• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Rocking Around the TV

Ah, Christmas is near and getting closer and closer in that rearview mirror everyday. Yeah, it’s about to catch us and tackle us to the ground with blinding blinky lights and tangles of tinsel. Some go willingly into that good Christmas night. Others drag their feet and stick their head in the proverbial snow bank (which so doesn’t exist in Louisiana)

But no matter, the holiday season is upon us.

And one of my favorite holiday traditions involves watching Christmas movies. Tonight I’ve been watching a movie I thought I’d seen before, but turns out I’ve not even watched a part of  – White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye. It’s silly and hokey with lots of dancing, but there’s something about the snow (or lack of it) in Vermont with glitzy dance numbers and chaste kisses that makes you reach for hot chocolate in a vintage mug. I have to say, I couldn’t turn the channel.

Another favorite around the house is Home Alone. Nothing like watching bad parenting to make me feel better about myself. Yeah, normally I’m les encompetent but those parents make me look like mother of the year. Plus, I love the Little Nero pizza scenes and I still feel Kevin’s fear of sleeping with Fuller after he drank all that Pepsi. And the Talley’s favorite line to use when something spills – “Look what you did, you little jerk.”

Another favorite is A Christmas Story, for all the obvious reasons – fighting bullies, triple-dog daring and the stupid Bumpases. My old man was a turkey connoseur himself, though none of my brothers ever shot their eye out. Neighbors, maybe, and a random stomach shot, but never the eye.

Forever my favorite Christmas movie was Christmas Vacation. Nothing like Clark Griswold and Cousin Eddie to make you feel good about your family and all the lopsided trees. Probably the most quoted Christmas movie around our house. From “she’s in the clinic getting cured off the Wild Turkey,” to “the sh***er’s full” there are tons of good lines for all occasions. My kids particularly like Aunt Bethany. “Did I break wind?” “Jesus, Bethany, did the room clear out?” has been heard a time too often around here, along with other unsavory lines that little boys tend to latch onto.

But as I’ve aged, I’ve found every year I have to watch some version of A Christmas Carol. It’s probably one of my favorite stories ever.  I’m a huge Dicken’s fan and this one, shorter than almost all his others, stands out as the complete story. Easy to take that framework and see wonderful storytelling at work. I like many of the versions out there, even like A Muppet’s Christmas Carol, which we watched last night. Gotta love a glass of wine, a fire in the hearth, and Rizzo the Rat narrating classic literature 🙂

So those are a few of my favorite Christmas movies. Do you have a “must watch”? Any favorite lines from holiday movies that automatically find there way into your home year after year? Be “nice’ and share with me…cause you don’t want to be on the “naughty” list. Or maybe you do?

17 Responses

  1. Home Alone’s one of my favorites, too, though I told my husband we should all watch it this year and he gave me an appalled look. I also loved Scrooged, with Bill Murray. He recorded it last year but we couldn’t get the kids to watch with us. I think we’ll force them this year.

    My ultimate favorite, though I don’t still watch it every year, is the original “Miracle on 34th Street.” I love the courtroom scenes and the melodramatic acting. 🙂

    • Forgot about that movie. Not my favorite, but I like how it’s all about the doubt…and magic of Christmas.

      I haven’t seen Scrooged in years. May have to search for that one. Billy Murray in anything is usually a good choice. Gotta love Groundhog Day 🙂

  2. At our house, it’s still Christmas Vacation. We’ve seen it so many times we can say the lines along with the characters.

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen Scrooged with Bill Murray. If we have, I don’t remember it. I love White Christmas movie. SO sweet and innocent.

    I’ve been watching a couple of the newer Hallmark Christmas movies, but so far, I can’t say that I’ve seen one that will become an annual classic.

    Merry Christmas!

    • There’s something about watching other peoples’ holiday fall apart that’s damn funny, isn’t it? Of course, some of Clark’s family reminds me of mine…and it’s the subtle humor that I like. “I can’t swim, Clark.” “I know that, Eddie.” LOL

      I’ve been missing out on the Hallmark ones because I have to go family friendly and for some reason the males in my family think Hallmark is for girls. Wonder why?

  3. “Let’s just say we’re doing for a friend in the army,” From White Christmas with Bing Crosby and Danny Kaye. So love to sing with the familiar songs and I make sure I do it without the family cause I hear the “Mom, they paid them to do that.” But who wouldn’t love to dance like they did.

    George C Scott’s Scrooge is AWESOME. I love it when the ghost of Christmas present pulls his robe back to expose the shivering forms of the two children (Ignorance and Want) and makes Scrooge look. Its so powerful telling him “These are your children too”.

    There was one forgotten Christmas show … starred Mary Steinburgen, and a cowboy angel (Gideon) who’d drown years ago sat in a tree outside of the house and lead them to learn what would have happened if their lives had been different. It seems to be a running theme, to look back and to think how blessed we all are.

    • Some of that dancing is AMAZING!

      I like the George C. Scott version, but I prefer the one with Patrick…um…can’t think of his name. Is it Stewart? The guy who played in Star Trek? Anyway, I really love his performance and it’s eerily similar to Scott’s but updated a bit.

      I don’t think I’ve seen that Mary Steenberger movie, but it sounds really good. I’ll keep my eye out for that one.

      Thanks for the comment!

      • Thanks Liz,

        Took me a while but its One Magic Christmas and its on Amazon. Yeah, my girl friend in Ohio (I’m in Virginia) we make it a pack and every year we get together to watch White Christmas. We make our bowl of popcorn and set our watches for “Operation White Christmas” and watch together. Just a hint I won’t be on Saturday afternoon. LOL.

  4. I honestly love all the cheesy Christmas movies, old and new that they play every year! From old classics like White Christmas, new classics like Love Actually, and all the Harlequin inspired Christmas cheesiness. It’s part of the joy of the season!

  5. I’m not much on adult christmas movies. the cartoon 30minute Grinch will always be a favorite. All the Mickey Mouse versions of christmas movies we record and watch several times. I love the Muppets, but i’m not sure I’ve seen their holiday one. Or at least if I have, it’s been a long time. Must google that one!

    Then of course, Charlie Brown. 🙂

  6. I used to love all the Charlie Brown Christmas shows, but I have to say, we don’t have any Christmas movies we watch on a regular basis. Like Helen, I love Love Actually so maybe that will become one. ; ) My husband wants to watch Christmas Shoes but I flat-out refused. Pregnancy hormones have me crying at every little commercial, I don’t need a movie geared to pull heart strings. ; )

    Thank you, now I have a whole list of Christmas movies to try!

    • Christmas shoes. Ugh. Talk about manipulating the heartstrings. I don’t really like having that done, so I’m with you. As mentioned earlier, I need to watch Love, Actually. Going to look for it asap.

  7. Around here, our favorite is ELF with Will Farrell. For some reason the line that sticks with me has nothing to do with Christmas.

    “Francisco! That’s fun to say.” 😉

    Oh yeah, and…
    “He’s an angry elf.”

    • Oh, I forgot Elf. Yes, another good one. Love Will Ferrell in that one. He’s so made for kid’s movies – wish he’d do more instead of the slapstick, fraternity humor ones.

  8. […] Rocking Around the TV (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) […]

  9. I know I’m late to the party but I had to post my absolute favorite christmas movie – The year without a Santa Claus. I don’t know why that’s my fav movie but it contains my equally favorite christmas song Blue Christmas (sung by Elvis).

    We love watching all the movies on ABC Family, Lifetime, Ion, etc. we also watch every christmas cartoon that is on – Lilly loves them.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

