• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

My Worst Date . . . Ever

By Laura Drake

My apartment manager set me up. Really. This woman I hardly knew called me out of the blue, telling me that a guy in the complex had noticed me, and asked if she’d introduce us. My silence must’ve telegraphed stunned, because she rushed on to say that he was a successful businessman, polite in the old-school way, and kind of shy. He was raising his two kids, all on his own…

Before she could launch into a saving-kittens-from drowning-story, I said, okay, half to shut her up, and half because I was curious to meet this throwback.

She brought him by that afternoon, knocked on my door, introduced him, then took off. Now here I stand, this shy, good looking man on my doorstep. What am I supposed to do with him? He invited me out that night, and I said yes. Even I couldn’t say no to that cute little-boy smile.

He took me to dinner, and proceeded to drag me through every detail of the horrific divorce he’d just gone though . . . for TWO HOURS. I’m sitting there thinking, “He may be cute, but I’m so out of here.”

Then it got worse. He tells me his goal is to be married within the next year. Wow. Really? Oh yes, and he has full custody of his two kids. Well, I’d never had kids for a reason – never wanted them. And I was never getting married again. Ever.

Talk about red flags!  I couldn’t wait to get home.

He dropped me at my doorstep, and looked like he wanted to kiss me, but didn’t.

Then he asked me if I wanted to go for a ride on his motorcycle that weekend. He has a motorcycle? I LOVE motorcycles! The wind in your hair, the thrill of speed, wrapping your arms around that strong chest . . .

Okay, so one more date. At least he couldn’t talk about his divorce while we were riding, right?

That shy guy and I celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary next week.

He went from the worst date I’d ever had to my best friend. Who even knew that could happen?

After thirteen short years, Laura Drake became an instant success in December, selling three romances set in the world of professional bull riding to Grand Central. THE SWEET SPOT, in which a couple struggles to reclaim their lives after a tragic loss, will be released in the spring of 2013.

http://LauraDrakeBooks.com

25 Responses

  1. Good thing he had a motorcycle! LOL Congratulations on your sale and on 25 years!

  2. I would LOVE to hear his side of this story! What a fun he-said she-said that would make. Next month? Please please please?

  3. what a great story! and YES on Keri said. His side of the story would be so much fun!

    WOW, though. Think about the road not taken…what if you’d kissed him off after that one date.

    Congrats on 25 years of wedded bliss!

    • yeah Cyndi, but this blog is about romance! You’re not going to get that out of Mr. Alpha Dog, trust me. Before we got married, he used to leave roses on the windshield of my car, sweet cards, etc,

      After we were married, they stopped. I asked him why. He looked at me like I was crazy, and said, “I was courting.”

      Go figure.

  4. I LOVE how-we-met stories, and yours is great. It’s so cool that he finagled the apt manager into approacing you with an introduction::sigh::
    Today just happens to be my 26th anniversary! I, too, inherited two children and brought one of my own into the mix. Life together has been interesting–and lovely:-)
    Congrats on all your successes!

  5. Great story Laura, like a true romance plot. 🙂 And I agree with Cynthia. I want to hear his side of the story!

  6. Worst date ever must be the key to happiness, because I couldn’t wait for my first date to be over with I-would-have-be-horrified-to-know-then my future husband. When I opened my apartment door he was in a cowboy shirt and cowboy boots–and he drove a pick-up! (My previous boyfriend wore three piece suits, Wingtips, and drove a Porsche.) He took me to a restaurant where they cut off your tie–if you’re wearing one. Later, he said I hugged the door handle of his car and he thought, “What a tense lady.” He didn’t give up, though. A very good thing for me!
    Love,
    Fae Rowen

  7. Awe!! That’s awesome! and sweet!

  8. Sorry to disappoint – my first date with hubby was WONDERFUL. But (and there’s always a catch) – he didn’t call me for like two weeks and I hated him like poison for it…cause I liked him so much. 🙂

  9. Hope you guys had a Wonderful Anniversary!! 🙂

  10. GREAT story. My wife and I had our first date on my motorcycle. After 150 miles I found out she did not like motorcycles!!! So why did she go on this ride… Long story short we have been married 33 years.

  11. I’m so behind on posts, Laura, but I had to comment on this one. What a great story!! I always think about the almost-didn’t-happens and could’ve-happeneds in life.

    The first time my now-hubby called and left a message, I misunderstood his name and called someone else back. Good thing he tried again!

  12. […] as well. The past months, I’ve written about bicycling (you can read it here,) motorcycling (here,) and fly fishing (here.) I realized I haven’t shared my biggest obsession. No, not […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

