Oh, Hey, It’s My Turn!

I have totally lost track of the calendar!

Every morning, I come to ENaLR to read and share the day’s post. Today, when I came, I saw this was my week. Then I realized it was also my DAY. Yikes! I could have sworn I posted last Tuesday! LOL

That’s a problem with the holidays. Everything is so intense and goes by so fast! I was off work for five days (yay!) which makes today feel like Monday. Unfortunately, it’s going to feel like Monday at work, too. Or maybe even like a Friday.

This week is otherwise the quietest week of the year. My client work is usually down (except this week), no one is posting on e-mail loops so my inbox is disturbingly quiet. Hopefully, it’s noisy in the background, with all those new e-reader owners buying our books! 🙂

How did everyone make out for the holidays? Did the parties go well? Are the houses still disasters? Did all the new toys work right?

I got a new widescreen monitor for Christmas so I upgraded to Windows 7. Well, I tried to upgrade. At midnight, it had frozen at 6% in step 2. Guess what the screen says this morning? Yep. So I’ll be working late today, then getting home and calling Microsoft to see what I need to do. I hate the telephone, I hate not being able to figure stuff out myself, and I hate the time suck of customer service.

But I love my new monitor. 🙂

6 Responses

  1. ” I hate the telephone, I hate not being able to figure stuff out myself, and I hate the time suck of customer service.”

    That is me in a nutshell. I HATE talking on the phone. If you ever get me to answer, I’m short and to the point. Say what you have to say and move on!

    But I want to hear about Windows 7. Why did you decide to upgrade?

    My Christmas present is still on order. It’s so expensive that I’m having second thoughts about getting it. It is a ASUS Transformer Prime 64gb table and keyboard.

    Toys working? My husband is fighting with Olympus camera because his camera won’t download to his iPad. Apparently on Olympus camera will!

    But otherwise, it was a nice holiday

    • I’m meeting more and more people like me, Cyndi. My editor and I swapped e-mails at the same time (in other words, didn’t know the other was writing it) saying we hate the phone and order pizza online. LOL

      I have Windows 7 on my laptop and it has features I like better than Vista. I also had some signs Vista might be “going” soon. But I f’d up when I connected the new monitor, had to shut down improperly, and I’ve been battling issues since. Thought I had everything settled but the install froze. On hold waiting for tech support now.

      Stop those second thoughts! You deserve a present that cool!

  2. Hi Natalie,

    Oddly enough, I woke up in a panic thinking it was my Tuesday and I forgot to post. Yup, it’s the holiday-time brain. ; )

    I got a lovely new 14″ frying pan for Christmas. I know that probably doesn’t sound like a great gift, but we have a family of 8. Have you ever tried to fry enough potatoes for 8 in a 10″ skillet? Make enough eggs? I’ve been using two pans or making batches of food.

    My house is still a disaster, and though I plan to tackle the kitchen from top to bottom today, is likely to remain so until next weekend.

    I hate the time suck of customer service too. I usually put them on speaker and use that time to check email, fold laundry, or even read a book. ; )

    Hope your week is great!

    • Huh. I know I had a reply to this comment. I wonder what happened? *scowl*

      Yeah, I said something about how I agree that a 14″ skillet is a great gift, that I often use two pans and I’m cooking for half as many people! And that houses should be disasters this week. It’s restful. And I was on hold with tech support as I typed that comment. Maybe they erased it. LOL

  3. All went well on this end. Way too fast, but it was a great Christmas. 🙂

    I had to get a new laptop a few months back and it come with the new Windows 7. Still working through all the new features, but for the most part it’s working great. Hoping you got your monitor and system all set up. I know how frustrating it can be.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

