Springtime Itch

First let me start by saying, I survived a Friday the 13th with a house full of 13 year old boys!! Yeah!  I deserve a medal right? Right? Come on, give me something. LOL

Today is my son’s actual 13thBirthday. It seems like on yesterday the doctor was shaking his head and telling  my husband, “Well, looks like you did it.” My son showed his true colors early on by not allowing us to tell for sure if he was a boy or a girl. Breech and legs all tied up in knots until the very end. My doctor and hubby were certain he was a girl. I knew better. After carrying two girls, I knew this one was different. I just didn’t know how different or what the heck I was in for. Some say boys are easier than girls, but I think it has alot to do with which one you have first and get use to. My girls have always been easier.  They are eighteen months apart and my son still has them beat by a long shot.  I will forever be saying, “What were you thinking!” LOL

Oops! Brandy Wanted to be Included. LOL

Getting ready for my son’s birthday party included a trip to the garden center as I tried to get the outside yard in shape. The drought we had last summer was brutal and most of my plants are long gone. This makes me really sad. I’d had some of them for years. So far, I’ve stuck with plants I know I can keep alive. No green thumb here. Who am I kidding. It’s not even a light shade of green or even in the green family. But I absolutely love flowers!

I even spruced up the tiny pond in our backyard. If you look closely you’ll see the poor turtle I’ve blogged about before. I’m still hanging on to him after his horrific experience with the crazy Dachsunds living behind us. These dogs have finally started staying in their own yard. Probably because we’ve made it impossible for them to dig under the fence. And their constant barking is at least bearable now. Geesh..  Sorry, back to more pleasant things. I can’t wait for all these flowers to grow and bloom around the pond. The one little fishy we have left will be so happy to have some more shade. Hopefully, I’ll have a beautiful picture to show you later on this summer. 🙂

My gardenia tree in the front yard is already full of beautiful white blooms this year and now I’ve got red hibiscus and begonias, blue plumbago, periwinkles, and something that looks like a cross between a marigold and a begonia without that marigold smell. These have all done well in the summer heat under our normal conditions. But now I’m stumped. And I’m just itching to plant more before it gets too hot to stand it outside.

Please feel free to offer some suggestions. I’m looking for different. The more colorful the better to attract butterflies and hummingbirds. But they have to be hardy and almost take care of themselves.

23 Responses

  1. Unfortunately, I have no suggestions! I have occasionally planted random stuff that has done okay or not. No rhyme or reason. The things that still survive despite my neglect: hosta, daylillies, and irises. All given to me by neighbors. LOL

    Happy birthday to your son!

  2. DH does all the outside work, but his rose bushes do seem to bring lots of butterflies and we have hummingbirds that return every year, but not until summer. He also has Lady Banks roses that really do take care of themselves…the bush has to be supported because it vines, but then it vines all along the back fence. It blooms in March and that’s it, but wow, for that month, it’s amazing!

  3. Rubbing my hands together because *this* is a topic I can go on and on about for days.

    For hummingbirds and butterflies try indian sage bush – good drought tolerance and I watched hummingbirds fight over it all summer. It’s a perrenial and comes back each year. I think dahlias are great flowers. Nice and showy and they are perrenials too. I’m a daylily girl and love stelladoras. They are nice and low around their showier cousins. I like taking traditional larger daylilies and surroundning them with stellas. I also like iris and use that often – Louisiana iris look good in the background mixed in with shrubs – the long leafs contrast with pretty bushes like lorapedlum and indian hawthrone, and any sort of sage will tolerate the heat well, as will periwinkles (I’m not a fan of periwinkles though). In pots I like something flax-like paired with potatoe vine and verbena that spills out. And then for nice color, you can add knock out roses – bloom several times a year and disease won’t get them. Hostas are hardy (Like Natalie suggested) but be careful of putting them in full sun. They like a partial better. Shady’s even better.

    I could keep going, but I better stop. Non-gardeners have crossed eyes.Can’t wait to see what you find 🙂

    For reading I’d recommend a magazine called Garden Gate – they have plans for beds 🙂

  4. Hi. I’m Cyndi “Black-Thumb” D’Alba. I can kill anything! Hubby is the green-thumb at our house. My job is to mow and pull out weeds.

    But I am going to buy some flowers to plant today! I’m going with super easy, drought tolerate something…because I never remember to water.

    Good luck. No advice here I’m afraid.

  5. You know those charts that show growing zones by climate? Thanks to latitude and altitude, I’m in zone three. No one here even considers planting a garden or flowers before Memorial Day weekend. Which means I’m zero help when it comes to landscaping in the normal world.

  6. I’m in Zones 8/9 and just ordered a few shade trees from gurneys website. I need the shade to survive the brutal summers we get down here. Hopefully, this summer will not be as bad as last year’s.

  7. Okay, I confess to a green thumb and an obsession with plants. The green thumb was inherited and the obsession, well…plants are easier than people. What zone are you in? That makes all the difference. I’m in zone 9 and I’ve tried, and failed, to grow plants I love that prefer, well not so scorching summers. Is one blooming peony too much to ask for? Apparently yes because all the love and attention I give it won’t stop it from fading before it blooms. If you don’t know your zone here’s a site to find it. http://www.usna.usda.gov/Hardzone/hrdzon3.html LOL Can you tell I get excited about plants?

    • PS. Just read the rest of the comments. I completely agree with daylilies. They are incredibly easy to grow. They are herbaceous but they come back bigger and better every spring. Each flower only blooms for a day but it’s continuous from early summer to fall. They don’t make good cut flowers but they’re beautiful in the garden. Here in zone 9, my hostas are in filtered light (they’re planted under my orange tree) but they are also easy providing you have good drainage. Snails love em though. Roses are always a good bet. I prefer tea roses because of the long stems (can you tell I love cut flowers?) Calla lilies are awesome. Stately, elegant and easy in partial shade (where I live) You really can’t beat a geranium for easy or almost any kind of sage. Bearded iris are easy and really low maintenance. I have a lot of them but my heart belongs to Japanese irises. They’re gorgeous in bouquets with the calla lilies. Daisies, purple cone flower, and coreopsis are also really easy, love sun and will eventually naturalize. They are also drought tolerant. LOL Now I’m going to follow Liz’s example and shut up before I totally turn away non-gardening type people. ; )

      • I forgot about purple cone flowers and coreopsis- love them. I haven’t grown calla lilies in a while but they look great in a pot with mixed flowers. And nothing says summer like a red geranium.

        BTW, I’m zone 8 (nearer the top than bottom) so usually I do pretty well all summer. Usually August finds my flowers fading….

      • No! This has been awesome! I’ve got lots of great ideas and can’t wait to get started. Thank you! 🙂

    • Zone 8/9 I think. It’s Texas. The weather changes in a heartbeat without warning. LOL So far we’ve had lots of rain so everything is green and starting to bloom. Love it! 🙂

  8. I’m more of a veggie person when it comes to garden knowhow. and that’s pretty skimpy!

    only thing I have: plant lots of marigolds along your back fence where neighbor’s dogs are. I read that dogs don’t like marigolds–to the point they won’t even pee on them!

  9. Give Bee Balm a try. I’m not sure how hardy it is, but we live in the Smokey Mountains and it does well. It is a perennial and spreads. I t grows about two to two and a half feet tall depending on the variety. The flowers attract butterflies, bees, and hummingbirds.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

