Truth or Fiction? Don’t Be Too Quick to Judge!

Good morning! Hope you’re all bright-eyed, bushy tailed and ready to tackle the day. Me, I’m still wishing the weekend was a tad bit longer. Still don’t understand how it can fly by like that.

We had a great chapter meeting on Saturday with a visit from a real live U.S. Department of Homeland Security agent. Talk about just what the doctor ordered! My head is still swimming with all the information and wild stories he was kind enough to share with us. Real life is truly stranger than fiction. I will never again worry that something I write will have readers saying, “That could never happen.” What people will do for money….Unbelievable!

From tarot card readers running drugs by using little old men and women to transport it, to a strange lady taping roaches to the wall with electrical tape the new story ideas are spreading like wild-fire in my brain and clogging up all my blogging ideas.

So I thought I’d share a great book with you today by one of my fellow chaptermates. I love Carla Rossi’s stories!  Carla is not only an awesome writer, but such a sweet lady with a wonderful sense of humor. I can’t wait to start reading this one!

Blurb:

A tattooed rocker and an uptight music teacher—who says God doesn’t have a sense of humor?

Candi Canaberry has been the worship leader at Cornerstone Fellowship since the doors opened. Candi has dedicated her life to praise and worship, so when Cornerstone explodes into mega-church territory, Candi is sure she’ll be the one to take her team to the next level—isn’t she the obvious choice? Apparently not. Church leadership has other ideas. She’s given a partner to share her duties. But a one-time rocker with zero praise and worship experience?

Recently saved Samuel “Shade” Blackledge is new to Cornerstone Fellowship. He’s convinced a strong church family is what will help keep his head above water as he turns from things of the past and builds a new life. The Ex-Dead Lizard rock guitarist is shocked when the pastor suggests he might be just what the worship team needs.

But could God really want a tattooed veteran of the club scene? And what about his less-than-Godly lifestyle to this point—not the least of which is a baby girl he’s never seen?

Worship practice has never been this interesting as Candi and Shade work their way towards each other—and Unlikely Praise.

Links to make it easy. 🙂

View book trailer/video –  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p17F9wnBUo4
Kindle – http://www.amazon.com/Unlikely-Praise-ebook/dp/B007G4KJ5E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1330715662&sr=8-1
Print book from Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/Unlikely-Praise-Carla-Rossi/dp/1611161428/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1330872697&sr=8-3
Buy print book from publisher – http://www.pelicanbookgroup.com/ec/unlikely-praise-softcover
Buy downloadable e-book from publisher – http://www.pelicanbookgroup.com/ec/unlikely-praise
Nook:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/unlikely-praise-carla-rossi/1109235827?ean=2940013920354&itm=1&usri=unlikely+praise

** I watch World’s Dumbest Criminals for ideas sometimes. So just for fun, and we’ll call it research too. LOL What’s the oddest thing you’ve ever heard of a criminal doing?

19 Responses

  1. The funniest I ever heard of was a bank robber in Ft. Lauderdale who walked in, went to the Customer Desk, and wrote his note for the teller. He stood in line, gave it to the teller, who, as trained, immediately complied. The robber left with about 20K in cash.

    The problem came when authorities realized he’d written his note on one of his own deposit slips. Back in the day when a DS had full name, address, city, state, ZIP.

    The police didn’t need to expend a lot of time and manpower to catch this particular Master of Crime. When the cops went to his home, he was in the kitchen eating a sandwich, and the bag full of cash was sitting on the coffee table…..

  2. That’s a good one, William! I love getting the scoop from people who work in those worlds every day. I’m trying to recall a dumb story from my Citizens Police Academy classes.

    I can’t think of a really good one right now, but I do remember some of the stranger-than-fiction stuff, like the undercover narcotics officer who went to buy furniture, walked in the door and was greeted by one of his previous collars. He turned his wife around and went to another store. They found what they wanted, applied for credit and drove around the back to pick up their order. Another guy he’d arrested was working the loading dock. He went back inside and ripped up his credit paperwork, went to the ATM, and paid cash.

    • Gwen, this is too funny! I’ve often wondered how many times those in law inforcement come across someone they’ve arrested. Do they constantly check over their shoulder? Are they worried about someone coming back to even the score? Gesh…We don’t even come close to paying these brave people enough.

  3. I always like the ones where the try and go through chimneys and get stuck and have to be rescued. Really? Always leaves me shaking my head.

    I could hardly get past the roaches taped to the wall. Ugh. That’s freaky.

    Sounds like you had a great weekend. Keri and I had the NOLA conference – we had lots of fun, of course, and we missed you this year. You gotta come next year and bring Jenn. We love our Texas neighbors 🙂

  4. I had an investigator tell me a story I used in my book – a guy was trying to bring cash into the country, and he packed it in an 18-wheeler’s tires. Problem was, one was a cheap retread.

    Can you imagine being behind that truck when the tire blew?

  5. I love the videos of hold-ups where the little old lady behind the counter pulls out a bat and cracks the perpetrator over the head. Such sweet justice!

    • I love those too, Pam! Have you seen the video where the guy honks at the little lady trying to cross the street and she hits his car with her purse? It sets the air bag off! LOL That’ll teach him! 🙂

  6. I confess to loving Jay Leno’s stupidest criminals segments. You guys have covered all the ones I know of.

    But I remember reading a police report (very small town in Arkansas) where the cops were trying to arrest a naked guy who was holding them at bay with a can of whipped cream. BRAHAHAHAHAHA

  7. I had my chapter meeting on Saturday, too, and we had a local cop who’s also a Special Deputy U.S. Marshall. He mostly answered questions, like, “What are your duties as a SDUSM and is it ever legal to own a machine gun?” and “Is it illegal to have sex in uniform?” LOL

    • so is it illegal to have sex in uniform??? Inquiring minds need to know

      • Love to hear the answer to this one too! LOL

      • Whoops, sorry, I didn’t get this comment for some reason!

        Strictly speaking, not illegal–except for the guy doing it with a prostitute in his squad car, but the uniform wasn’t really relevant. LOL. It’s not *allowed* but that doesn’t seem to stop people. He didn’t really address something like doing it in private with your spouse, he more mentioned the on-duty stuff that happens.

  8. Truth can be stranger than fiction!

    I’m a Carla Rossi fan!!! Can’t wait to read this one!

  9. I have a couple friends in the police department share a few good ones but this story came out on the news a couple months back. I had look it up to make sure I got the story right.

    “A would-be hoodlum attempted to rob a branch of Halifax in the City, demanding £700,000 from the cashier. So far, so routine.

    However, instead of handing over his swag bag in which to deposit the loot, the incompetent felon gave the cashier his gun.”

  10. sounds like a good meeting! I could so go for a longer weekend. Running around with Liz at the NOLA was great fun but boy am I tired!

    We watch world’s dumbest. loved the one of the guy robbing the gas station. he dove over the counter…instead of just walking around the end 2feet away.

  11. Sorry for the late response! Internet trouble…again! Ugh.

    These are all great! I especially love the giving the gun to the cashier instead of the note. Too funny, Terri!

    And NOLA next year sure would be fun!! Maybe if I start working on it now, I can bring a big group. 🙂 It would be a blast for sure!

Show us some love and leave a comment!

