Valentines Day.

Valentines Day.

Right now I can’t think of any more controversial words. Or words that bring such diametrically opposed reactions.

When I saw that my blogging day fell on Valentines Day, I was a little excited, then the pressure hit. This is the day of love. This is a blog devoted to all things love. I mean we are romance writers. What could I write that would possibly be good enough?

Ack!

And doesn’t that reaction just fall in line with Valentines Day? What do I give him/her? Will it be enough?

I’ll be the first one to say I love this day. I’ve never been anti-Valentine, though I understand the sentiment a little. Yes, it’s commercial. Yes, it sucks when you don’t have a significant other, but then…not so much.

I was a single mom for many years and started a few traditions I think I’ll keep for as long as I have children in the home. We start celebrating on Feb 1st. I have little mail boxes for each of my children. Every time they show love, I put a little prize in the box and raise the flag. I don’t say anything. There’s no fanfare, but I love seeing their eyes light up when they see that little flag raised. Sometimes they ask and I’ll remind them of their action. Most of the time they’re surprised. Their actions can be as simple as saying: “No you use the ketchup first,” using their Chuck E Cheese tokens to buy a sibling, who didn’t get as many, a prize at the counter, or just walking in the house and hugging someone. It is those little things that really do count. And yup, these are some of this year’s prize winners. We usually do this for a week or so after Valentines Day or when I run out of treats. (Gotta love the Dollar Store)

This year, my husband and I decided instead of individual gifts, we’d buy each other a pay-per-view event that we both really wanted to see and couldn’t really afford. Okay, I’ll tell you, The Royal Rumble. Yes, I love wrestling. I got to see one of my favorite wrestlers, Seamus, kick butt. I got to cuddle on the couch with my husband and didn’t have to eat dinner. Yay Subway! I loved it.

Today, my dear husband stopped me in the hall and said, “You are different from any woman I’ve ever met.”

I paused, waiting, then asked him what he meant.

He went on to say that when I asked for the Royal Rumble for Valentines Day, I really meant it. I didn’t really expect flowers or candy too. I wasn’t just saying it and he could trust that.

That little confession warmed my heart more than a dozen roses. If he had a mailbox, I would have put a treat in it.

Love is shown in so many ways. Sometimes it comes in the shape of flowers, sometimes candy, sometimes it’s just knowing that someone appreciates you and will take the time to tell you that.

And aren’t we the luckiest people in the world that get to explore every facet of the most amazing emotion in existence?

Happy Valentines Day everyone. I wish you much love today and every day!

14 Responses

  1. Beautiful post, Shawna. I love the way you do Valentine’s Day!

    I’ll pick up something for the kids on my way home from work today (last minute is how I roll…) but my husband and I agreed not to do anything. This day is kind of hard for me. Not in a bad way, but just because we had our anniversary in October, my birthday in December, and his a week ago. I’m all specialed out. LOL

    I stuck loving sticky notes in several places for him, but that’s not very original. I’m like the most unromantic romance writer ever. But on the plus side, I have no expectations, so he has no pressure, either! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I think the sticky note thing is sweet! I was going to do that yesterday and forgot. I think the way we show love is as individual as we are and when you find another person that gets that? Priceless. Have a wonderful day!

  2. Love this post and what a CUTE idea with the mailboxes! mine has been wanting this clock since right after christmas. we picked it up in january and have been holding on to it for him.

    I finally got my box of chocolates out of the husband and I hope that will be our new tradition. It took years to get to this point and I would be fine with a cheesy box again next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    If you’re wondering, no he didn’t pick them up on his own. He called and the kid told him that you get flowers and chocolates for girls. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • LOL You gotta love the kids. My older daughter has been telling my husband that he needs to buy me flowers. She just broke up with her boyfriend so he bought her a rather elaborate, and very thoughtful, gift. I don’t really don’t want flowers, but it’s sweet she’s thinking of me.

  3. The mailboxes are such a fabulous idea! And the comment from your husband warmed my heart. You’re blessed to have each other. Here’s hoping you get to share many, many nore Valentine’s Days together!

  4. Great post, Shawna! I love the mailboxes, and that you and your husband could share something you’d both enjoy. He sounds like a great guy.

    I told my husband last year to stop buying cut flowers. I love the thought behind them, but not the industry itself, or the fact that they just go dead after a few days. And, like Natalie, I’m not the most romantic romance writer. I’d rather have time with him and a well written card (cuz that’s where he says all the good stuff ;-)).

    This year he got me a BN gift card. Smart man.

    • That’s why I don’t like cut flowers too! I think romance writers are a different kind of romantic. ; ) I’d rather have time than candy, flowers or anything, really. A BN gift card shows he knows you and loves you. What better gift is there?

  5. Shawna, your relationship with your hubby sounds like mine! You were meant to be together!

    Love the mailboxes too – you’re making traditions and memories for your kids, and boosting their self-esteem at the same time!

  6. I LOVE the mailbox idea. I love the concept of rewarding loving behavior. I love the idea that the kids aren’t doing loving acts to get a reward but are surprised when the reward comes. It’s a great learning lesson and one I suspect with be with them the rest of their lives. Good parenting!

    I woke up to a heart-shaped box of Reese’s Peanut Butter cups. I LOVE/ADORE/CRAVE RPB cups! Hubby is a keeper. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I must go spread the word on twitter about this great parenting post.

    • I’m a sucker for Reeses Peanut Butter Cups too! That’s an awesome gift. Thank you. It’s a fun thing and that makes it easy to do. Have an awesome day and eat one of those for me too. : )

  7. The mailbox idea is a great one and I meant to speak about it yesterday. We do not usually go all out for V Day. I bought him jalapeno chips and he bought me some Rolo’s. We are romance at it’s finest! LOL I usually pick up something small for the kiddos. i like to buy presents when you least expect them. That makes it more fun to me.

  8. Love it, Shawna! ๐Ÿ™‚ Sometimes it’s the little things that mean so much. ๐Ÿ™‚ Around here, we celebrate Valentine’s Day as a family since it is my oldest’s birthday. She’s 17! Ack! A box of chocolates and I’m a happy camper. LOL

Show us some love and leave a comment!

