Are You Ready?

And the countdown has begun! Six more days. Are you serious? Whew. Am I ready? Well, for the most part, yes. There are still a few more small items to round up before Saturday, but that sure sounds a heck of a lot better than a few days ago when I was having panic attacks trying to figure out how to get it all done. We don’t have the lights up outside yet and I’m thinking we will just skip that part this year. I’m picking my battles to save what sanity I have left and it seems to be paying off.

Saturday is also my father-in-law’s birthday. My husband’s side meets on Christmas Eve to celebrate the two special occasions. We’ve stopped putting all those candles on his BD cake due to the fact there isn’t any more room and they set off the fire alarm a few years back because of all the smoke. Talk about hysterical. LOL But it’s always fun to take that picture with Grandpa, all his grandkids and now great grandkids. It’s so amazing to see how fast this family has grown up and multiplied.  Eleven grandkids and now three great grandbabies. Christmas at the Ohnoutka’s is anything but boring or quiet. 🙂 

Then on Christmas Day, I will be cooking my very first Christmas dinner for my family. I must say, I’m a tiny bit terrified. LOL It’s sure been nice all these years to have someone else take care of that part. How will I get all those dishes ready at the same time? Shoot, I have trouble with plain old spaghetti.  🙂  Wish me luck!

Oh, and I thought I’d share my top ten favorite Christmas songs. Feel free to share your own.   🙂 

  1. Silent Night
  2. Joy to the World
  3. O’ Holy Night
  4. Jingle Bells
  5. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree
  6. Grandma Got Run Over by A Reindeer (loved this one as a kid lol)
  7. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause
  8. Mary Did You Know
  9.  White Christmas
  10. Carol of the Bells by the Trans-Siberian orchestra – click here  for cool video and what I wish my house looked like at Christmas. lol 

Wishing you all a Very Merry and Special Christmas!

14 Responses

  1. I’m not ready, but I’m closer. 🙂 I have some things arriving today that I’ll have to wrap and ship immediately, and some things I’ll be holding my breath until they arrive. I think I’m the only one in the family with any wrapping left to do. It’s weird to have the tree full of presents this early! 🙂

    #10 on your list is #1 on mine, and I’ll add The Twelve Pains of Christmas, which is just hilarious. 🙂

    Happy birthday to your father-in-law on Saturday, and to Cyndi tomorrow! 🙂

    • Good luck with those gifts today, Natalie. 🙂 I’m still in shock over how fast Christmas snuck in this year. But I think I’m finally seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. LOL

  2. I’m almost ready. Presents are done, few need wrapping but I still have to do the grocery thing. Party at my house on Christmas Eve – Cocktails and Karaoke! Oh, yeah!

    Fav tunes for Christmas

    Marshmellow World
    Christmas in Dixie
    Hard Candy Christmas
    O Holy Night
    The Holly and the Ivy

    I’m sure there are others, but I need more coffee! Cheers!

  3. I’m ready but my dad called YESTERDAY to ask what he could get mom for Christmas! ARGH I am out of ideas. eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek

    I like all the songs on your list except #6. I’m sort of over that one and when I listen to the words, it’s kind of sad.

    I love #8. It’s running in my head right now.

    Thanks Natalie for the birthday wishes.

    Happy Birthday to Melissa’s FIL on Saturday.

  4. Happy Birthday to your FIL – My mom’s Bday is Dec 22nd and brothers Bday is Dec 30th. He’s kinda always gotten jipped on his bday.

    Love the Christmas songs listed. My absolute favorite is Blue Christmas sung by Elvis. also love anything by TSO and usually start listening to their music around Thanksgiving. We also go to their concert as a holiday tradition every year.

    there are so many songs I love, I just enjoy listening to Christmas music in general and my satellite radio is set on the Christmas station.

    As far as christmas, I am most of the way done. I have a few last minute stocking stuffers and candy to get but that’s it. My husband on the other hand has to finish my shopping.

    • Sounds like you’ve got a really busy month, Heather. Especially toward the end. Hope both your mom and brother have a great birthday!

      We have a christian radio station here that plays nothing but Christmas music starting the day after Thanksgiving. We just love it!

  5. Carol Of The Bells is an all time favorite of mine. But the classic one w/the lyrics. SO HARD to find on the radio anymore!

    present wise? we’re just about there. House wise? helllooo tornado that keeps passing through

  6. No, not ready at all and kinda in panic mode. Deep breath.

    I love Carol of the Bells and The Little Drummer Boy, especially the version by Jars of Clay.

  7. Yikes, Melissa. Good luck with the cooking. I’m pretty much done, just a few little things for the kids to take care of.

    My favorite Christmas song is God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman, especially the upbeat, rockin’ version my husband has on some MP3 collection he got. No idea who performs it.

    Hope it all comes together for you, and happy holidays, everyone!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

