Proposals

I’m not talking about book proposals or anything like that. I’m referring to real proposals of the will-you-marry-me kind.  A friend of mine just became engaged. I’m so happy for her. She’s giddy, planning her wedding, and hopelessly in love. This made me reminisce about my own proposal and the whirlwind months that followed. So I thought since this is a blog about romance, and June, and wedding season, is coming up fast, I’d love if you’d share your proposal with all of us. It could be a funny proposal or a romantic proposal. Did your then boyfriend hire a skywriter or was it spur of the moment?

I’d also love to hear about the sweetest, most romantic or most unusual proposal you’ve ever heard of.

It’s only fair I’ll start with mine. ; )

It was March 31st, a Thursday if I remember correctly, and I had a killer headache, but I’d made plans with my boyfriend to go on a walk. To be fair, I had a feeling something was up because he’d seemed out of breath for a few days. ; ) He asked if I’d rather go on a drive to not aggravate the headache, which was getting better. Then he said he wanted to take me somewhere that was a surprise. I agreed to be blindfolded and he drove in what seemed like circles…or squares as the city blocks allowed. Once we stopped, he led me out of the car and sat me down. When he took my blindfold off, I was sitting at a tiny bistro table with a candle and a piece of cheesecake, and he was down on one knee with a ring box in his hand. He’d led me to the school soccer field where we first met and fell in love. (he was my daughter’s coach)  I honestly can’t remember what he said before “Will you marry me?” but I do remember saying “You bet!” and thinking I’ve waited for this for what seems like my whole life and I didn’t say, “Yes.”

I found out later that he’d gone to the principle of the school to get special permission to propose to me there. The teachers, custodians and office staff were all in the loop. The next day they all asked to see the ring and congratulated me.

I still don’t know what the cheesecake was for….

But I can’t pass by that field without smiling.

Okay, it’s your turn. Tell us your story, or a story.

23 Responses

  1. That’s a sweet engagement story 🙂

    Mine was when I was a senior in college. It was September and suddenly he wanted to go to Shreveport – we were in our small college town of Ruston and it seemed like an odd request, but I went with it. He tried to take me to our favorite restaurant, but it was closed for lunch which seemed to really aggravate him. But at that time, i loved eating at Olive Garden (it was sort of new then) so he took me there to eat and ordered appetizers. That’s when I sort of got suspicious because we were on a tight budget which usually meant a main course and that was it. Afterwards, he wanted to go to the local amusement park which was WAY weird. So I said, “I’m wearing a skirt,” and he said, “The hell with that” and turned into this small park, curbed the car and said, “Let’s go for a walk.” At this point, I was starting to worry about him. He was so agitated. Finally, he stopped, told me he loved me, dropped to a knee and asked me to marry him. He held a tiny box and it was upside down. I tilted over and looked at the ring laughing and he flipped it over finally. We both laughed and I said “Yes.” It wasn’t particulary spectacular but it was a fun engagement. Now we live in Shreveport and I pass that little park several times a week 🙂

  2. Ooooo, I love these kinds of stories. My proposal was pretty run-of-the-mill, but one of my friends has a great story.
    He took his girlfriend fishing. She’d never been before, but he went all the time. He was baiting her hook for her (with his back to her:-) and he told her he was putting on a bait that would catch her the biggest, ugliest fish in the lake. Instead, he tied the ring on the line:-) No one-knee stuff, since they were in a boat, but pretty imaginative I’ve always thought.

  3. Funny you should bring this up. I was thinking about this just the other day. I cannot remember my proposal from my first husband! Isn’t that odd? I sort of remember calling my parents to tell them but I don’t remember how that phone call came to be!

    My second (current and LAST) husband…That’s proposal I remember. I told him I wanted to get married. He told me that he didn’t and that in his opinion, if marriage was something I wanted, I needed to be dating men who wanted to get married. It was like a light switch was flipped in my mind. I thought to myself…he’s right. So I told him that he was right and we broke up. A week later he called and basically said, “You win. Let’s get married.” hee hee Now it’s been 27 years and I swear to you, I would not have called him back. He swears I would have called. But we married 3 weeks later…Nov 17, 1984.

