• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Guest Blogger: Katie Reus

Hi Everyone!

Today I have the pleasure of introducing you to a talented author, Katie Reus. Without further ado, here’s Katie.

Thank you so much to Shawna for having me here at Everybody Needs a Little Romance. I totally love the name of your blog.

Why romantic suspense? This is one of the most common questions I get when people discover I’m an author. Growing up I read a lot of straight contemporary romances because I had no clue any other kind of romance existed. To get my fix, I stole romance books from my mom’s stash so I had to take what I could get. However, I also read a lot of Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books which is where I gained my love of mysteries. Then, in 1999 (I remember the year b/c it changed my reading experience) I discovered a new subgenre of romance and I was forever hooked on the awesome combination of romance and suspense! Watching two characters fall in love is always an emotional journey but it’s even more fun when they’re battling external forces determined to keep them apart.

So even though I fell in love with romance and mystery as separate genres, I now get to combine what’s great about both of them. That’s ultimately why I write romantic suspense. I get the best of two of my favorite worlds.

What do you love about romantic suspense? Please leave a comment to be entered to win a digital copy of His Secret Past. Winner will be announced tomorrow January 18, 2012 in the comments section of this blog after noon, Central time. Please leave your email address so I have a way to contact you.

Official blurb for His Secret Past by Katie Reus:

Six years ago, Alexis Baptiste’s world was turned upside down when Hunter Cassidy disappeared without a trace, leaving her alone and pregnant. She’s finally moving on with her life when he resurfaces, just in time to rescue her from a would-be assassin. Forced to join him on the run to protect herself and her young son, Alexis is now in even more danger: danger of falling for Hunter all over again.

Betrayed by rogue CIA agents after infiltrating an infamous drug cartel, former DEA agent Hunter Cassidy has spent years trying to clear his name. He’s not proud of the things he’s done, and knows he doesn’t deserve a future with Alexis, or the son he never knew he had, but he’s determined to protect them from the men who ruined his life. Convincing Alexis to trust him—and denying his feelings for her—is going to be the hardest mission he’s ever faced.

His Secret Past is available at Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Carina Press & all other major online retailers.

A little about me: I’ve been reading romance since I discovered my mom’s hidden stash at a young age and the addiction stayed with me into adulthood. I write paranormal romance and sexy romantic suspense for Carina Press, Harlequin Nocturne, and NAL/Signet Eclipse. To learn more about me please visit my website, my blog, facebook or find me on twitter @katiereus.

Thanks again for letting me blog with you today!

34 Responses

  1. I used to devour Nancy Drew. I didn’t read a lot of romance as a teen, but I did get into Danielle Steele family sagas, and Mary Stewart. Always loved thrillers and mysteries, and like you, was so glad to find RS (about ten years later than you, so I have a lot of catching up to do!).

    Love the premise of your book. Thanks for being with us on ENLR today!

  2. I love the combination of romance and suspense, It just makes the love story so much more interesting when the couple has a common enemy to fight, or evade.

  3. I loved Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys! And don’t forget Trixie Belden books…or those may have been before your time. I have read romance for so many years I’m not sure I could really say what was my first romance or my first romance author.

    But like you, I was late coming to romantic suspense…and I ADORE it. When I read, I read a lot of romance. When I listen to audiobooks, I tend to lean toward mystery/suspense. So like you, RS combines two of my favorite genres.

    Your book sounds like a fun read. Best of luck! And thanks for being on ENLR today.

    • I’m the same way with audiobooks! Next on my listening list is Killing Floor. I’ve never read Lee Child and I’m antsy to read/listen to one of his books 🙂

  4. I love suspense books and teaming it with romance makes it very indulgent. I like the “not knowing” what will happend in a book. The air of mystery that makes you anticipate turning the page. I love knowing that through all the turbulent suspense that a romance is forming and can lead to love. Solving the mystery and finsing a soul mate is the best way to end a story. amotherway@aol.com

  5. I love the aspect of danger while they are trying to figure out their relationship. I think it heats up the story. The book sounds great! Thanks for the giveaway. 🙂

  6. I got hooked on romantic suspense when I was a teen; I read french books then and there was a series involving an airflight attendant and the pilot and what happened in the countries they were headed for. Later on when I ran out of those books I stated reading Harlequin books: Jayne Ann Krentz, Linda Howard and Nora Roberts. They really made me love romantic suspense.

    • I’m a huge fan of Linda Howard (All the Queens Men is the actual book that made me fall in love with RS) and Nora Roberts (and I really enjoy her JD Robb books).

  7. Glad to have you with us today! I can’t get enough RS. Books or movies. LOL For me, it’s all about the suspense, the dangerous situations and love surviving through it all. I think it’s because my real life is so boring. 🙂

  8. I love the romantic suspence because it keeps you on the edge of your set and makes you keep guessing. I love romance and when you add intrigue to it, it spices it up even more.
    This book sounds great and would love to win and read. Thanks for the chance to win.

  9. I love to read romantic suspense because it combines my favourite genres. I’ve always loved to read suspense and crime books and only some years ago discovered romance books. I was really happy when I discovered RS. 🙂

  10. i love everything about romantic suspense books =)

    reginamayross@gmail.com

  11. Wow, what a fantastic blog, fantastic blurb & oooh what cover. I love romantic suspense as well, and this is on my TBR pile! Yay! Best wishes

  12. Been hooked on romantic suspense since reading my first Linda Howard, Elizabeth Lowell and Jayne Ann Krentz stories many, many moons ago.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com

  13. Romance books are good light reads, person a meets person b (being very gender pc here lol), they are attracted but have issues which are worked through and then a hea. With romance suspense there is more of a story which I like so much better. I prefer the twist’s and turns that the characters must go through along the way. Also find they can often make the characters more belieavable as people do bond under stress.

  14. Welcome to the blog! we were the opposite. I started out in RS and then one day was like…whoa, hey, there’s like OTHER genres of this stuff! historicals! Contemps! and omg—different LENGTHS too?!?!

    LOL felt so out of the loop!

  15. I love the danger in romantic suspense. I think it heightens the feelings of both the hero and heroine. I also like to see the hero be protective of the heroine. The heroes in romantic suspense are usually former cops or bodyguards, etc. I love those kinds of heroes.

    geishasmom73 AT yahoo DOT com

  16. I love danger and the mystery involved in romantic suspense. Especially the action packed scenes. But most of all I like the romance between the hero and heroine. I like it when the heroine is fiercely independent and so stubborn.

  17. […] Guest Blogger: Katie Reus (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) […]

  18. I love romantic suspense because I get to read about the couple’s relationship and how they deal with the dangerous situations they are put in. Thanks for the giveaway. Your book sounds great!

  19. Congrats on the release! Nothing adds a little suspense to the relationship and story like a dangerous situation. I love seeing how they work it out and come together though it all.

  20. I LOVE romantic suspense because it’s so much more than just a romance…it keeps you guessing and there’s always an element of danger and intrigue. It’s romance with an edge! 😉

    barbbattaglia@yahoo.com

  21. Thank you so much to Shawna for having me here at at ENALR! And thank you to everyone who stopped by! Using random.org, the winner chosen is: Allison Motherway! I’ll be contacting you via the email you left. Congrats on winning a copy of His Secret Past 🙂

  22. Tuesdays are hell for me, so I’m sorry I never made it here yesterday, Katie! 😦

    I love your twist on the secret baby storyline. 🙂

    Romantic suspense is a fantastic combo because the two sides raise the stakes for the other. A mystery or thriller storyline has more emotional impact when romance is involved, and the danger of a mystery/thriller plot increases the stakes of the romance. Double the excitement!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

