Nightshift – Crystal Jordan – Part 2

Nightshiftby Kate Douglas, Crystal Jordan and Lynn LaFluer
* I received a copy of this book from Kensington in exchange for an honest review*

Their human form is ephemeral, but their sexual desire is endless. Enter the mysteriously sensual world of the shapeshifters and share in their erotic passion. . .

 “Dream Catcher” by Kate Douglas
She comes to him at night in dreams of carnal pleasure. Real or imagined, Mac doesn’t know and doesn’t care. For his body throbs with a need that only his mystery lover can satisfy. . .
 
“Taken Between” by Crystal Jordan
Kira lives to protect her queen, but the king’s brother is the one who commands her desire. She longs for him with a feral sexuality and ferocious passion she can barely control. . .
 
“The Right Number” by Lynn LaFleur
Jay may have dialed the wrong number but the right woman answers. She is the mate he’s been looking for all his life. And when he hears the sexy purr of her voice, it arouses the hungry wolf inside. . .

I am going to post my review today in two parts because both Kate Douglas and Crystal Jordan agreed to take some time and answer some questions to go with the review of Nightshift.  Welcome back – sit back and enjoy Crystal’s interview.

Please leave a comment on this post or Kate’s post and answer the question below.

Who are 3 people you would love to meet – Living or Deceased?

Kensington will be giving away a copy of the anthology Nightshift.  The contest will be open through Midnight next Saturday, January 21st.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Taken Between is the second story in the Between series by Crystal Jordan (book 1 can be found in Sexy Beast 9, Between Lovers).  Elan has taken over as King of his people.  He has been trying to repair the damage his father did when he told the world about them.  Now his brother has returned and is heading up the King’s guard, along with his second Kira, their childhood friend.

Kira has been in love with Max forever but he is a prince and she is just the daughter of a serving girl.  One of her best friends is now King and she has returned home as part of his guard, she will be taking over the Queen’s guard once Rhiannon and Elan get married.  Now that they are both back, she is determined to get what she wants, Max.

Max has returned to help his brother but he is still battling demons from his childhood.  He can’t believe it when Kira reveals that it’s not his brother she wants but him.  He cares for her but he has vowed to never love another because of his past.  He believes everything his father has told him over the years so he doesn’t believe he is anything other than a henchman to protect his brother, the King.

Max and Kira are good together.  They have been in love with each other for years but both are too stubborn to admit it.  It took them both leaving home to realize what was missing in their lives.  They are able to provide each other with what they need to help with the healing process.  It takes a near death experience for the two of them to realize that they both want a future together.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I have read several of Crystal Jordan’s books and she is fast becoming one of my favorite authors.  I was excited when she agreed to take a few minutes and answer the questions for this post. So sit back and enjoy her Q&A session.

Taken Between, is the second book in The Between series.  Will there be other books in this series?

I’m not planning on more books in this series right now, but I never say never. There’s definitely potential for more stories, but nothing solid os planned.

When I read or write my reviews, I usually have the television or radio on.  Do you listen to music when you write?  If so is there a specific genre you listen to?

Anything and everything, depending on the book or scene I’m writing. I might need hard rock music or a creepy thriller movie for a suspense book, or sexy jazz for a naughty scene. It just depends.

“Be careful or you’ll end up in my book!”  You have been writing for awhile now and have multiple series, do any specific characters come to mind that are based on friends or family members?

Absolutely. “Write what you know” is an old adage for a reason. Even when you’re writing about vampires, werewolves, or aliens, you’re still writing about people, so that’s the part you know even if you make the rest up. I use people and situations from my real life all the time. Sometimes I even use their real first names (with their permission, of course).

Lightning round!
Favorite color?
Lime green!
Favorite beverage? Chai tea, with hot chocolate as a close second.
Favorite Food? It’s a toss up between a turkey sandwich and pepperoni pizza.
Favorite animal or pet? Cats…I haven’t written that many cat shifters for no reason.
Sweet snacks or salty? One of each, thanks.
Morning person or night owl? Morning person. That’s not to say I’m one of those chipper people in the morning, just that I’m most alert and productive then.
Mac or PC? I have both. They each have pros and cons.
TV, Radio or Nothing when you are writing? Depends on my mood. It could be any or all of the above.
And because you’re a romance author:  Sweet or smutty? All for smut, and smut for all!

Fun Facts

Three Fun Facts About You, the Writer

I’m a pantser, so I write by the seat of my pants without planning much, if any, of the story in advance. I write out of order, so I could write the ending first, then the beginning, then the middle. I’m part of an awesome group of writers called the Smutketeers, and we do a steampunk themed photoshoot every year.

Three Things You Have Around You When You Write

My comfy chair, my lap desk to put my MacBook on, my TV and a cup of hot tea, a pad of post-it notes (in a bright color so it’s easy to spot), and a pen.

Three Little Known Facts About You

I can sing with my mouth closed, I like to dance in the rain, and I know how to pick awesome friends. J

Three Accomplishments That Have Meant the Most to You

I sold the first story I ever finished writing, I got an agent a year later, and I’m the first person in my family to have gone to graduate school. One of the few to go to college too, so it was a big deal.

Three people you would most like to meet and why – Living or Deceased

Queen Elizabeth I, because she ruled England by herself in a time when that really wasn’t done. So cool!

Albert Einstein, because he was wicked smart.

The Brothers Grimm (they totally count as one!), because they wrote down all the best fairy tales. How neat is that? All the paranormal goodness a girl could ever want to get some inspiration from.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks so much to Crystal for taking the time to visit with us.  Please leave a comment and answer the question below.

Who are 3 people you would love to meet – Living or Deceased?

Kensington will be giving away a copy of the anthology Nightshift.  The contest will be open through Midnight next Saturday, January 21st.

6 Responses

  1. 3 people I’d like to meet are: Tara Tyler Quin, My grandmother Winchell, and Frankie Winchell, my brother who died before any of us 6 kids were born.

    • Thanks for stopping by Mary.

      That was a hard question for me and I still don’t have a definite answer – there are so many interesting people out there – I would love to see my grandfather again and spends some time with him but that doesn’t count really.

  2. i would like to meet all of my favorite authors and both of my grandfathers 🙂

    reginamayross@gmail.com

  3. I would love to meet my great grandfather who immigrated from Italy in 1892. I would also like to have met some famous people like Audrey Hepburn and Cary Grant. How fun would that be!

  4. Tough one! I would love to meet Elvis. I want to know what all the hype was about!

    I would like to meet some of the older generations of my family. It would be fun to learn some family history.

    I would also like to meet Abe Lincoln. I mean how cool would it be to tell people you talked to Honest Abe?

  5. 3 people…I’d like to have met my Great Grandmother Griffith, Princess Dianna and Brad Pitt. How fun and interesting that would be… 😉

    barbbattaglia@yahoo.com

Show us some love and leave a comment!

