My One Musical Passion

I just discovered Spotify! Actually, Cyndi sent us a link about how to embed music in our posts, and it immediately made me think, “I should talk about Jason! And embed his music!” So that’s what I’m doing. πŸ™‚

I like listening to music. I have well over 1400 songs on my iPod. But it’s not a “thing” for me. I don’t listen very often at all, because I’m usually listening to podcasts (ESPN Football Today, Patriots Football Weekly in Progress, or The Pause.Com entertainment podcast). Ask me about artists or songs from our youth, and there’s a 50/50 chance you’ll get a blank look from me. And even though I HATE how clichΓ©d it is, I can’t tell most modern artists apart.

But I do have one musical passion: Jason Manns. I’m not sure how it actually became so strong. A friend sent me a link to a video on his MySpace page, where he was singing with an actor we both like. I checked to see if he had the song on iTunes, and he did. I liked it (Crazy Love) better than any other version of that song, so I sampled a couple of his other songs. I liked them, too, so I bought his whole album.

And every single song sinks right down through me and touches something no other music does. It’s partly his voice, partly his style, partly his lyrics (though he does covers, too, so they’re not all his lyrics), and mostly something intangible.

Here are some of my favorites:

“Journey” could be describing me, only as a writer, and without a guitar, and my emotional scars aren’t all that deep, but still! It’s me! I love the cello on this song, too.

“Perfect Spot” is about being content with who and where you are. That’s something I strive for, because even though I always want to do more and be better, I don’t want to reach for it at the expense of today’s happiness.

Some people think his version of “Hallelujah” is the most beautiful they’ve heard. Well, yeah!

I really prefer his acoustic versions to the produced albums. Not that the albums aren’t well done. And I did fall in love with everything on his first album right off the bat. But a couple of years after I discovered him, I had the opportunity to hear him sing live at a convention. And that did it. I got to go see him play every three months for a year, then a couple of times since then, and I’m completely spoiled. Luckily, he’s recorded most of his songs live or as acoustic tracks, as well, so I have multiple copies of everything.

I’m really, really glad some of my friends love his music as much as I do, because they drive 2-4 hours with me when he’s nearby, and hang out until 1:00 a.m. before driving the too-many hours home afterward. If I did that by myself? Well, it would just be creepy.

The last time we saw him perform, at The Bitter End in New York City, I put in an advance request because he never sang Journey live for us before. He did it, and said he was doing it for me, and I totally geeked out. πŸ™‚ If he hadn’t already, he’d now have a fan for life!

So check him out! Music can be a very personal thing, so I’m not expecting everyone to have the same response I did. But hopefully you’ll like it and add it to your music libraries.

Your turn to gush! Are you fans of any not-yet-big-time musical talents you want to share with us? Tell us in the comments!

I’m going to give away one of Jason’s albums to one lucky commenter. We’ll work out the details after the winner is chosen. ETA: I forgot to specify a time frame. Comments can collect through Sunday, May 6 11:59 p.m. EDT, and I’ll select a winner after that!

11 Responses

  1. I tried to download and run spotify but I failed. Jeez, I’m totally lacking in computer skills.

    I’m not a person who really loves music. I listen to it, but I’m not “Into” it. My husband would be our music guy. He LOVES music – reads biographies, watches tons of documentaries, and plays in his very own guitar room. Music is his passion even though he can’t carry a tune. Bless his heart.

    So I know no unfound talent, but I do love hearing my 7th grader play the piano. That’s one thing I recently bought wiht my writing money – a digital baby grand πŸ™‚ So guess I’ll say I have budding talent in my own home.

    • It may not be you, Liz. I had trouble with Spotify and I’d already downloaded it! It’s not at all user friendly. *scowl*

      Your husband, wow! My husband isn’t a huge music person, so it’s kind of odd that Number Two is kind of obsessed. She plays viola (formal lessons at school), and self-taught piano and guitar. On vacation, about halfway through the week, she starts whining that she misses the piano. LOL

  2. I think Hallelujah may be the most beautiful song ever. I’ve heard many different versions of this song. I love them all! Believe it or not, I “discovered” Hallelujah in Shriek. πŸ™‚ It was Rufus Wainwright performing it.

    Not sure if that embedding will work, so here’s the link

    The song’s composer likes the version by KD Lang

    BUT having listened to Jason’s version, I love it! It may become my favorite version.

    • Those are nice, but I have to admit, I’ve listened to Jason’s too often and they sound off to me. LOL I’d heard it before, of course, but never really *listened* to it.

  3. In the midst of the first draft of my current book I had a scene set in a Texas honky tonk and I went on Twitter and asked for recommendations for Texas musicians, who I then plugged into Pandora and let it work its magic. Wow. It’s unbelievable the talent out there that most of us haven’t heard of, like Stoney Larue and Randy Rogers and Micky and the Motorcars.

    Then there’s the fact that where I live I only get Canadian radio, so while they’re famous in their part of the world, most US folks haven’t heard of Doc Walker or Aaron Pritchett, Dean Brody or Shane Yellowbird and my favorite band name of all time….Corb Lund and the Hurtin’ Albertans.

    • Isn’t it amazing, Kari Lynn? So many talented people! I might not bother with the Texas ones (country is my least favorite, no offense to country lovers!) but I think I’ve heard of Aaron Pritchett. I’ll have to check out the others!

  4. Here’s Adele…I love this song, except I will keep singing the chorus the rest of the day!

  5. I love love my spotify account! I really like Laura Bell Bundy. she’s cracked into the country music industry, but she’s not break out star level with number one hits!

  6. […] My One Musical Passion (everybodyneedsalittleromance.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggStumbleUponLinkedInEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed Under: Arts & Entertainment, Music, Video Tagged With: art, Blog, bloggers, Bye Bye Love (The Everly Brothers song), Education, Fools Fall In Love, Love Me Tender, music, Phil of Random Thoughts, Theme music « Mimine My May Muse […]

Show us some love and leave a comment!

