Mid-Week Update with Liz Talley

I don’t know about you, but one of my favorite segments on Saturday Night Live is Weekend Update, where they take actual news happenings and do a funny spin on them. Yes, they are inappropriate and sometimes insulting, but they never miss on being funny. Here lately I fall asleep because by Saturday night, I’m usually wiped out. So, anywho, I was trying to come up with a topic for today’s blog and I couldn’t decide because so much seems to be happening. So here it is, a Mid-Week Update by Liz Talley

First, I got great news the Thursday after I last blogged. Seems my agent nabbed an 8 book deal with my publisher that will keep me busy well into 2014. Honestly, I was confused when she first told me. I had only subbed a four book proposal, and had even done that somewhat reluctantly because I wanted time to work on an idea I have for a women’s fiction book that would be a cross between Stephanie Plum and any of Mary Kay Andrew’s characters – kind of a grown up Southern Nancy Drew.  I knew I wanted to stick with Superromance because I love writing for them. I fit with my editor like peas and carrots. But I was surprised (and somewhat not) that she wanted to keep me happily plugging away for my line. So score one for job security.

Next up, the reason while I’ll be in and out today – I’m an extra on a movie! I have a writing buddy who often goes and does extra work for the heck of it, and thinking about those four books I don’t even have an idea for, I thought “Why not be an extra and observe firsthand what goes on on set?” so my friend sent my name in and Viola! I’m going to be an extrra on a movie today. What makes it doubly fun is I get to do hair and makeup because it’s a mob movie set in 1974. I went to wardrobe last week at the studios and the costume designer hooked me up with a lovely shapeless cream polyester dress. I will look like a white blob, but I’ll have a seventies’ up do and probably some blue eyeshadow. LOL. I had this grovy leather and silver fox coat that an elderly neighbor gave me when she was cleaning out her closet, and if that sucker isn’t 70s then I’m lyin’. I brought it in for the costume designer and she nearly wet her pants it was so perfect. Anyway, the movie is called The Iceman and stars James Franco, Ray Liotta, Maggie Gyllenhall, and David Schwimmer. I say hey from y’all. LOL.

Next up, is my committment to Weight Watchers. Yes, I joined and have been doing it for three whole days. Last night I had a starvation dream. I was holed up with some random people in a train in some kind of post-apocolyptic world, and we’d just fed the last of the acorns to the kids. We were weak and knew we were about to die, and then, miraculously a soldier appeared outside the train with a sack of bread. Then I woke up with my stomach growling. I know that when you start a “healthy lifestyle” aka DIET (but you can’t call it that cause that’s a bad word these days!) that you’re hungry, but I’ve never dreamed I was starving before. Needless to say, though I’m hungry, I’m committed. I will lose some weight, and just like my writing career, slow and steady wins the race.

As for writing, I have one chapter left in the last book of The Boys of Bayou Bridge series. I posted the cover for the first one – Waters Run Deep – above. I’m super excited about writing a series set in my home state of Louisiana. This series is modeled on the small town of Breaux Bridge, the Crawfish Capitol of the world, and involves three brothers and one sister who comes back from the dead. Not literally of course, because that would be a whole ‘nother kind of book. LOL. But it’s a great series with a kooky matriarch, a rambling old plantation house, and lots of misunderstandings, you know, like a real family. Anyway, I’m on the last chapter (YES!) and I’ll move on to a new book 🙂

Lastly, I registered for RWA Nationals day before yesterday. I wasn’t going to do it, but the more I thought about it, the more important it seemed to make this professional conference a yearly trip. Afterall, I’m finally making money with writing – not a great deal, mind you – but enough to put toward that trip. I’ve told myself that I have to spend money to make money. I use that a lot when I’m shopping, too, but I’m not sure how valid that is. But anyway, I hope I will see you in California, the original land of Mickey, healthfood and lots of starlets in rehab.

What about you? Have a newsflash for me? Something going on you need to share? The board is yours.

11 Responses

  1. well aren’t you the Chatty Cathy today! (hmm is Chatty Cathy too old of a reference for some of you???)

    But I loved your update. An extra on a movie…Color me jealous. What a valuable experience

    And the 8-book deal!!! WOW. That is great. So very thrilled for you. You are a perfect fit for Super Romance. Congrats!

    I, of course, have no news. hee hee

  2. You are busy, busy, busy. I wish you well with WW, and all you have going on in your life. Seriously, I’m buying you a scuba mask with an oxygen tank so you’ll able to come up for air. Go, Liz!!!

  3. Awesome news, Liz!! And what fun to be an extra. I love totally different experiences like that.

    Good luck with WW. I hate that the word “diet” has come to mean something negative. Your diet is whatever you eat. It can be a healthy or unhealthy one. Everyone’s on some kind of diet!

    I’m glad you’ll be at Nationals again. I don’t make much money these days, but the national conference is where most of my writing budget goes.

  4. Wow, Liz, congratulations! Yeah, on the book deal, but 3 days on WW!! Woo hooo! Hey, I started today (like I have every morning since Jan 1) and am already dreaming about the chocolate chip cookie in the break room.

    Can’t wait to meet you at Nationals!!! I’ll be the pudgy one waddling toward you…
    😉

  5. Congratulations on your 8 book contract. Fantastic!

    Hope you have (or had) fun as a movie extra. My sister used to do extra work on Law & Order. I’d spend the entire episode trying to catch a glimpse of her walking by or something. In the days before I had a DVR, that was a tough feat. But I got to watch Christopher Meloni, so it’s all good. 🙂

  6. Hey Liz!
    First of all, what are the names of the other books in the series ( I always love a good series!) and second keep up the good work with WW. The beginning is the hardest but it is totally worth the reward of a healthier you!
    Cheers!

  7. Wow, Liz! I’m exhausted after reading your post! LOL Congratulations! What an exciting way to start the New Year! 😉

    No news here…just the normal boring stuff. lol

  8. *now that I finally have internet access again!*

    congrats all around!!! Was your movie today? curious to know what you got to do!

  9. Whew! I’m back! I was so busy all day and my phone’s battery died. That was hard work for little money.

    I appreciate the contests – the books are called Waters Run Deep, Beneath an Autumn Sky, and The Road To Bayou Bridge. I’m very excited 🙂

    As for the movie, I was a diner and I’m pretty sure ill be in a lot of shots because i was right behind the two main characters – Michael Shannon and Winona Ryder. It was really interesting and I’m glad I did it. At least for once. It was fun getting hair and makeup.

  10. I read this post yesterday, tweeted and FBed it…and never commented! LOL

    Congratulations on all your great news! I’m glad you had fun being an extra. I’d love to do that someday, just to be on a set for a while. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

