Sunrise, Sunset. . .

One of my favorite musicals is FIDDLER ON THE ROOF.  Who isn’t moved by tradition, and the scary proposition of marrying the wrong man or woman?  I saw that musical in college and the music and lyrics spoke to me then.  MATCHMAKER, MATCHMAKER, TRADITION…

These days the lyrics still speak to me, but now up close and personal, they encircle my heart.  In a little over a month, tradition, matchmaking and a wedding will enhance our lives.

 My son is getting married to the love of his life.  These two have dated since their freshmen year in college, and as my son’s fiancee will tell you, she knew he was the one from the moment they met–six years ago.

But although my son probably doesn’t know the words to MATCHMAKER, (ha! he’s probably never even heard of it), he’s not the type to rush into anything.

So much like his daddy, he’s a planner.  So when he says “I do,” I’m pretty confident that, well, he really does.

Still, the mom in me can’t help but reminisce, and at the same time think of a song from FIDDLER ON THE ROOF that makes me choke up just a little.

Maybe you’ve heard the words …

 Is this the little girl I carried, is this  the little boy at play?  I don’t remember growing older.  When did they?  Sunrise, Sunset.  Sunrise, Sunset . . .Swiftly fly the years.  One season following another laiden with happiness and tears . . .

Romance is abundant in the Bell household these days.  My heartfelt wish is that all of you celebrate such glorious Sunrises & Sunsets.

31 Responses

  1. Great post, Donnell! My first dance at my wedding with my father in 1984 was to Sunrise, Sunset, so your post definitely brought a tear – okay a few tears – to my eye!

    I wish your son and his bride so much happiness in the years to come!

    Victoria

    • Oh, thank you, Victoria. I could barely get through this blog yesterday as I wrote it, and I wondered if I was just a sentimental goof. So glad to know it’s a normal emotion! xxoo

  2. Donnell,
    What a wonderful and sentimental post! I know what you mean about the years sliding by and wondering how the kids have grown up so fast. 🙂
    Congrats on welcoming the newest member of your family–although it sounds as if she’s been a part of it for six years.
    I saw Fiddler on the Roof for the first time as a young girl with my grandparents. I adored it. My favorite few lines were from the song “Miracle of Miracles” where it says at the end: “But of all God’s miracles large and small, the most miraculous one of all is the one I thought could never be: God has given you to me.”
    Ahhhh. Memories.
    Have a wonderful time at the wedding!

    • Thank you, Kimberly, Oh, my gosh, I’m tearing up again. I’m hoping to get all this emotion out of my system and then just be a rock at the wedding. Think I can do it?

      Yes, a brilliant play with fabulous messages throughout. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. They’re born, you blink and they’re grown. Sigh. I don’t remember if I’ve ever watched Fiddler on the Roof. Maybe I’m thinking of the Seven Brides for Seven Brothers one. But a big congrats to the lovely couple and a tissue for you!

    • Sonya. get thee to a video and watch FIDDLER ON THE ROOF. It will not be time wasted, and, although I love Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, Fiddler will grab at your fiddle… er heart strings. Thanks for the tissue. Got more??? :))))xxxoo

  4. Donnell, you knew that was going to make me tear up, right? What a great and touching post. And so very true. I cried the first time my son drove away from the house to pick up his first date.

    Of course, we want them to grow up but darn does it have to be so hard?

    Lucky boy to have picked you for a mom!

    • Oh, Jeri, thank you! I think I’ll thank the Man upstairs for that blessing. What a lovely thing to say, though. And, yeah, it’s hard to watch them grow up. But when they turn out pretty marvelous, you count those additional blessing. Thanks for letting me *try* to get all this emotion off my plate

  5. Okay, I really didn’t want to tear up this morning, but your post touched me deeply, My hubby and I will celebrate our 58th wedding anniversary soon, and though we are in our sunset years, we cherish every sunrise that greets us with joy. Thanks for the beautiful post, Donnell.
    May your son’s wedding day be filled with love and laughter for all your loved ones. Cherish the memories.

    • Ha, Loralee, if I have to be crying these days, everyone does At least they’re happy tears, right? Congratulations on 58 years! Wow, hand me another tissue. Thanks for stopping by Loralee!

