• Guest Romantics

    August 2012
    11 - Nancy Martin
    November
    13 - JL Hilton

  • *WINNER RT's 2011 Reviewers Choice Award!!* Amazon
  • New Releases

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N
  • $4.79 at Amazon | B&N | Carina
  • Prior Releases

  • Re-Release 9-11-12 |Amazon | B&N
  • October 4, 2011
  • $5.39 at Amazon | B&N | Carina

  • .99 at Amazon | B&N |
  • $5.50 at HQN | Amazon | B&N
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | TMP
  • $1.99 at ARe | Amazon | B&N
  • $5.50 at Amazon | B&N
  • AppleTrail, Arkansas Vol 1. Print & Digital Bundle

  • Available for $2.99 at

    Amazon | B&N | ARe

  • To the folks at the FTC (and anybody else who wants to know): All books featured or reviewed on this site were purchased by the reviewer unless otherwise noted. Books may be supplied by the author or publisher for review. Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews. We do not sell ad space nor advertise any book or author for compensation.

  • Meta

The Long Journey Pays Off

20 hour drive – 2 states – 2 days – Around 12,000 feet elevation.

Have you ever watch the movie “Smokey and The Bandit,” with Burt Reynolds? You know, the one where they have a long way to go and a short time to get there? LOL

Sally Fields as Carrie – “I’m goin’ I’m goin! I got the metal to the petal and the thing to the floor!”

This movie and the song that goes along with it kept playing in my head this past week. Especially on the way home! Vacation is fun, but there is nothing like your own bed.

We left a week ago, early Saturday morning and headed to Telluride,Colorado for our Spring Break vacation with the kids. The drive is always the hardest part, but getting to see the scenery change so drastically along the way is well worth it. From flat plains, to huge almost sculptured rocks jutting up from the ground in the middle of nowhere, to driving through rocky hills and then the breathtaking mountains the eyes are never bored. Grey dirt, red dirt, black dirt. Pine trees, oak trees, to no trees. LOL

My least favorite part of the entire trip would have to be driving up the side of the mountains on those sloped, winding roads with the icy road signs popping up every few feet. We’d go up and then down, around one side and then around the other. It felt very much like a roller coaster. I don’t do roller coasters anymore. Haven’t been on one since my first child was born. So as we make our way up, I kept wondering who in their right mind thought a metal guardrail was going to do anything to stop someone from plunging to their deaths. Really? How about a cement wall. Yeah, that might work. Or you could just close your eyes like me.  🙂

Telluride is now one of our favorite skiing spots, despite the fact it’s a little farther away and a lot harder to get to. The town is filled with great little shops that my girls and I visited several times over our stay and the neatest restaurants with the most mouth watering food you could ever imagine.  The ski slopes are perfect for all skiers regardless of experience. My 12 year old son, the dare devil extraordinaire, was skiing blacks before we left and totally wore his father out. LOL On one of our many bus rides around town, we found out from some of the locals that Tom Cruise owns a 2000 acre ranch complete with a motor cross track. Who knows, maybe I skied by or almost ran into (literally) Tom Cruise! You never know. 😉

We are already planning our next trip!

Have a favorite vacation spot you’d like to share? Do you like to fly or drive when traveling?

***ENLR is participating in the Luck ‘O The Irish Giveaway Hop. 

Today one lucky commenter will win an ebook copy of my latest release, “Target of Betrayal,” as well as a $10 I-Tunes gift card.  Check back Tuesday in the comments section of this post to see if you are a winner!  

And don’t forget to visit the blog each day during the blog hop! One of our lucky commenters will win the GRAND Prize! A $25 Gift Card.  Visit Everybody Needs a Little Romance and comment often for your chance to win!

Check out this link for other great blogs and prizes!  http://www.romanceatrandom.com/luck-o-the-irish-giveaway-hop-march-17th-thru-31st/

Good luck!!

33 Responses

  1. Looks like a great time was had by all!

    You mean this song???

  2. LOL Will! Yep, that’s the one all right! Now it will be playing in my head all day today as well! 🙂 Loved that movie!!

