Nightshift by Kate Douglas, Crystal Jordan and Lynn LaFluer

Nightshiftby Kate Douglas, Crystal Jordan and Lynn LaFluer
* I received a copy of this book from Kensington in exchange for an honest review*

Their human form is ephemeral, but their sexual desire is endless. Enter the mysteriously sensual world of the shapeshifters and share in their erotic passion. . .

 “Dream Catcher” by Kate Douglas
She comes to him at night in dreams of carnal pleasure. Real or imagined, Mac doesn’t know and doesn’t care. For his body throbs with a need that only his mystery lover can satisfy. . .
 
“Taken Between” by Crystal Jordan
Kira lives to protect her queen, but the king’s brother is the one who commands her desire. She longs for him with a feral sexuality and ferocious passion she can barely control. . .
 
“The Right Number” by Lynn LaFleur
Jay may have dialed the wrong number but the right woman answers. She is the mate he’s been looking for all his life. And when he hears the sexy purr of her voice, it arouses the hungry wolf inside. . .

I am going to post my review today in two parts because both Kate Douglas and Crystal Jordan agreed to take some time and answer some questions to go with the review of Nightshift.  Please enjoy Kate’s portion now and check back later today to get to know Crystal and find out who she would most love to meet.

Please leave a comment on this post or Crystal’s post and answer the question below.

What are 3 things you always have at your fingertips, no matter what?

Kensington will be giving away a copy of the anthology Nightshift.  The contest will be open through Midnight next Saturday, January 21st.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dream Catcher is the first installment in Kate’s new Dream Catcher series.  Mac has lost everything but his best friend Dink, all because of money and jealously.  He had his graduate work stolen and has lost his grants and access to the computer labs on campus.  His dream girl suddenly appears in his apartment, complete with violet eyes, after a night of drinking.  There is something off about her but he can’t put his finger on it.

Zianne hears Mac’s call and realizes that he could be the one to help save her people.  She can’t believe how sexy Mac is and enjoys her time with him but she feels guilty for not being able to tell him the truth about her true self.  Between the two of them, they begin work on a computer program that will eventually be instrumental in saving her family.

Mac and Zianne are sexy together, the shower scene was super Hot but the scene with them and Dink was a page scorcher.  Strange things keep happening when Zianne is around but when Mac is with her, all of the doubts and concerns seem to fly out the window.  I love that the characters were kept to a minimum in this short story.

This book provides us with the back story and foundation for future Dream Catcher books.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have had the honor to get to know Kate Douglas over the last year or so and was excited to read the first installment in her new series Dream Catcher.  I am so excited that even though she is extremely busy, she agreed to answer a few questions to go with this review.  So please enjoy.

Dream Catcher, the first book in your new series was a lot different than any of your other books.  How did this story come about and how many do you have planned in this series?

This series is the result of a lot of things coming together at the right time. Wolf Tales was ending and I needed a new erotic paranormal series to propose to Kensington, my husband was ready for a trip to the mountains, and I’d recently read about the Allen Telescope Array up at Hat Creek in the Sierra Nevada mountains http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Allen_Telescope_Array and wanted to see it.

We took a trip up there and took an extended tour of the array, which is a series of satellite dish antennae pointing to the heavens. They have multiple purposes, but are a part of the SETI (search for extra-terrestrial intelligence) project. As we were wandering through the array, I got to thinking how these dishes captured radio signals from space…but what if you could use them to SEND signals, and what if there was someone on earth sending out their sexual fantasies—what would an alien think?

That eventually evolved into my series premise for Dream Catchers about a race of alien beings made of pure energy who are slaves aboard another alien ship. They discover they can take corporeal form from the strength of human sexual fantasy and decide to use that ability to finally gain freedom from their captors. It’s complete in a three story arc beginning with the novella in the NightShift anthology. Dream Catcher takes place in 1992 and the first book, Dream Bound, occurs in the present, but has some of the same characters, twenty years older. I’m currently working on the final book, Dream Unchained, which is about the eventual rescue of my enslaved aliens, known as Nyrians.

Do you have to limit the amount of time that you spend blogging, updating Facebook or answering emails?

I try to, though it’s not easy. I get a lot of mail I have to deal with every morning. For instance, it’s now almost one in the afternoon and I’ve been at it since eight this morning and still have to write. I set a 5000 word goal every day. Obviously I don’t always meet it, but I do try. After two, when my NY editor and NJ agent are calling it a day, I try and just shut down the Internet entirely and write w/o any interruptions. I’ve given myself an hour to answer your interview questions, and then I have to get to work on the rest of my mail and check my social networking, but at two I will be off line and writing until late tonight. I didn’t shut my computer down last night/this morning until almost one a.m.

