen. LOL Smooth is a must, and I think the fatter pens work best for me. Honestly, I hate my handwriting. I’ll be checking these out!

    • Thanks!

      You know, I’ve noticed that with certain pens, my handwriting is significantly better. I have yet to figure out why, but it’s probably some un-duplicable combination of size, shape, ink, and writing surface (both paper and desk or whatever).

  6. Right now I’m using a Pilot Dr Grip and it’s pretty great, but I don’t tend to seek out any one kind of pen over another. I’m notorious for stealing pens – if I like how it writes and how it feels in my hand, I’m going to walk away with it. When we first started dating, this horrified my boyfriend, but now he’ll bring home pens he thinks I might like. True love, people! 🙂

  7. Congratulations on your new release! I like smooth pens too, but I’ve learned not to be too picky because my favorite pens are always disappearing. I do have one that I keep locked away for special occasions, like signing contracts. ; )

  8. Hah. This made me think of working at the insurance agency and the year all of our promo pens went horribly wrong. First there were the classy, heavy metal ballpoints we got for our best customers that were oh so pretty but hadn’t quite been put together right, so sometimes when you clicked them the whole front half would shoot across the room. Good springs in those puppies.

    Then there were the Pacific Source gel pens that spewed black ink out the end if you took them above three thousand feet. Like in the pocket of your best white business shirt. On an airplane. Eep.

  9. my mom keeps these black pens around. they’re her favorite. I hate them. they feel scratchy against the paper. *shudder*

    my honest to goodness favorite pens are those blue Bics. they’re like 1.50 for 10pens? Those. love them. smooth, clean, rarely smear.

    I do like pencils too, but it has to be mechanical. I hate a wooden pencil *grindgrindgrindgrind* at the pencil sharpner? no thank you.

    • Like I said to Gwen, I like the smoothness of those Bics, too, and the color. But too skinny, so I tend to avoid them, even subconsciously.

      I HATE mechanical pencils. They’re too hard. I like the feel of the barrel of nice wooden pencil, and the smooth darkness of #2 lead. Almost makes me wish I had more use for pencil writing!

  10. And congrats on your new release!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

