Words Spoken True by Ann H. Gabhart

Book Description:

As the daughter of Louisville’s number one newspaper owner in 1855, Adriane Darcy is dedicated to the success of the Tribune.  Then brash young editor Blake Garrett takes over the competitor paper.  With his Yankee ways and controversial new reporting style, he launches a battle for readers.

The undeniable attraction between Adriane and Blake is hard to ignore.  But Blake is the enemy, and Adriane is engaged to the son of a powerful businessman who holds the keys to the Tribune’s future.  Blake will stop at almost nothing to get the story – and the girl.  Can he do both before it’s too late?

My Review:

If you have read any of my previous reviews then you are probably aware that I usually don’t read from the romance genre.  I am usually game for just about anything though, at least once, and I am so glad that I chose to read this book.

Words Spoken True practically engulfed every ounce of my interest, possibly because the main character, Adriane Darcy reminded me of myself in some ways.  She wasn’t your typical lady of the mid 1800s; she was unmarried at the age of twenty-two, and she wanted to work.

Every book that I read plays on a movie reel in my mind, and I could see this this one play out almost perfectly.  I won’t spoil anything for you, but if it were a movie (and I know it isn’t), there would have to be a different ending.  It isn’t a bad ending, don’t get me wrong, it just wasn’t the ending I was expecting.

Mrs. Gabhart certainly checked her facts before writing this story set in 1855.  She was able to write a very intriguing tale of life in our country’s history when the freedom to vote was limited.  She was also able to twist and tangle the characters in a way that her readers can relate to many of them throughout the story. I loved the way she brought the Christian feature to particular characters, and tell how their Christian faith had gotten them through some troubling times.  Yet again, she is able to have us, her much more modern readers, relating to her characters set in the middle of the 1800s.

I do hope you plan to read this book.  There are many things to take away from it, and that was kind of a surprise to me.

Words Spoken True published by Revell Books in the Historical, and Inspirational genres will be available for purchase February 1, 2012.  It is quite the page-turner, and hardly seemed possible that there are 353 pages.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Revell Books in exchange for an honest review.

 

 

One Response

  1. sounds like a book I’d love to read.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

