Ascent From Darkness by Michael Leehan

Ascent From Darkness: How Satan’s Soldier Became God’s Warrior

Book Description:

His assignment from Satan was to kill Pastor Craig Groeschel. Today he sits on the front row of that pastor’s church.

For twenty years of his life, Michael Leehan lived and worked for Satan. At age 33, he made a decision to serve the darkness that he felt had consumed his life, but instead of making things easier, it began a steeper downward spiral replete with ritualistic cuttings, blood sacrifices, jail time, job loss, estrangement from his friends and family, and actual murderous assignments from Satan himself.

Ascent from Darkness relates Michael’s gripping, real-life encounters, enslavement to the powers of darkness, and miraculous emancipation from the clutches of the Enemy.

For anyone who has ever struggled with spiritual warfare, addiction, depression, or hopelessness, Michael’s story is a bold reminder of the redemptive truth of the gospel that anyone-even a soldier of Satan-can be transformed and used for the glory of God.

Now a servant of Christ, Michael exhibits the power of God’s relentless love and offers readers the chance to experience their own ascent into God’s glorious light.

My Review:

Pure curiousity is what caused me to read this book.  As a Christian, I do not understand Satanism.  I do not understand how someone could want to sell their soul to the devil, harm someone, or themselves.  I had no idea that regular bookstores sold Satanistic bibles.  Seriously, I learned a lot while reading this book.

This is a very dark and disturbing book that has a great ending.  It was sad reading page after page of what Michael went through during his time as a soldier for Satan.  I was filled with hope several times as I read about Christians reaching out to him, even children.  I caught myself pulling for him, hoping he would do the right thing.

Several times during the book I caught myself wondering what I would do if I had been around someone going through this.  I also wondered how our church would handle such a situation.  So many questions went through my mind.

This is a very well written book.  It is as luring as a fishing lure, then the hook snags you and doesn’t let you go.  While reading this I was always thanking God for always having open arms, for forgiving us when we fall short, and always leaving a door open for us.

I received this title from the publisher via BookSneeze for my honest review.

It isn’t a book that I would recommend to just anyone.  I have recommended it to a couple of people, and I am anxious to hear how they feel about it.  If you decide to dive into this deep dark book, please let me know what you think about it.

One Response

  1. One of the best books Ive ever read! Absolutely loved it!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

