Harriet Beamer Takes the Bus by Joyce Magnin

Book Description:

Aging and recent widow Harriet Beamer insists she’s getting along fine with her dog Humphrey in Philadelphia … until she falls for the fourth time, injuring her ankle, and causing her son and daughter-in-law to cry foul. Insisting Harriet move in with them in California, they make a bet that her ankle is broken, and she foolishly promises to move if they’re right. Four x-rays later, Harriet’s ankle—and her heart—are broken.

She packs up, ships her huge salt and pepper collection to California, and prepares to move away from the only life she knows. The only catch? She’s doing it her way. Just wait till her daughter-in-law hears Harriet will travel cross country only by public transportation and alternate means.

What follows is a hilarious, heartwarming journey by train, metro bus, ferry, and motorcycle. Along the way, Harriet discovers that although her family thinks it’s time for her to be put out to pasture—God has a different plan.

My Review:

I love old people!  Love ’em!  It hasn’t always been that way for me, they used to scare me.  These days I could sit and talk to them for hours.  Older people have so many great stories, and that is why I loved this book so much.  Harriet Beamer had great stories before she took the bus I am sure, but I loved following her along on her adventure across the nation.

I found myself driving down the road thinking about Harriet, and what she was doing along her trip to live with her son and his wife.  I know she is a fictional character, but Joyce Magnin brought her to life and I was engrossed in her story.

 

 

===================================================================================

Here at ENLR we are participating in blog hop, and if you are kind enough to leave a comment on this post you will be entered to win a copy of The Pioneer Woman Cooks – Food from My Frontier, PW’s new cookbook.  The winner will be announced tonight on my personal blog, Another Chance Ranch.

Good news!  If you leave a comment here, or on any other posts starting with yesterday’s post, you will be entered into our grand prize giveaway.  The more you comment the better!

Good luck!!

2 Responses

  1. Great review. Like the book description, definately adding to my must read/buy list. This is a new author for me and would love to win and read this book. Thanks for the giveaway.

  2. Harriet sounds delightful. We can grow old gracefully and still do it our own way. She must have known my aunt. I now have her salt and pepper collection, all 15 boxes of them : )

Show us some love and leave a comment!

