• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

Book Characters Have All The Fun

Thanks, Cyndi for tossing up my recipe for the morning until I got home and could get my post going.

On to business. Characters having all the fun. I don’t know about other writers, but when I can’t do something but I want to, I dump off this surely awesome thing on my characters. The heroines from The Roughnecks, for example happened to get all the pie I can’t have while on my diet. Chocolate, lemon, pecan. Doesn’t matter. If it’s unhealthy, loaded with sugar and carbs, they get it.

Lucky for them, they happen to be decently athletic. I mean, pouring up that sangria on the weekends burns calories, right? (Sangria because I’ve never had it and want to fix it this summer.) Anyway, they get to have their pie and keep their figures too. This is pretty much the perfect world for me.

Another set of characters, poor things. I was really craving cupcakes and cookies. Yep, she likes to bake. I think you’re beginning to see a common theme with me and my characters. When I want something to eat I can’t have, they get it. But what about other things?

Take Jill Shalvis’s Instant series. Set around a lodge where there is hiking in the summer, skiing and loads of fun in the winter. If I knew anything about those things, I would be all over that kind of idea because my checkbook says I can’t spend a week at a ski lodge. Was Jill missing the slopes that year or was she kicked back in a room. We’ll never know. Unless she happens to drop by…I guess.

Christie Ridgeway’s knitting series? Stores on the beach. Cute knitting things. Sunny southern California. Oh yeah. Again, if I knew anything about sunny, southern California, I would have characters all over this setting too.
Our Liz Talley here at the blog has a series of stories set in little old Oak Stand, Texas. One of her heroine’s cooks naked under an apron. Well, Liz? Down to the mat and explain that one in relation to your life. 🙂

I’m heading to Pensacola Beach this weekend for the Silken Sands Conference. My first time at Pensacola when I’m old enough to remember…and old enough to remember it to want to go back! I won’t be surprised if I have a set of characters who live there on the beach. What’s a better reason than that to go back there?

What’s a book you’ve read where the setting was so good or the food so good or something that happened was so good that you wanted to try it?

6 Responses

  1. Nora Roberts writes such realistic settings. I’m thinking of Hot Ice in particular, but her Irish books, too. And I’m wondering, did she actually take a trek to the jungle, or just Google it like the rest of us mortals?

  2. Ann Rice – New Orleans, Louisiana.

    I went there on the back of a motorcycle in two days (don’t ask, my butt has still not recovered) just because of her, and her books.

    And you know what? For once in life, the place (and the FOOD) met all my expectations and exceeded them. Sigh.

  3. I haven’t read the book yet, but just an excerpt of Busted in Bollywood by Nicola Marsh made me go get takeout at Passage to India. 🙂

  4. Hmmm….I’m thinking…and I’m not naked under my apron. Heck, I don’t even wear an apron. I suppose I want to go back to Charleston and Savannah and see those two cities with new eyes because of Mary Kay Andrews books. I lived in Beaufort SC for a year and went to those cities, but I was preggers and not much fun was to be had.

    Fun post and I wish I were going with you this weekend. Sounds like so much fun. Last time I went it was cold…looking good for you 🙂

  5. Mary Stewart’s Authurian trilogy made me set England as a travel goal–specifically Stonehenge. And as a rabid Diana Gabaldon fan, I would love to go back to Scotland to tour the places in her books.

  6. The other day I was listening to a book on tape as I was driving home, and the characters were eating Taboule…I couldn’t get it out of my head and I had to have some. It happens to me alot… you authors aren’t so good for my waistline!
    lol.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

