• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Books to Movies – Finally One that Works!

Friday night was girl’s night here at the Ohnoutka house. My two teenage daughters and I have been looking forward to this night ever since we heard about the new Stephanie Plum movie due out in 2012. It seemed like the release day would never get here. I have to admit, I was a bit worried they might not be able to pull it off. I mean, the books are just so darn funny. But all the suspense was well worth the wait.

Not one of us was disappointed. The characters fit perfectly for the most part and the storyline was spot on. The only change I would have made might have been the grandma. I’ve pictured Betty White in that role from the first day I picked up one of the books. I just couldn’t see Debbie Reynolds fitting the part. She was just not funny enough. LOL Although, I laughed till I cried when she shot the turkey to pieces in the middle of the dining room table with Stephanie’s new gun.

And then there was the chemistry between Morelli and Stephanie. Loved it! I’m hoping this won’t be the last one they make into a movie. So many times I’ve left the theater feeling cheated because a movie just didn’t measure up to the book. But for me, I enjoyed this one way too much. Shoot, I might even see it again.  🙂

Only one downside. Now, both my girls think it would be so cool to be a bounty hunter, carry a gun and hunt down the bad guys who skip bail!! Ack!! What have I done? LOL

Anyone else see it yet?  What was your favorite part?

 

Photo credits: http://www.imdb.com

20 Responses

  1. Okay, I had my doubts about this, but now it’s on the “Got to See” list! It took so long to get made, I’d given up all hope of it ever happening. Now, it’s here and it sounds like it was done right, so we’ll have to check it out!

  2. Another on the ‘to see’ list. I might even start to catch up on the list now that we have a TV in the living room. Last night, (for the first time) we saw a DVD as a family, popcorn and all. It was a new experience watching a movie with our young teenagers. I was surprsed to see how my daughter caught on to those subtle messages that get plug’d into movie. Made me wonder, what does she notice about me that I think she doesn’t notice.

    • LOL Terri! Yep, we’ve been wondering about that very same thing lately. And we thought we were being so smart! 🙂

      Movies and popcorn with the family without leaving the comfort of home…doesn’t get any better than that!

  3. Great to know they didn’t butcher it!!! Thanks, Missy.

  4. On my “to see” list. I’ll let you know

    • LOL Cyndi. I have one of those “to see” lists too. It dates back a few years. I’ve seen all the Disney movies out there since 1995, but it’s the adult movies I really need to catch up on. 🙂

  5. On my “wait until HBO” list to see. 🙂 probably won’t go to the movies over this one.

    • Man, I wish we had HBO! That way I could catch up on all those movies I want to see and never even leave my house! 🙂

      • I wanted to get rid of it a while back, but with the tivo box, makes it so worth it! I can record a movie that comes on at 2 am and watch it…4wks later if that’s when I get around to it!

        Love my HBO now. just wish some of the movies got there a little faster!

  6. I can’t wait to see this one – hubs actually wants to see it too (I got him to read the 1st book awhile back). We were going this weekend but things happened. Hope to go in the next couple of weeks.

    I don’t have a problem with Debbie Reynolds as grandma but I do see Betty White as a better one. I think Sandra Bullock would’ve made a good Stephanie and I am not happy (at least right now) with Ranger – that guy is nothing like I picture for the larger than life Ranger (think Rock would’ve made a much better Ranger).

    I also want to see Joyful Noise with Dolly Parton and Queen Latifa.

    • I bet your hubby will enjoy the movie too, Heather. I’m thinking about getting mine to go back with me for our date night. LOL Ranger was a bit different than I had him pictured in my head, but I liked him. He was still hot! 🙂

      Joyful Noise looks like a hit too!

  7. I’ll probably see it on Netflix. I could totally picture Betty White as the grandma, but I think in my head she looked more like Estelle Getty (the mother in Golden Girls). And I’m with Heather. A less-bulky Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson would definitely make a good Ranger.

    I’m rarely happy with who they cast in books-to-movies (except Harrison Ford as Jack Ryan), but I’m glad to know they did a good job with the movie itself. I’m sure I’ll love it.

    • Oh, she would have been good too, Gwen! Not that Debbie Reynolds did a bad job. Something just didn’t click for me with her. Can’t love them all I guess. LOL And the Rock! Oh, yes! Heather’s right, he would have been perfect!

  8. I was going to try to see this yesterday but didn’t make it, so now I might wait a couple of weeks to see it with my SIL.

    I don’t think I’d be at all happy with anyone they cast in any of these roles. The people in my head are so specific! I’m trying to let go of them before I see the movie, though. 🙂 I didn’t reread the book like my FIL and SIL did.

  9. Oh, Melissa, I so want to see it. Next weekend. Tell your girls no. It only looks funny and romantic. Maybe we should introduce them to some real bounty hunters 🙂 Great post, glad you had fun!

  10. Donnell, you better believe I told them “NO!” LOL Silly girls. I think they were teasing me, but just the idea they might consider it freaked me out! Have fun next weekend! 🙂

  11. I saw the preview a few days ago and put it on my Want to Watch list. It’s not on my Must Watch list. ; ) I agree with Donnel. Really bounty hunting is dirty and dangerous–not in a good way. I mean criminals aren’t usually nice, you know?

Show us some love and leave a comment!

