Road Trip & Reconnecting

Happy Thursday, everyone. I’ve just returned from the great, huge state of Texas where my son and my husband ran a marathon together. Terrific time and they both finished.  This was my husband’s 15th marathon.  It was my son’s first, and he swears it’s his last.  Still, it was vitally important to see my boy all grown up. In three short months, he’ll be marrying his college sweetheart.

Dave and Melanie’s love is new, and they still have those proverbial stars in their eyes. While my husband and I have endured/survived and celebrated nearly 29 years of marriage.

This past week our road trip was my husband’s and my way to reconnect. That meant I was rarely on line (almost killed me) and I (ha ha) forgot that I was a writer. My husband never answered his business cell (which I can assure you, unlike me, he had no trouble doing).

We drove from Colorado Springs to Amarillo, to Fort Worth to Houston, back to San Antonio, and now as I type this I’m home sweet home again.

I enjoyed this past week. There was lots of talking involved, a romantic stroll down the River Walk and valuable alone time.

But I have to admit, I can’t wait to get back to my WIP and become a writer again.

Once again, I’m curious.  Do you and your significant other plan alone time? Do either of your careers interfere? What do you do to keep your love alive?

Make it a fabulous March.

13 Responses

  1. My dh and I have been together 24/7 since 2003 when he retired. I thought he would drive me crazy (and visa versa) but no. It’s pretty great to be living with your best friend ever! Our love is as strong as ever, probably stronger.

    I’m glad you and your dh got some time together and both of you ignored the call of the career! That can be very difficult.

    I wondered what you were doing in Texas!

    • Cyndi, excellent. I can tell that about you from your marvelous posts. You’re an anomaly, you know that? Most women worry what they will do when they are thrust into retirement and a lot of alone time. This is cool and special!

  2. Sounds like a great trip!

    My husband and I are celebrating 20 years this fall. Our relationship works because we have no problem doing our own thing. We don’t need to be entertaining each other. We DO need to reconnect from time to time, so we go on a standard date. 🙂

    • Natalie, exactly. Different interests give you much to talk about and share. Congratulations on 20 years!!! My husband and I date a lot LOL. But we’re definitely not afraid to go our separate ways.

  3. DH and I will be celebrating number 26 the 15th of this month (yeah, the Ides of March!) We’re both in second marriages, so we came into this with an instant family of 3 kids. Since we didn’t have those early years as a twosome, we worried about how it would be when we became empty-nesters. It’s wonderful! We travel a lot in our motorhome. You have to be uber-compatible to spend two months together in such cozy conditions and not drive each other crazy:-)

    • Et tu, Brute? :))) Kidding, Pamela. What a fantastic story. I love people who value relationships. We need a blog about that motorhome. How can you write in such close proximity? Congratulations on 26 glorious years!

  4. Sounds great, Donnell. My dad and I bond over exercise too, and always try to get in at least one run when we’re together. =)

    Apparently March is popular for weddings (big surprise). The Engineer and I will celebrate 17 years this month. We’ve made it a point to make sure our kids were not the only thing we had in common. We make plans for the future that are just about the two of us. And even though his hours are long right now–especially with his commute–we go to Kung Fu together 2-3 times a week, which gives us time in the car to catch up, and a shared experience.

    And every once in a while, we go out alone on the weekend.

    • Gwen, love that you call your spouse The Engineer. How funny. I have one similar as you know. Engineers are rocks. Sometimes Mr. Spock rocks, but I’m finding the older we get, the more I find his traits endearing. I know exactly where I stand with my husband. How many women can say that?

      Also, very cool about bonding with your dad over excercise. We’re a hiking, card playing, Scrabble playing family. Congratulations on 17th years!!!

  5. Sound like yall had an awesome time!

    My desk is right next to my husband’s chair. so in the evenings, even if I’m at the computer, we’re still ‘together’. can still talk, chat or I can glance at the tv to see what he’s watching.

  6. Hi, Devil Woman Keri Okay, I need to send you a trophy. You can tune out the noise from the TV? That aint’ happening at my house. I pay attention to words. Very cool, that you can share like that!

  7. Sounds like a Great trip! And you where here, in Houston! I knew I should have been waving at someone! LOL Hope you enjoyed your stay. Running has and never will be my thing. Ugh…

    Congratulations on 29 years! 🙂 Hubby and I are working on 22 right now. We should really plan more things together without the kids tagging along. Time is always slipping away from us.

  8. Oh, Melissa, next time I’m there, coffee, okay?!! Running is not my thing either. I’ve done it on the treadmill but that’s as far as it goes. Congratulations on 22 years. Wow, the EBNLR crew is a devoted bunch, aren’t they?

Show us some love and leave a comment!