I know you enjoy reading – what are some of the books you’ve read lately?  Are there any that stand out above the rest?

I think most of us who write are readers first, and I’ve read some wonderful books lately. Joey Hill’s newest Vampire Queen novel, BOUND BY THE VAMPIRE QUEEN, Meljean Brook’s HEART OF STEEL, Morgan Hawke’s LOST STAR, Jennifer Estep’s KISS OF FROST, Nalini Singh’s ANGELS OF DARKNESS anthology, Eileen Wilks’s BLOOD CHALLENGE, Dani Harper’s CHANGELING DAWN, Robyn Carr’s HIDDEN SUMMIT, Judi Fennel’s GENIE KNOWS BEST, and I’m currently reading JoAnn Ross’s ON LAVENDER LANE. And those are just the ones that stand out from my reading over the past few weeks. I’ve read a few others I can’t recall, so guess they’re not quite as “stand out” as the rest? Or it’s just my crappy memory! My book bill is like the national debt!

“Be careful or you’ll end up in my book!”  You have been writing for awhile now and have multiple series, do any specific characters come to mind that are based on friends or family members?

In some ways, most of my male characters have at least some of my husband’s attributes because I really admire the man I married forty years ago. He’s a combination of Anton Cheval and Stefan Aragat with the tall, lean build and over-long dark hair. (His is gray now, but it was dark brown when we met—and it’s still long!) He’s got Anton’s sense of honor and that Alpha “I’m in charge” personality, but definitely has Stefan’s sense of humor. Other characters are all combinations of people I know or have met—the ones I like get to be the heroes and heroines, and the ones I’m not so fond of are my villains.

On the other hand, I have killed off a few tall, lean bad guys over the years. I think it keeps the marriage healthy. Whenever I’m a bit ticked off at the Lord of the Manor, he dies an ugly death between the pages. Sometimes I even let him know!
 
Lightning round!
Favorite color?  All shades of green
Favorite beverage?  Ice water
Favorite Food?  Anything I don’t have to cook, but if I have to get specific,  probably something that’s either sour or hot and sour.
Favorite animal or pet?   Rufus the mutt, a little terrier mix we rescued over thirteen years ago. He’s the one who really runs the place around here.
Sweet snacks or salty?  Salty, though I will occasionally need a sugar rush and then I want something totally bad for me, like Nerds or SweetTarts.
Morning person or night owl?  Night owl, though I love my mornings, too. Luckily I don’t need a lot of sleep.
Mac or PC?  PC, but a laptop, not a desktop.
TV, Radio or Nothing when you are writing?  Nothing—rarely music when I need it to get into a scene. For instance, a really emotionally draining and brutally sadistic scene in Wolf Tales 10 when both Oliver and his mate restrain Adam Wolf and beat him bloody took some absolutely violent sounding Finnish heavy metal music in order to get me in the right frame of mind to write it. It was emotionally exhausting to write, but I think it works because of the rhythm the music gave me—a discordant, almost painful sound translated to words. Weird the way that works.
And because you’re a romance author:  Sweet or smutty?   It honestly doesn’t matter—if the story is good, the emotions between the characters powerful and the writing catches me, I’m going to love the story. I can go from Joey Hill’s vampire novels which take kink to a whole new level, to Robyn Carr’s sweetly satisfying Virgin River stories and be equally enthralled by the story. It’s all about the writing and whether or not I connect with the characters.

Fun Facts

Three Fun Facts About You, the Writer
I love being a grandmother, but the grandkids are NOT allowed in Dabba’s office because my book covers are framed on the walls—and they’re not suitable for little ones!

I love to “play with rocks.” BIG rocks. When I have time to go outside and get dirty in the yard, I’m generally moving rocks around. Some of them weigh as much as me, but I love building rock walls and gardens and such. Unfortunately, I don’t always like the way my muscles feel the next day!

Cooking is something I do for relaxation and I actually co-published a cookbook for a winery many years ago.

Three Things You Have Around You When You Write
Rufus sleeping on my little bed here in my office, a glass of ice water on the table beside me and my little heater going next to the recliner chair I work in with my laptop and notes from whatever current books I’m working on.
 
Three Little Known Facts About You
LOL…there ARE no little known facts about me. I blog about all of it or tell my tales of woe in my newsletter. My readers are my friends and just about my only social life, so they have to hear all my crap.