  3. I’ve only just started following this blog and really enjoy the diversity of the posts—writing, books, life….and all things romance! Okay, so…My favorite vacations as a kid were camping (sometimes 4 weeks at a time, in tents with foam padding under the sleeping bags). Now my husband and I have started the tradition with our son, but this year we’re opting for a cabin. 😀

    Oh, and as far as Tom Cruise…I’m still bitter that he’s playing Jack Reacher. Good character casting? Not hardly.

    • Hi Emily. Love that you’ve found us.

      I just had to jump in and say..Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher…ridiculous. UGH.

      • Well, I know tons of guys who swear they’re boycotting the movie b/c they’re so ticked. But you know as well as I do, they’ll be there opening night. LOL

    • Yes, Emily! So glad to have you with us! My family loves camping too. Although we can do without the tents. After a few trips, we realized real quick they weren’t for us. We started with a pop-up camper and now have a 30′ travel trailer. All the comforts of home. Yep. THat’s roughing it enough for me. LOL

      Tom Cruise is not one of my favorites. I liked him in Top Gun, but after that not so much. Bad casting is right! I’m not sure I’ll be paying to see that one! Ugh.

    • Hi, Emily! So glad to have you here, and thanks for the nice comments!

      I used to be a tent camper. I still think that’s the only way to really be considered camping, but haven’t gone since my kids were tiny. 🙂

  4. First, OMG, me, too, Emily. I’m sick about it. Sick, I tell ya. I could rant for hours upon hours of why he is the exact polar opposite of Jack Reacher. I’m really heartbroken over this and a little mad at Lee Child for letting Tom Cruise and his production company bulldoze him into to accepting that dark midget as the glorious, rough around the edges, 6ft. 4 inch golden god Jack Reacher. Ugh.

    Okay, sorry, Mel. Just a bit peeved.

    You’re trip looks fabulous! Love the pics. We’re about to embark upon our favorite of all vacations – Disney World. My family loves it – we have an addiction. We will be flying this time (the one time we drove, we swore we’d hock things to fly the next time) and we’ll stay on Disney property and take the buses. This year we’re trying the cabins at Fort Wilderness, so like Emily we’ll be “roughing it” with a microwave, A/C and maid service 🙂 but still get to make smores with Goofy.

    • LOL Liz! It was really a blast. Now, don’t shoot me, but we’ve never been to any of the Disney parks. We kept waiting till the youngest was old enough and then well, time just got away from us. LOL Maybe we’ll take the grandkids? Ack! Can’t even think about that now. Hopefully I’ve got a few more years before that happens. Wood! Where’s the wood? I need to knock on some wood! 🙂

    • We stayed in Fort Wilderness last month in our motorhome. Fun time!

  5. I don’t mind driving. Give three lbs of sunflower seeds and three CDs with songs I can sing to, Bam!, I could drive around the world. But you’re right, nice scenery does help.

    I’m not sure if I have a favorite trip (many great memories), but you’re right about some of them roads. Narrow, unsecure, scary roads, who approves them? Not a city dweller. I can’t drive those roads while eating my sunflower seeds.

    I’m wondering if the East coast roads are as challenging as the West coast. That’s the plan for this coming summer, a ‘road trip’ to the East Coast. I’m hoping a different authority approved their roads.

    • Hmmm…never tried the sunflower seeds, Teri. But if they help make the time pass more quickly I’m buying me a ton! LOL We’ve never done the East coast either. You’ll have to let us know how it goes! 🙂

    • YES on the sunflower seeds! They keep me awake on long trips. 🙂

      I’m from New England. The east coast is much more mellow geographically. Even if you have to drive through mountains, they’re aged, wise old mountains, not young, arrogant upstarts like the Rockies. 🙂

      BUT the traffic is really heavy which means you have:

      —lots of cars driving way too fast and too close together (near the cities)

      —”bad” roads as in wavy, bumpy, grooved, worn, potholed due to the aforementioned traffic as well as way too many tractor-trailers and bad winter weather

      —constant construction to repair said bad roads

      But it’s worth it! Some great stuff to visit out here.

  6. We went skiing at Bridger Bowl near Bozeman, MT over New Year’s. My husband decided it’s a no win kind of vacation: when the skiing is good the roads are awful and when the roads are good the skiing isn’t so great.