    BUT here’s something cool…the day we got married was my grandparents’ 55th wedding anniversary. We had chosen that day not knowing it was my grandparents’ wedding day. Isn’t that neat? I shared a wedding anniversary with my grandparents and somehow, that made my special day even more special.

    • I love it! And yay you for sticking by your guns. I wanted to get married on my grandparents anniversary but as he proposed March 31, and their anniversary is April 4th, I just didn’t think I could pull it off in time and we didn’t want to wait a year. I would have gotten married on my Grandpa’s birthday (May 16th) but it was a Tuesday or something like that. ; )

    • He smartened up right quick, huh, Cyndi? 🙂 I love that it’s your grandparents’ anniversary.

  4. One more to add…this is how my friend Melissa got engaged. She’s been dating “Joe” for a while. Things had gotten rough. His sister had won a trip to Paris and Melissa was scheduled to go with her. She tried to back out. She was sick on the day they were supposed to leave. Her mother and sister told her that she should go…that she never knew when she’d get another chance. She went and “Joe” went along too. She figured this was the “kiss off” trip and she’d never see “Joe” after the trip.

    When they arrived, “Joe” arranged for dinner. His sister couldn’t go (for some reason.) He had a limo waiting, took her to dinner at a very fancy place. After dinner, they drove to the Eiffel Tower. It was close to midnight. At midnight, he proposed. He’d always wanted to propose to his wife-to-be at midnight under the lights of the Eiffel Tower. She was shocked! She told me she screamed, “YES!” Her scream startled all the pigeons, who flew in a mass take-off.

    Isn’t that a great scene for a book? I’ve been meaning to use it in one of mine. I think it’s so romantic!

  5. we’d talked engagements and all that for a while, so I knew it was coming soon. He’d even promised me it would be by the end of the year (this was Dec). we went on this 4wheeler ride. just the 2 of us for about 45minutes. I just knew he was going to propose then, because riding off alone wasn’t something we’d normally do. He didn’t. I STILL rememeber that date pretty vividly.

    A week or two later I went to his house and he had flowers waiting for me and dropped to a knee. 🙂

    He doesn’t remember the 4wheeler ride at all that I’ve never forgotten!

  6. Shawna, I love your proposal story! The soccer field wasn’t just where you’d met, but symbolic of combining more than just the two of you, but your entire family. So sweet!

    The summer after my sophomore year of college, I was working at a nature center in Michigan. My husband had already graduated and was working in PA. I spent a lot of hours curled up on the farmhouse’s screened in porch, watching foxes stalk the compost pit while I assured him over the phone that NO I didn’t want to date other people, YES I was happy with him, and to consider ruining something that was wonderful because there might possibly maybe be something better out there was STUPID.

    At the end of the summer I took the train to meet him in Cleveland. When we got to the hotel room, there was a rose on the pillow, and it had a piece of paper wrapped around it with the #12. He told me he’d bought me a dozen, and they were numbered and hidden and I had to find them in order and give him a kiss for every one. He said it was a fun way to get lots of kisses.

    The paper wrapped around the rose on the pillow had a note that said “Will you marry me? Don’t answer yet.” He’d called my mother earlier in the summer to get her blessing, and because I was only 19, she did a number on his head. She was worried that I hadn’t done enough, dated enough, and wasn’t making a well-informed decision. So he promised her we’d TALK ABOUT IT before he let me answer. I interrupted him halfway through to say YES.

    He said he didn’t have a ring, but he did have a stuffed raccoon because I’d been raising baby raccoons all summer. But when I turned it around, it had the ring sewn between its paws.

    We celebrate our 20th anniversary this fall, which is longer than both my mother’s marriages put together. 🙂

  7. All of these are great! 🙂 Hubby made up for his simple marriage proposal months before when we first met. We saw each other at a dance, where I had snuck in before my 21st birthday, and only danced twiced. He had my first name and where I worked. I didn’t think I’d ever hear from him again, but he searched high and low for me for two days before finally being connected to the right Melissa at the bank where I worked. 6 months later he proposed and 6 months after that we were married. Working on 22 years now. 🙂

Show us some love and leave a comment!

