• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Real Reader Review of Robyn Carr’s Hidden Summit

Happy Wednesday and welcome to a little something I call Real Reader Reviews. I totally made that up myself, but I love the idea of seeking out real readers to do reviews. When this one came across ENALR’s virtual desk, our regular (professional) reviewers were chock-full of commitments, so I thought it was a perfect opportunity to try out a real reader review. My gineau pig was my sister-in-law Tafta Rogers, a busy mother, teacher and avid romance fan. I quickly contacted her and begged for her to be our first real reader reviewer. We had originally intended to have the review ready in January, the release month, but being that we’re also dealing with real life, it didn’t quite work out. BUT here we are today with the review, and I’m really happy to welcome Tafta and thank her for doing the honors.

You know, we writers wonder all the time what readers really think about our stories. That’s why we close one eye and with a anxious heart cast our eye upon Amazon or Goodreads for a check on how our babies are faring. Many writers swear that reading your reviews is something you should NEVER, EVER do. Others see it as an opportunity to gauge whether their writing is resounding with readers. I’ll admit to taking a peek every now and then. Sometimes it’s an ouchy. Other times a warm fuzzy, but either way, once you release your book into the wild world of readers, it never belongs to you again….even if it does have your name on it.

So, here’s Tafta’s thoughts on the arc of Hidden Summit. The blurb for the book follows the review.

Conner Danson (alias for Danson Conner) has temporarily relocated to the everybody-knows-everybody town of Virgin River because he is the sole witness in a high profile murder. Conner is restless because his sister and nephews have been sent to another town for their protection. He is used to being with them and providing for them after his brother-in-law died in war, so being apart from his family (especially with a potential revenge kill hanging over his head) is extremely difficult for him. Even so, Connor gets a job with Haggerty Construction and begins to relax in the homespun town.

 Leslie Pertruso transfers to Virgin River after her husband’s affair and subsequentiol devastating divorce. Because she been a loyal competent employee for the Haggerty family for some time and they all think her ex is a real pompous jerk, they were happy to help Leslie discover a new life in Virgin River.

Neither Conner nor Leslie is looking for love or even a serious relationship. Mostly they are both emotionally fragile, if not raw. It was fun to watch Robyn Carr allow their relationship blossom from acquaintances misjudging each other to friends to lovers. Both characters grow and discover truths about their self and their past that shows the reader that their future together will be a very sweet happy ever after.

I thought this book would be just another small town romance, but I was in for a pleasant surprise. The depth of Carr’s characters and her intriguing story line make it so much more. The emotions are real and the conflicts sound…and I must say her description of Conner isn’t bad either 😉 In short, I would love to read more Virgin River stories and much more by Robyn Carr. 

 Okay, there you have it. Real reader thoughts about the book. She seemed to like it pretty well, so good for Robyn Carr for bringing a tale that surprised and delighted 🙂 Here’s the blurb for Hidden Summit:

Sick of running into her cheery ex-husband and his new wife, Leslie Petruso accepts a job at the Virgin River branch of Haggerty Construction and takes the high road right out of town. Now she’s got Paul Haggerty’s business running like a well-oiled machine. In fact, things are so busy Paul jumps at the chance to hire an extra set of hands.

Just like Leslie, Conner Danson has been burned by love. But if Leslie was disappointed by her relationship going bad, Conner was decimated. He’s got no time for women…although he spends an awful lot of time pretending not to notice Leslie. And she’s pretty busy “ignoring” the chemistry between them.

According to Conner and Leslie, they have only one thing in common—they’re done with love. But everyone in Virgin River can see that things are heating up at Haggerty Construction. And as far as Paul Haggerty can tell, the best thing he can do is hang on to his hard hat and watch the sparks fly!

9 Responses

  1. You sister in law did great! I confess to having not read Robyn yet but OMG, the fabulous comments I hear. I must get this rectified soon.

    • I think I’ve read one of hers from her early years. Haven’t had time to read here lately…except what I have to read for things like the RITAs. I definitely have Robyn on my TBR list. Thanks 🙂

    • I’ve not read her yet either. OMG, there are too many good authors to read, you know? I’m glad Tafta got the chance to read the book. She really liked it, so I guess I have another TBR on my list!

  2. I had the wonderful opportunity to meet and speak with Robyn Carr, at a dinner, the night before she spoke at my local RWA chapter. She’s funny, bubbly, and so open and easy to get to know!

    Cyndi, you’ve never read Robyn? OMG girl, get started! But start at the beginning of the Virgin River series, and work your way through – you’re going to eat them up.

    • This is the 15th in the series, btw. So I’m definitely thinking if you haven’t read Robyn Carr, you should start at No. 1.

      Thanks for the comment, Laura. Good to know that Robyn is such a fun, friendly author 🙂

  3. Great review! I haven’t read her books either, but I’ll be checking them out. 🙂

  4. Great review and I love the idea of having “real readers” review books for something extra added to the blog.

  5. Your sister is awesome! Loved her comments.

    I haven’t had the chance to read Carr either. Like Liz, my reading time is shrinking. if it’s longer than a novella to read at night before bed, I need a block of time. or a deadline finished!

  6. Love this, Liz! I read an older Robyn Carr (Angel Falls series??) and was disappointed because the romance was almost an afterthought. Could have been left out even.

    I think I’d like the Virgin River series much better. I’ll have to check one out before she comes to my chapter retreat in April. Thanks to you and Tafta!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