But just a quick list—I’ve had multiple sclerosis for over twenty-five years and am currently in full remission, but for a long time I needed a cane to get around. I’m klutzy, but that’s a great excuse for occasionally landing on my butt in public.

My father was from Memphis, Tennessee and I grew up in Stockton, California, in the San Joaquin Delta. Lots of Saturday mornings were spent on the levee fishing for catfish, and one of my favorite breakfasts as a kid was fried catfish and cornbread.

My very first published writing was a poem in the Stockton Record in 1959. I was 9 years old.

Three Accomplishments That Have Meant the Most to You
Raising two absolutely amazing kids who are wonderful adults and terrific parents on their own. I don’t think any accomplishment will ever mean more to me.

Getting published—sticking with it for twenty years through rejection after rejection until I finally sold Wolf Tales to Kensington Publishing, and got to watch the series take off like a rocket. It was and still is a damned good feeling.

Staying published—this is not a business for sissies, and I’m proud of the fact I’ve been able to hang in there and not only continue to get contracts, but I’ve continued to love every minute of the process. I feel as if I’m doing the job I was meant to do. It’s a good feeling.

Three people you would most like to meet and why – Living or Deceased
Michelle Obama—I really admire our first lady, more than any other First Lady in my lifetime, and at my age, there have been a lot of First Ladies!

My great-grandmother. She died giving birth to my grandmother in July of 1890, and I would love to be able to tell Jennie Fesmire Armstrong some of the things her descendants have accomplished.

Anne McCaffrey, who passed away just this past November. I have always loved Annie’s writing and we got to be great friends online, but I never got to meet her in person. I wish I could have met her before she passed away—I was an ardent fan of hers for years, and you can’t imagine the thrill when I discovered she was a fan of mine. She was in her eighties when we first began corresponding, and she loved Ulrich, one of my older characters in Wolf Tales. I still have her note where she wrote to me and said, “I want my OWN Ulrich!” She will always be an inspiration to me—she’d turned in her manuscript for her newest book just days before she died. I hope I’m still writing my tales when I’m in my eighties!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks so much to Kate for taking the time to visit with us.  Please leave a comment and answer the question below.

What are 3 things you always have at your fingertips, no matter what?

Kensington will be giving away a copy of the anthology Nightshift.  The contest will be open through Midnight next Saturday, January 21st.

**Don’t forget to check back later today for Crystal’s Jordan’s interview and review**

22 Responses

  1. Chapstick, my cellphone and my Nook. 🙂

  2. cell phone,a book,peppermint gum 🙂

    reginamayross@gmail.com

    • Regina,

      I forget about gum – I usually have gum close by too. My cell phone never leaves my sight.

      Thanks for stopping by – Drawing is actually next Sat, January 21st.

  3. My iPhone, my Kindle and hand lotion. I hate having cracked, dry skin. This time of year I have to keep a bottle of hand lotion nearby.

    Thanks so much for the giveaway! I love anthologies. Having so many great authors together is awesome.

    • Stacie,

      I love anthologies too. I have found a lot of new authors that way and bought their back lists, much to husband’s distress (my bookcases are overflowing).

      I would literally be lost without my iPhone.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  4. The 3 things are my cell phone, cane, medicine and a good book. I know it was 4 things, but what can I say.

    • Thanks for stopping by Donna.

      I always have my kindle or iphone so I am never without a book – I don’t know what I would do if I didn’t have a book with me.

  5. 3 things are
    1.Glass of ICE TEA or Water
    2.A Good Book
    3.Asthma Spray never go anywhere with out it.

    sasluvbooks at yahoo dot com

  6. Thanks for the giveaway! I love Kate’s books! Both Crystal and Lynn are new authors to me, but I love finding new ones.
    My 3 things that I always have at my fingertips are my phone, a bottle of cold water and my Kindle. Great interview! 🙂

  7. These answers are fun–I live in an area w/o cell reception, so never carry my phone unless I’m headed to town, and then I often forget to turn it on!

  8. coffee, Kindle, cigarettes! LOL

  9. Three things always near my fingertips are my cell phone, my 4 month old puppy (he follows me and goes with me everywhere), and a book! I’m always reading!!!

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

  10. Cold water, tv remote control and my e-reader. If I could add a fourth item, it would have to be my cordless phone. The Tv remote is because I am still recovering from a major operation and am pretty well bed bound.

  11. Ok, I always have my inhaler, my iphone and something to read (i.e. kindle or book).

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  12. JoAnna,

    i have an asthma inhaler with me all the time too. I don’t have to use it often but I never leave home without it.

    congrats!! you are the winner, I’ll be emailing you.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