  6. I’m so happy for your family, Donnell! My husband and I have talked many times about how the choice of a spouse is the single most important decision you’ll ever make. Sounds like your son made a good one! 🙂

    • Hi, Misty, that is so true. She’s a terrific young woman! We love her! Thanks for stopping by today!

  7. Oh, Donnell! I LOVE Fiddler on the Roof and cry every time I hear Sunrise Sunset, especially now with our son leaving the state to go to college in a couple months. Sniff… I guess I should buy stock in tissues too! Congrats to you son on his coming nuptials! Beth Cornelison

    • Beth, I’m telling you, we could make a fortune with this NASDAQ and Standard and Poor. Invest in Kleenex and Northern toilet paper 😉 Isn’t it wonderful that our children transition. That means we’ve done our job, but there’s still that little hole that says… Sunrise… Sunset…..

      Well look at that. The stock just went up 😉 Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Late getting here,Donnell. Yes, I also tear up to Sunrise, Sunset. Darn hard to sing along with a wad of cotton in your throat. I’ve had two daughters get married and both weddings were such fun and they picked really great men–both special. We are truly blessed by them and the 3 grands they’ve given us.
    Enjoy your son and future daughter-in-law’s wedding. Make sure you get the video. It will catch stuff you miss. 🙂

    • Ah, Marsha, trust me, I know that cotton feeling. I’ve been feeling it a lot lately. I’m happy, ya know, just really, really nostalgic! How wonderful that you have been blessed with such a happy family. You give me huge hope! Thanks for stopping by xxxoo

  9. Donnell – awesome post. So sweet and touching. Your son looks so young, like he should be in high school instead of out of college. I wish them much happiness and success, which I’m sure they will have, because you said ‘when he says I do he really does’. So cute!

    • Thanks, Lena. He does look young doesn’t he! Such a good guy. My future daughter in law is lucky, but then so is he. My daughter is a rock star, too, Successful in her own right and dating, but I hope no weddings are in our future for a while! xxoo. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. I love that song!

    Sounds like you and your future DIL will have a wonderful relationship…that is so important. I am so happy for both of them

    • Thank you, Cyndi. They’re both great, caring people. I predict a wonderful future for them! xxoo

  11. Sniff..sniff…what a sweet post! Congratulations! Wishing them many years of happiness and love! 🙂

    • I know, Melissa, people think I have a cold Thank you so much, I wish that for them too! xxoo

  12. Beautifully said, and you sound very lucky! Congratulations, and well done (because guys choose girls like their moms, right? 😉 ).

    I never knew that song was from Fiddler (I first wrote FotR but that’s Fellowship of the Ring LOL). I watched at least part of the movie once. I’ll never hear it the same way now. 🙂

    • Natalie, first what a lovely compliment. Ha, I’ll NEVER have my future DIL’s figure, but we have the same spirit. She’s a R.N., I’m a victims advocate, I root for the underdog and always try to offer a hand up. So maybe there’s something to that. But, what’s really cool, is both my kids are very caring human beings. In a society that 5 percent are sociopaths… got this from reading The Sociopath Next Door, I’m very grateful for caring and empathetic human beings.

      Second, when you have a free moment. HA HA HA. You must watch the musical Fiddler on the Roof. Wonderful, emotional performance. Thank you! xxxoo

  13. Congratulations to your family, Donnell! What a great post. And I can totally relate to these lyrics, “I don’t remember growing older. When did they?”

    • Gwen, isn’t that the truth. Wow so many memories included in a blink of an eye. Gotta treasure them, right? Thank you!!! xxoo

  14. Oh, Donnell. I so feel your emotions. Married off my baby boy in October, to a beautiful girl, in a storybook wedding. The feelings are roller coaster, but it’s a marvelous phrase of life. Enjoy.

    Hope

    • Hope, I may be coming to you to say, what about this 🙂 So happy for you. Ha, there’s two sets of parents who are very excited and very emotional. My future dil’s family married off their youngest daughter last year. This is the last one for them. Their emotional treasure chest is on overload! Thanks for stopping by, Hope! xxoo

  15. […] Sunrise, Sunset. . . (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) […]

  16. Congratulations. They make a lovely couple. From what you said, I think they have a wonderful future ahead for them.

  17. […] Sunrise, Sunset. . . (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

