Key to Success = The Right Attitude

“Interruptions can be viewed as sources of irritation or opportunities for service, as moments lost or experience gained, as time wasted or horizons widened. They can annoy us or enrich us, get under our skin or give us a shot in the arm. Monopolize our minutes or spice our schedules, depending on our attitude toward them.”

 William Arthur Ward

Hmmm…I’ve been looking at this all wrong. I have never once thought about interruptions being opportunities, gained experiences, or widened horizons.  Interruptions tend to get under my skin and annoy the heck out of me on a daily basis. Wow. I think I’m due for a major attitude adjustment.

Let’s face it. Attitude is what it’s all about. Our attitude is an asset, a treasure we must guard and protect from the vandals and thieves among us who try to bring us down and steal it away.

Success in life requires the right attitude.

I consider myself a pretty positive person. Well, most of the time. I do worry way too  much about silly things that could happen. Especially where my kids are concerned.  But I think that just comes with being a mom.

Tough as it may be, I try to find the good in every situation or circumstance, telling myself it’s all part of the circle of life. But honestly, sometimes this is really hard.  Especially when a good friend or family memeber gets sick or finds themselves entangled in one of life’s many struggles. It’s easy to get discouraged and wonder why we even bother. But look long enough and you’ll find that little speck of light. That glimmer of hope to keep you going. Someday the struggles may even make sense.

This past week was one of those trying times for me. Thankfully, the light shown bright at the end for one of the more important struggles.  🙂

Sunday afternoon was another story. Believing in oneself and having a positive attitude about your life and abilities is so important. Too bad just believing doesn’t always pay off. Here in Houston, we believed with all our hearts the Texans were going to win against the Ravens. The decorations were up, the flags flapping from the windows of almost every car you passed, the billboards flashing their supportive cheers.  All that positive thinking, support and encouragement and they just couldn’t quite pull it off.

So close and yet so far. The Texans had a great run. Especially considering the quarterback was the backup to the backup. LOL Too young and not enough experience. The team went out and played one heck of a game and although sad about the loss, we are glad we got to spend time with great friends. So much food, cheering and laughter.  And I’ll be hearing my friend’s cow bell in my sleep for days! LOL We even did the wave in the living room.  🙂  Yep. We are die hard Texan fans. This team has come a long way over the years. And we’ll be right there behind them next year when they try again.

All this to say, never give up. Never let a struggle get the best of you. Get up and give it your best every single day. Mistakes and struggles are bound to pop up as you learn and grow, but never be afraid to try, to pick up the pieces and keep on keeping on. It’s all about how you look at things. Find the good, the positive, the things that will help you improve or grow as a person and then push forward. Don’t quit too early. The rewards are there.

“There is no success without failure.” Wish I could remember where I read this one.

“Failure is only the opportunity to begin again, only this time more wisely.” My eyes are wide open now! ~ Henry Ford

“I have not failed. I’ve just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” Boy have I ever!
~ Thomas Alva Edison

“There is no failure. Only feedback. ” Now this one fits perfect! 🙂
~ Robert Allen

Is your team still in the playoffs for the Super Bowl? Do you care? LOL

16 Responses

  1. The very BEST I ever saw:

    “Fall down seven… get up eight!”

    Falling down is not what counts. Getting back up is what counts.

  2. I needed all your encouraging words to remind of my ‘already forgotten’ New Year’s resolution. I’m getting back on that horse.

    Sounds like you had a good time watching some football. I had a pretty good time myself, outside a pounding headache after the party. I think someone had an annoying bell at my party too.

  3. Hey William! How are you feeling? I drank a martini and smoked a cigar in your honor since you can’t.

    I don’t really have an NFL team that I cheer for. Being a die-hard University of Arkansas Razorback fan, I usually cheer for teams where our guys land. So this year, I’m looking at NE Pats since Ryan Mallot is up there. From that standpoint, I guess I’m still in the running!

    • I’m just the opposite, Cyndi. I’ve tried watching college football, especially since my hubby is so into it. But it’s just not the same for me. I think it has something to do with all the different rules. I’m lazy and just don’t want to learn them. LOL

  4. Great to see you posting, William!

    Say what you will, but Texans’ defense was the best in the NFL this year! And we had the best running back too!

    “Never give up, Never Surrender.” Captain Taggart of the movie Galaxy Quest”. Love that movie and that line…I try to use that as a motto!

  5. I agree, Tess! It was an awesome season. 🙂 Not sure I’ve ever seen Galaxy Quest, but I love that line! It reminds me of a song by Cory Hart, “Never Surrender.” The lyrics are spot on for me!

    Just a little more time is all we’re askin’ for
    ‘Cause just a little more time could open closin’ doors
    Just a little uncertainty can bring you down

    So if you’re lost and on your own
    You can never surrender
    And if your path won’t lead you home
    You can never surrender

    And when the night is cold and dark
    You can see, you can see light
    ‘Cause no one can take away your right
    To fight and to never surrender

    With a little perseverance you can get things done
    Without the blind adherence that has conquered some

  6. Inspiring post! and yes–my team is still in! GO PATRIOTS!! You should probably cheer for us too, Melissa. You know in hopes that we can beat that team that knocked yours out. 😀

  7. I agree that attitude helps a lot. I’m a silver lining kind of girl myself. I think sometimes it ticks my husband off because he wants to stew a bit before he finds the positive. 😉

    Not sure time management guru Brian Tracy would agree that interruptions can be opportunities, but for those we can’t avoid, it’s a good way to look at it.

    Love the quotes by Edison and Robert Allen. Here’s one by Michael Jordan that I really like: “I’ve missed more than 9000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. 26 times, I’ve been trusted to take the game winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed.”

    • Is that a man thing? The stewing part? LOL Oh wow does Jordan’s quote put it all into perspective or what! Looks like I’ve got alot of misses to go. But I’m gonna keep on trying! 🙂

  8. I was so rooting for Houston! Expansion teams always have the longest struggle, and it’s especially painful after you’ve had your team taken from you.

    My team is still in! I’m a Patriots fan, too, and we WILL slaughter those SOB Ravens.

    Have you ever seen Firefly? In the real pilot (which stupidly wasn’t aired as the first episode), the ship’s mechanic is trying to lure new passengers. She says to Shepherd Book, a religious man slowly walking by, that he’s looking at the ships, not the destinations, and asks why he doesn’t care where he’s going. He says, “Because the journey is the worthier part.”

    It doesn’t matter, really, that your team lost. (Okay, yes, it does, it makes everything miserable, but let’s forget that part.) What matters is the excitement of anticipating, then watching the game, and all the things you described. And there’s always next year! With a first-string QB all season, you guys could go all the way! 🙂

    • LOL Thanks for making me smile! That settles it, Natalie! I’m cheering for the Patriots!! 🙂 A slaughter is on the horizon!!! I too say Next Year is the Texans YEAR! 🙂

      I haven’t seen Firefly. Sounds like a good one. When I look back over things, the journey really is the best part. Lots of great memories, friends made through it all, and a long lasting hope for better days to come.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

