Resolutions, Resolutions, Resolutions

Resolutions. Yep. We’ve all made them at one point in our lives. Now keeping them is an entirely different story.

Normal People’s Resolutions

Lose Weight

Get Organized

Spend Less/Save More

Enjoy Life to the Fullest

Stay Fit and Healthy

Learn Something New and Exciting

Quit Smoking

Help Others

Fall In Love

Spend More Time With the Family

Stop Stressing Over the Small Stuff

Be happy

Celebrity/or Not so Normal People’s Resolutions

‘I’m going to really give back more and not make everything so much about myself,’ Kim Kardashian told Glamour magazine. ‘That’s my New Year’s resolution.’   (Ugh…No comment!)

‘I think my goal for the next couple of years would be to make departures in little ways and do things a little differently and try to maintain a balance between always providing your fans with what they’ve always liked from you and continuing to write all my own songs, but I’d love to make collaborations in different directions that aren’t exactly expected,’ Taylor Swift told the Associated Press.    (HUH? I love Taylor Swift! But I sure hope she knows what she just said. I’m a bit confused. LOL)

‘I’d like to learn another language. But I say that every year — I’ve said that for about 12 years now!’ Jessica Biel told Seventeen magazine.

‘I’m gonna do my resolution in December this year,’ Ashton Kutcher said in an interview provided by Warner Bros. Pictures to promote ‘New Year’s Eve.’ ‘I’m resoluting for December so that when I come to January, and everybody else is having to go through the grind, I’m already ahead of it, I’ve already done it. It’s like taking the PSATs. I’m just trying to stay ahead of the curve. There is a curve.‘    (Priceless Kutcher!)

‘I’m going to learn how to base-jump. I’m gonna try to base-jump every weekend in 2011, schedule pending. Or — no. What I’m going to do is I’m gonna learn how to base-jump on the weekends, and then during the week, I’m gonna get one of those crazy [skydiving] suits and do that. That’ll be my job during the week, and then just for fun I’ll jump off of giant standing structures,’ ‘Parks and Recreation’ star Amy Poehler told Zap2It.   (Okay, I have no idea what base-jumping is, but I love Amy Poehler. Will be checking this out!)

‘Every year I’ve had a New Year’s resolution, I haven’t stuck to it. I’d say, ‘I’m not going to eat this’ — or ‘I’m going I’m going to be vegetarian.’ Then it was vegan, and that made me sick! For me it’s about staying positive and focusing on the now and not the past. You can’t change what happened — I try to take a lesson learned and turn it into a positive,’ Kelly Osbourne told Seventeen magazine.   (Think positive. I like this one!)

‘Every year, I have the same resolutions — to work out more, to eat healthier, to try to hang out more with my friends, because you know, of work, you tend to get a little separated from friends and family,’ Sofia Vergara said in an interview provided by Warner Bros. Pictures to promote ‘New Year’s Eve.’ ‘So every year, I say the same things and I try! I think I try harder at the beginning of the year and then I start forgetting about it. I always start working out and then by summer, I’m done.’

‘My New Year’s resolution is to figure out how to balance motherhood with taking care of myself,‘ Alyssa Milano wrote on Twitter on December 31.    (Sure hope she figures this out and then shares the secret with the rest of us!)

‘We’re gonna make it a goal to just go to all those countries where we have fans going, ‘Hey come to my country. You’ve never been here.’ That’s sort of our goal for next year is to go everywhere and tour all the places we’ve never been and see the world. Have some fun,’ Evanescence’s Amy Lee told MTV.

Well dog gone it! I don’t know about you, but I think I’ve been writing my resolutions too short. LOL I need more details so I know exactly what my goal is.  Then maybe I’ll have a better chance of getting it done. 🙂

What’s your favorite resolution you ever made. Did you keep it? Or how about the funniest one you’ve ever heard. Come on, share with us.

11 Responses

  1. great quotes! I’ve been doing the fitness thing for a while, but after all the holidays and candy since October, I need to get my diet back under control. So officially, that’s my resolution. thought new year or not, it was time to have it done!

  2. Melissa this is a great blog.
    The only resolution that keeps spinning in my head today it to resolve to make more memories and peek at former memories a little less.
    The time has come for me to corral all those dreams and make some of them come true!

    • Thanks so much, Marie. 🙂 The older my kids get, the harder those old memories become. What I wouldn’t give to have one day to hold those sweet babies in my arms again. But I do love the new memories we are making together too. Man, it’s hard being a mom. LOL Wishing you tons of success with making your dreams come true!! 🙂

  3. Great blog. Even though I always want to lose weight, the reality is that I don’t. If I were to really focus on ONE SERIOUS resolution it would writing consistently every day no matter what.

    • Cyndi, I so wish I could do this too. It seems like the harder I try to schedule it in, the more I have stuff pop up that makes it impossible. Spur of the moment seems to work best. Catch life off guard. LOL

  4. I don’t believe in resolutions. If those things are important, why only make the decision at one time of year? We should always be striving to better ourselves, right?

    (Theory and practice don’t necessarily jive, of course. LOL)

    I do usually set goals, but I don’t think I will this year. It just doesn’t feel right!

  5. I look forward to New Years every year because it feels fresh and crisp – and somewhat blank. Every year I look at my writing goals of the past and form new ones. I think it’s really important to write them down and own them. I had eight last year and I fulfilled 7 of them. I write down exactly what I want because I always think that if I can form it in my mind, I can create it in my life.

    This year I do want to get a bit more serious about managing my stress and taking better care of myself ( and that means making better lifestyle choices)

  6. Liz, A clean slate. Fresh canvas. Yep, I feel the same way. Hmmm….Picture it and it will come. I like it! 🙂 Let me know if you figure out the managing stress part. Lord knows I need it too. LOL

  7. It has taken me way too many years to discover that I’m not going to ever look like a super model, but that my body isn’t quite so bad. : ) However, I really do need to take better care of myself. With kids and hubby, it’s so hard to remember to take care of me too. (Good luck, Alyssa Milano) For me that’s a choice I have to make daily.

    Managing stress? What’s that? ; )

Show us some love and leave a comment!

