Special Moments That Make You Go Wow

Birthdays are so special. A time to celebrate the ones we love and let them know how much they mean to us. I just have to share an amazing experience my family was asked to be a part of this past weekend. The minute we walked through the door of the banquet hall, the love and hard work that went into getting everything ready for this special occasion hit us head on. The ambiance was magical. From the decorations, to the photographs and the video playing in the back ground the devotion and love was felt by all. Our good friends’ precious daughter is one amazing young lady and she looked like a princess in her beautiful aqua gown. She didn’t walk across the floor, she seemed to float. You could just see the joy bubbling up inside her.

We’ve lived on the same street for almost twelve years now and have been lucky enough to have some of the best neighbors all this time. The kids have grown up together in front of our eyes. My oldest was in kindergarten when we moved here. Now she’s a junior in high school. Seeing all those pictures on the video playing up there on that screen had me all teary eyed. I see my kids every day. I know they’ve grown up. I know they aren’t those little ones who used to make the umbrella forts in the driveway anymore. But it doesn’t hit me until I see pictures like this. Seeing friends and family and realizing how much their kids have grown up slaps me with a reality check like nothing else and I’m left to wonder how the heck this happened so fast. So not fair. Another neighbor and I sat at the table with our mouths open as we discovered yet another little one from those long ago neighborhood Easter egg hunts we didn’t recognize. It’s mind boggling.

Being a part of this young girl’s life since she was about four years old has been a blessing in so many ways. She’s grown into such a special young lady. So kindhearted and generous, not to mention talented. I couldn’t have picked a better friend for my girls if I tried. Did I tell you how lucky we are? 🙂

This was our very first Quinceanera and I really had no idea what to expect. The anticipation is the best part of experiencing different things like customs and traditions. Although we enjoyed every moment, my favorite parts were the candle lighting ceremony and the special performance by the Birthday Girl and her Court of Honor. These were very personal events, filled with so much emotion I still get chills just thinking about them. I have to say, this was a wonderful way to celebrate a young girl’s journey from childhood to maturity. I really had no idea how much time and effort went into putting something like this together. But the end result was definitely one of those “Wow Moments” for me.

Life is filled with so many choices, both happy times, and let’ be honest, times of heartbreak too. What better way to show this blossoming young woman that she is loved by so many people. People that will be there for her through it all as she starts out on this new path toward her future. 

I’m sure it’s a night that everyone will remember and cherish.

What are some of your favorite customs or traditons? Or how about a Wow Moment you’ve cherished.

19 Responses

  1. What a beautiful occasion and I love the idea of sweet sixteen or quinceanera. It seems to have fallen to the wayside, but even on a small scale, it’s nice to celebrate one’s daughter before the proverbial wedding powerpoint presentation. So glad your daughter has such good friends – very important that they have the right kind of friends, for sure – and that you got to share in the sweetness of celebrating one of them.

    Many of our friends do Coutillion here and are pretty social, but the Talleys are not so much. My husband would rather get kicked in the groin than go to a gala, but I have talked him into a few charity events and they always turn out fun…and sometimes expensive if there’s a silent auction. My goodness I love a silent auction 😉

  2. We’ve always tried to make birthdays special for each of our children. Nothing on this scale though. I still haven’t decided if this would make the actual wedding easier or harder. I’m such an emotional basket case. LOL I’m not sure I could go through it twice and survive. 🙂 But it was really a beautiful ceremony.

    Love, love, love those silent auctions too!

  3. I remember being in a quinceanera for a girlfriend of mine (we’ve been friends since the first grade)…we’ve recently reconnected and it’s such a joy to have her back in my life.

  4. My Wow Moment was the day my daughter got married. I became an instant mom when I married my husband, and Kimmie was nine, all angry and dissallusioned from the divorce, and looking for someone to take it out on. Why not the evil stepmother, who tried to impose discipline for the first time?

    Tough years for she and I, but the pain I saw behind the anger in those blue eyes made me keep trying.

    We turned out to be good friends, and helping her get ready the morning of her wedding, singing with her, “Going to the Chapel” were special moments for me.

  5. My wow moment came at my stepson’s wedding–or rather at the rehersal. His dad and I got married when he was 10, and he was very close to his mom. I never wanted to threaten that relationship, so I always just tried to be whatever he needed me to be at the time. At the wedding rehersal, he announced that the moms had some parts to read. When he handed me a script of what he wanted me to read, I was amazed. I’d never expected to be included in that intimate group with his mom and hers. I was so touched–and still am 🙂

  6. Sounds like you had a great weekend. It is always good to have new experiences with different cultures and traditions. So did you put on your dancing shoes, learn any new moves?

    We have a few traditions but I have trouble keeping up with them. At this time in my life, the only tradition I’m looking forward to, is seeing my kids graduate from college. 🙂

  7. Oh, Quinceanera! We lived in a part of Oregon with a high hispanic population and our conference center was rented out at least two or three weekends a month for these, so I often got to see the decorations, but never got to go to one of the parties. Sounds beautiful.

  8. We had big parties for turning 16, but nothing like you describe. Ours involved cake, car keys and BOYS! And the occasional beer. 🙂 I think I have some pictures somewhere from mine.

    I think we may have to drag out prom pictures next!

  9. My girls were asked to be in their cousin’s quinceneara this month but it’s in Florida (we’re in PA) smack in the middle of standardized testing, so after months of trying to make it work, we ended up unable to go.

    I think it’s wonderful that you have such fantastic relationships with your neighbors. We were more “connected” when we first moved in (13 years ago, when our junior was 3 LOL) but are very anti-social so they’ve faded.

    I can’t remember any big wow moments like the really special ones you all described here. I *do* have a pretty daily mini-wow when I spend a few seconds appreciating just how amazing my girls are. We are extremely lucky parents!

    • Aw, Natalie. Sorry you’re girls won’t be able to make it. I know you all must be bummed about that. It’s so hard when you live so far away. Shoot, we only live 2 hours from my family and it’s like pulling teeth to find free time to visit. And those mini-wow’s are just as special! 🙂

  10. […] Special Moments That Make You Go Wow (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

