Technology Wins this Round

I’m tagging along with hubby on Tuesday to Tulsa, Oklahoma, for one of his business trips. It’s for a dinner where spouses are encouraged to attend. A quick one day trip with no time for shopping or site seeing. Bummer. But like a good wife, I’m packing my things and getting everything ready for the kids while we’re away. Whew. I’m exhausted already. LOL 

Last month, I found out I was the lucky winner of a brand new Kindle Fire from RG2E. I was shocked!

I don’t win things. Other people win things. LOL But after checking and reading the notice several times just to make certain I wasn’t seeing things, sure enough, there was my name right beside the word “Winner.” Yippee!

I’m still learning all the wonderful apps and although I still prefer to hold a hardback book and turn those pages, the Kindle is so much easier to take along with you. Since I hate to fly, I’ll need all the distractions I can get to pass the time on this trip. This new toy is really going to make it easier. I’ve got so many great books I’ve wanted to read, but can never find the quiet time needed to do so. You know, after reading the same sentence five times and still having no idea what it says, it’s usually best to give up and try again later. Grrr… Now is the perfect chance to catch up. Surely with my headphones in and my mind wondering through another world, I’ll barely even know how high above the ground we are.   

So I’m sending out a huge thanks to RG2E for their wonderful giveaways! I highly recommend checking out their blog. Lots of great information on ebooks and authors.

As for flying, I say we should leave it to the birds! 

So, what’s the coolest thing you love about your Kindle or e-reader? I’d love to learn a few more things before we head out.  🙂

31 Responses

  1. Congratulations on winning a Kindle Fire and on getting to go on the trip! Hope you have fun! (Dinner with a bunch of people I don’t know isn’t my cup of tea, but maybe it’s yours. 🙂 )

    Tip: Bring one print book or magazine or something non-electronic for takeoff and landing. (Or, you know, talk to your hubby. LOL) You have to have electronic devices off during those times.

    The best thing about my Kindle is not having to turn pages. I do a lot of reading while I cook or get ready for bed or in the car, and it’s so much easier to prop up and click! 🙂

    • Thanks, Natalie! Take off is the worst part for me and I hadn’t thought about that! These dinners aren’t my cup of tea either. I run out of things to say pretty quick. If only I could slip my new kindle in my purse and have some kind of show and tell. LOL

      Reply

  2. My kindle has a custom “skin” made from my book cover. Once you and your kindle develop a deep, meaningful personal relationship, you will want to buy it gifts.

  3. The best part of my e-reader is the ability to get my hands on a book I want instantly, even clear out here in the boonies. That’s also the worst part, for the sake of my credit card bill.

  4. Hey early “bird”, is this the same ‘business diner’ from a year ago? At least you don’t have to worry about any bad weather. Have a Great time!!!

  5. Oh, lucky Melissa! I’ve got a Kindle, and I love that I don’t have to worry about holding the page open, reading in bed, or working out at the gym! Oh, and that I can read without squinting in direct sunlight. Oh, and . . .
    Wait, it may be easier to tell what I don’t like — only I can’t think of anything.

  6. Lucky you, Melissa. I LOVE LOVE LOVE my Kindle Fire. I just got home from a weeklong trip to Arizona. I brought paper books home from the conference but I didn’t take any. I loved having so many books to choose from for my reading. Yes, I did have to turn it off for take-off and landing, but I just grabbed the airlines magazine (knowing it was full of cooties) and flipped through it for future book ideas and possible book titles. 🙂

    Have fun on your trip. and I suspect you will fall in love with your new toy.

  7. Have a ball!!!

  8. I love my Kindle! I have one of the first ones, and it was love at first sight. I love being able to read on the beach without leaving suntan oil stains on the paper:-) I love having (almost) any book I want available (almost) anyplace (almost) anytime:-) I especially love being able to adjust the font so I can read without my contacts even if I have forgotten my reading glasses.
    Lucky you! I’ve heard the Fire is extraordinary!

    • I’m still learning all the new buttons and apps. It’s a bit overwhelming as all new technology seems to be for me. LOL But I will get the hang of it and then, watch out! 🙂

  9. I love my Kindle Fire,, I can download book recommendations immediately and I am able to adjust the font size to suit my old eyes. Have a wonderful time on your trip, Melissa!!

    • Thanks, Marie! Adjusting the font size is going to be awesome. I just learned last year that I need those reading glasses. It was like it happened overnight! What’s with that?! LOL

  10. That is AWESOME!!! Congrats and enjoy!

  11. YAY on your new FIRE! I love my Kindle. I like that I can shop for books whenever, whereever (I have the 3G, so I just need a cell tower!)

  12. Melissa, you’re such a good wife. Great blog. I love my Kindle simply for the ease. I have soooo many books and not enough time. Now the only thing I have to dust is my Kindle 🙂

    • Good wife…yeah. Can you tell my hubby that? LOL Now I didn’t even think of the dusting I won’t have to do! I’ve just cut out some of my housework! Wow! It’s just getting better and better! 🙂

  13. My e-reader is kinda old but I still love it. I love that I can pack as many new books with me as I want. I can download Word documents to read through edits. I love that it stores pictures and music. There isn’t much I don’t love about it! Of course that doesn’t stop me from looking at the Kindle Fire with lust. LOL

    Have fun on your trip, Melissa!

  14. Thanks, Shawna. It’s having to leave the kids behind during school that bothers me the most. Thank goodness my parents were able to come up. I will breath a bit easier. 🙂 The possiblities appear endless for this Kindle. I’m so excited! LOL

  15. How wonderful for you. I hope to be so lucky one of these days. With the traveling we do, I could certainly use one.

Show us some love and leave a comment!

