Let’s Celebrate!

Celebrate good times C’Mon!

Anyone remember that song?  Those lyrics have been streaming through my head all day!

Let me tell you why.

Twenty years ago today, I woke up with the flu.  It was supposed to be the best day of my life!  I was marrying my best friend, the man of my dreams.  There I was with a fever, puking, and coughing up a lung; not all at once, but it was bad.  My fiance’ asked if I wanted to postpone it, but I didn’t.  Family would be coming from far and wide, and I just wanted to be married to him.

So, we’re going to the chapel, and we’re gonna get married streamed through my head.  I couldn’t sing it or I would suffer a coughing fit.  We made it to the church, my dad walked me down the aisle and I leaned on him the whole way.  When my dad passed my hand to my soon-to-be husband I leaned on him.

We had an amazing honeymoon!!  I slept on the couch telling him not to touch me.  Isn’t that every girls dream honeymoon?

We have had our ups and downs.  More ups than downs, but the downs have been doozies and we are still standing strong.

Today, we celebrate our twentieth wedding anniversary!  We love each other more today than we did the day we were married.  We have become closer than we ever thought we could be, and we hope to be able to say the same thing twenty years from now.

This photo was taken last year in June, before I lost all my hair. 🙂 Actually, it was right after my first chemo treatment.

6 Responses

  1. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY !!!

  2. Happy anniversary, Julie! I’m glad your relationship is still going strong despite a less than auspicious beginning. 😉

  3. Hope you’ve had a Wonderful Anniversary! What a beautiful love story! 🙂

  4. Happy Anniversary and here is to 20 more!

  5. Happy Anniversary! Here’s to the next 20 years!

  6. My God, what an awful way to start! LOL But congratulations on making it to 20. You two look great together!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