  7. I love car tri–
    EAST BOUND and DOWN, Loaded up and truckin’–
    –the boys whining in the back seat, the “are we there–
    We’re gonna do what they say can’t be done!
    –the condom machines in the gas station bathrooms–
    We’ve got a long way to go, and a short

    GAH! What have you done to me?

  8. NO NO NO

    I refuse to sing… Eastbound and down…Loaded up and truckin’…HELP ME

    We drive everywhere. On first glance, flying is a time saver. However, I have to drive 70 miles ONE WAY to get to the airport 2 hours before the flight. So I’m up to 3 hours so far in the trip and I’m still in the state. So honestly, if the drive is 6 hours or less, I’d rather drive. I usually have a good book going and it’s easy to lose myself in the story and the road.

    But looks like you had a great time!

    I love when we share pictures here. 🙂

    • Sing, Cyndi, sing! LOL

      The kids would rather fly, but I hate flying! Gives me the willes just thinking about it. I’m sad, I know. And the cost for five of us….ouch! I guess we don’t really need to ski when we get there, do we? Or eat, or have a place to stay. 🙂

  9. Your trip sounds like so much fun. I love road trips! My favorite one was a three week trip in our motorhome up through Wisconsin, Michigan’s UP, across Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, PEI, New England, and home. Such fun!

  10. We usually drive for our vacation, but going to Myrtle Beach (South Carolina, takes 10-12 hours, usually 12 because of the traffic on 95) is our limit. We’re flying to Orlando this year because even with a couple of hours on either end, the total trip will be under 6 hours instead of the 18-20 it takes to drive. My kids are good travelers, but I can’t handle that much! 🙂

    My favorite vacations were always at the beach, and I still prefer New England beaches. Unfortunately, my kids aren’t beach bunnies, and we all sunburn too fast. Pisses me off.

    So Liz, when will you be in Orlando? I don’t know if we’ll do Disney. It’s not really my cup of tea. We WILL do Harry Potter (the main reason for the trip LOL) and spend a lot of time at our resort, which has lots of great stuff. Other than that, we haven’t decided yet.

    • Myrtle Beach is awesome! We went before we had kids. We did take a trip to Pensacola, Florida with the kidos though. Such beautiful beaches that way. Love the white sand. We have dull brown sand around here in the Gulf.

      Have fun in Orlando!

    • Well, we are Disney lovers. I’d suggest trying one park just to say you’ve been. We’ve been 8 times…I think it’s 8 or maybe this one is the eigth. It’s our favorite vacation because my husband who is uptight, anal and sometimes grumpy doesn’t have to worry about a thing. I turn him loose in Epcot and he tours the worlds stopping for beers along the way. Then we get on the bus and go back to our resort, play in the pool, drink pina coladas and act like kids. No worries about parking, planning, etc. Get on the bus and go. So it works for us and our kids who are about to be 10 and 13 love it.

      Instead of HP they’re going to see the Yankees play the Braves at Wide World of SPorts. I gave them the choice and they choose MLB over Harry. Didn’t think that would happen.

      We’re going next week 🙂

  11. We lived in Colorado for 3 years and loved every minute of it. My husband is a skier and taught our two girls to ski while we were there. They were in 3rd and 5th grade+- and loved it. I have never been on skies and that is probably best for everyone. I was either pregnant or dealing with a new born while there so was other wise occupied while we were there. We did go to Telluride, but it was in the summer.

    We love to travel, usually in the Fall. Out West and New England are our favorites. Road trips unless we are going West on a tight time schedule, then we fly and rent a car.

    • What a beautiful place to live! I remember those times of having a baby strapped to my hip while everyone else went out to play. LOL Starting them skiing young was the smartest thing we ever did. My son was 5 and my two daughters were 3rd and 4rth graders. They amaze me now. I’m the winkest link in this bunch. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  12. Thank you for the giveaway!

  13. Now for Monday’s Winner!

    Random.org picks……….

    librarypat!!

    Congratulations! Please email me at: mdohnoutka@yahoo.com with Blog Winner in the subject line so I can get your prizes to you. 🙂 Thanks again to all who stopped by the blog.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

